We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kantipur Temple House
Ranked #20 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stunning Temple like hotel with unique rooms. The hotel cafe serves delicious food and cold beer. The staff is very friendly and know tour companys to help arrange sightseeing. The courtyard is a wonderful place to sit and relax. The hotel is located right in the center of many tourist attractions. We were able to walk to many temples, restaurants, shops, and the Garden of Dreams. The hotel was not good at pointing us in the direction of restaurants as the staff had not heard of many places so the free internet came in handy for locating places to eat.

The only negative was that they recommended that we go to a dinner and show owned by the hotel but at a different location. The food was not very good, the show was not that entertaining, and the price was very high.

Room Tip: Request a lower floor if you do not like taking the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

If you want a hotel that is convenient and offers lots of character this is worth serious consideration. We began our stay in Nepal at the Crowne Plaza - a good standard international hotel in pleasant grounds - a nice hotel with good service and food but it could have been anywhere. The Kantipur is where we finished our stay 3 weeks later - a total contrast to the Crowne Plaza. The Kantipur has great character - it ooses Nepalese charm. The romms are quite comfortable but our first room was at the very top and back of the hotel - it was a bit of a pain having to get back to it every time we wanted to collect something as there are no lifts. The biggest drawback of the hotel was the constant loss of power. This 'goes with the territory' in Kathmandu unless you go for a large international hotel - but it is very irritating.

The breakfasts were poor - the buffet was very small and simple and it was always running out of choices - we seemed to always have to wait for anything to be replenished. The lunches / dinners by contrast were very good. The location of the hotel is very convenient for the shops and sights of Kathmandu.

Depending on what you want from your hotel this a serious option. If you want luxury don't choose this hotel - but then why are you going to Nepal if that is your priority? If you want to experience a local hotel and culture in reasonable comfort give it a try.

Room Tip: Get a lower floor - walking up to the top of the hotel every time that you want to collect something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Wonderful sancturary away from the maddening crowd in Kathmandu. Artistically decorated. Secure. Quiet. Pleasant surroundings. Great restaurant. Admirable green sustainable management philosphy. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We really liked this hotel in Kathmandu. The buiding was old looking and beautifully decorated, i couldnt believe it when we were told it was only 13 years old. We stayed in the superior room and although it faced into the courtyard (so it could be quite dark) it was quiet and peaceful. A nice escape from the busy streets.

Its within easy walking distance of many shrines, temples, markets and places of interest.

We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorkingPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Beautiful old style building, low rise, clean room, friendly staffs with free wifi and internet in lobby. Good restaurant with options of food in international prize. You can walk to Thamel road in ten minutes to enjoy shopping and tons of restaurants, beauty salon, spa etc.
What I learned from this hotel is how the real echo hotel should be since electricity in Kathmandu is not 24/7 so you have to bear in mind the schedule time of each day and that means you have hot water and lights only two hours in the morning and four hours in the night. The rest is depends on dim back up lights. Hotel avoids to use plastic bottles of water by using re-filled container but it's not very cleared with some dust. And from limitations of electricity... elevator is not possible.

Overall this hotel is nice and worth the prize I paid for. I will recommend it for friends and I like the way they try to help environments.

Room Tip: don"t go up high..there's no lift and you still have wifi from lobby on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The property is beautiful from the outside, run down in some rooms, and lacking basics like A/C in summer months. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a level 1 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowyerOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at the Kantipur Temple while exploring Kathmandu, it was wonderful. The hotel is exquisitely beautiful and being surrounded by artistically gorgeous carved wood was calming and relaxing. The Staff was so very kind, from the gentleman in the parking lot who welcomed us back each day, to the desk staff, the wait staff, they were all delightful. They were dignified and respectful, it made our stay so very pleasurable. They also wear traditional Nepali dress, their appearance and kindness are a credit to this fabulous oasis.
Each evening a gentleman brought hot water bottles to warm my bed, a very nice touch he also brought candles in case the electricity went out which it did now and then, it only enhanced the beauty of this hotel to see it in candlelight.
The food was great, we breakfasted in the garden, what a pleasure! For dinner we ate in the dining room enjoying traditional Nepali dishes, it was wonderful.
To top it all off this is a green hotel! We had tea with the kind man who owns the hotel, he is dedicated to sustainable development.
I have travelled a great deal and never felt more cared for in any other hotel. This truly was a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francinebellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 207 in Kathmandu
457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantipur Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantipur Temple House

Address: Chusyabahal, Jyatha Tol | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#24 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £53 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantipur Temple House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kantipur Temple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantipur Temple House Hotel Kathmandu
Kantipur Temple Hotel
Kantipur Temple Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing