We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis a good description”
Review of Hotel Vajra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vajra
Ranked #114 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I agree with other reviews hotel Vajra is a great place to escape from manic traffic in Kathmandu.
It's hard to believe it's within walking distance of Thamel. The hotel gates form a perimeter boundary between peace and quiet V the very busy city. A great location and good hotel.
There is a lovely garden great place for a beer and rest after a visit to the city. The hotel is pleasant Asian style. The restaurant serves great food and the staff are friendly. We have used a number of hotels in Kathmandu and have no hesitation in recommending this one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mountains999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Kathmandu is simply so noisy and busy nowadays, and Thamel way to busy for my taste - the Vajra hotel located away from the hubub of tourism, yet close enough to walk to main attractions and Thamel is a perfect place for me! I love the quiet serenity as I walk through the gates ... and their own restaurant is ideal, no need to go outside again! The staff are friendly and very helpful too. I also appreciate having the garden area and rooftop, relaxing alternatives to hang out in.

Room Tip: they have different rooms for different budgets, but essentially every room is unique, it really dep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kira k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Beautifully done building, wonderful gardens, spacious rooms, tasty breakfast, walking distance to Thamel. Very good restaurant and very attentive staff. It's an oasis in the crazy Kathmandu. Also the rooms very cool which was most appreciated in the heat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of our trip and a further one at the end. Both rooms were very comfortable. The restaurant was extremely good and well priced and all the staff were very helpful. I was particularly impressed that the breakfast bar was open for us at 5.30am so we could eat before our flight home and coffee was available before we set off on our early morning Everest flight.
The garden is so peaceful, a million miles from the bustle of Kathmandu.
We came as part of a trip, so I cannot comment on the value for money of the hotel itself, but certainly the restaurant was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We came back disappointed from Tibet and dicovered this wonderful hotel in the middle of a picturesque garden with wooden ornamentations. It was like reaching the paradise. The staff is very welcoming and nice. We felt like kings there. Definetely come back this year!

Room Tip: Close to the tourist attractions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zwillingsseele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

spent two nights here at the beginning of our South Asia trip.
On the positive side the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms spacious, the rooftop bar amazing, especially at night with a great view of the illuminated Monkey Temple which is close by, good breakfast and a wonderfully well kept, peaceful gardens with amazingly exotic plants. The place is very quiet compared to the rest of the busy and noisy city.
On the negative side the sheets weren't exactly clean but I guess that's asking a lot in a city where there isn't an awful lot of fresh water.
Overall good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowfence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I in love with this place. we start our journey from here
very lovely and nice service, with caring and helpful personal.
this hotel spaces out on little areas to chill out with unique atmosphere and all together it`s become a unique lovely place of peace..
next time I do it again.
on my breakfast time I meet there very nice people from all countries in a world.
off course if you go critical to compare with 5 stars, you will find the internet connection is not stable. or sometimes you just use the candles because is no electricity for some time..
but this is about different kind of luxury - to connect with your soul luxury

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sacred13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
648 reviews
0.6 mi away
International Guest House
International Guest House
#65 of 210 in Kathmandu
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shreesu
Hotel Shreesu
#84 of 210 in Kathmandu
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#81 of 210 in Kathmandu
151 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#142 of 210 in Kathmandu
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vajra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vajra

Address: Bijeswari, Swayambhu, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £16 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vajra 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vajra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vajra Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing