We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kantipur Temple House
Ranked #15 of 196 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best in thamel”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel on three occasions during our stay in Kathmandu. It felt like home every time we returned. The deluxe rooms are large, beautifully appointed and are indeed dark, in the Nepalese style.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The garden a haven of peace.
The situation is excellent on the edge of Thamel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david-and-sue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    241
    51
    20
    9
See reviews for
78
282
129
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed for one night as there were no more rooms available in the Ambassador Garden Home, where I had been staying for the past three nights. Without doubt the hotel is one of the most beautiful buildings I saw in Kathmandu outside Durbar square - fabulous traditional architecture (think moulded brickwork and intricately carved window surrounds). The hotel was peaceful with lovely courtyards and the concierge who showed me to my room seemed to take real pride in their attention to detail and eco-conscious attitude.

However...
Given that the hotel is far more expensive than most (and double the price of the Ambassador Garden Home) I feel it didn't really live up to my expectations. The room was nice but the bed was uncomfortable, and with non of the lovely touches provided by the Ambassador (such as fresh fruit and newspapers daily). The breakfast was entirely disappointing, although served in a pleasant room. But what bothered me the most as a woman travelling alone, was the fact that it's down a quiet backstreet. This is fine in the day, but if you're planning on wandering around the shops and grabbing a bite to eat in the centre of Thamel, the walk home down unlit streets can be just a little unnerving. Not too bad for me coming from London, but I imagine for those of a more nervous disposition it might be a black mark.

However all in all, I would recommend the Kantipur Temple House. I probably would have given it 3.5 stars if I could have done.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room which looked over the charming courtyard, but seemed a little dark. An outside ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

If you want a quiet oasis away from the chaos of kathmandu --yet ironically in the center of Thamel-- then this is the place for you. An architecturally beautiful building (couldn't stop taking photos of it), extremely attentive staff, pleasant atmosphere, quiet rooms. Costs more than the typical hotel, but it is clean, comfortable, there was always hot water. Importantly for me, Kantipur was a place I was happy to come back to **and spend time at** after a tiring day of sightseeing. The restaurant's dinner menu was comprehensive and everything we tried was good (except the alcohol-soaked desserts: banana flambe and crepe suzette). When the nights got cool, our room was furnished with a heating pad (the whole size of the mattress) which was a cozy touch. In addition, the hotel's taxi driver, Hari, took us everywhere, was a safe driver, and spent whole days with us when we had a full itinerary and didn't want to deal with unknown taxis. Kantipur will definitely be our home base every time we visit Kathmandu.

Room Tip: 409 and 410 have an adjoining enclosed balcony and were the quietest of the 6 rooms we had during ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollyanna-Ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Great location, pleasant courtyards, attentive staff, but hugely popular with tour groups arriving to trek elsewhere and perhaps for this reason, the rooms are overpriced. Better value available elsewhere. If the money doesn't matter, however, the rooms, though dark - all low wattage energy saving bulbs - are clean and spacious, the bathrooms adequate. The breakfast buffet's not bad, and the front courtyard a pleasant place to eat it. The location is right in the middle of the main tourist area, everything for trekking available just down the road. Kilroy's, a restaurant well worth a visit, is a three minute walk away. They raised the price of a Himalaya beer from Rs300 to Rs400 overnight when I was there, which gives a perfect example of their pricing strategy: you want to be here, you pay our price!

Room Tip: Most face an inner courtyard, so are dark. Higher I preferred, but no lift, so longer walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a total of 6 nights, while on a tour in Nepal, Bhutan and Tibet. The hotel is a real oasis of cleanliness and tranquility in the middle of Kathmandu.
Very close to Thamel commercial area - 5-10 minutes walk.
Excellent service and excellent maintenance of the hotel.
Very very highly recommended

Florin Nafta - Israel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel as part of an organized trek and couldn't have been happier. The room I had, although a little on the dark side, was comfortable and clean. The ensuite bathroom had good hot water. The bed was comfortable, a torch was provided and all powerpoints had international adaptors. There was free Wi-Fi throughout the building and the garden courtyard, which was a great place to read, chill out or eat. The food was tasty and they do room service! Kantipur is centrally located in Thamel. A little off the main drag it is next to a building site and a brothel, but it's quiet and peaceful all day and night.

The guy who built it (in traditional Newari style) is delightful, environmentally conscious and a respected member of the surrounding community. Would recommend it highly as a unique, boutique experience.

Room Tip: Go for the back of the building rather than the front. The rooms are a little darker, but very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ndegreeburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Beautiful newari architecture, very clean rooms. Wonderful garden. dramric lighting in the evening.

We stayed in one of the superior rooms (the better value rooms were all booked) which we feel are overpriced compared to the general price/quality range that is usually found in Nepal.
The breakfast bill comes on top of the room price and does not reflect the value of such a bland meal.
The taxi that the hotel had organised charged us double the usual fare to the airport. The staff new this but ignored it.
The dump site next to the Kantipur Temple House should be removed as this does not add to the experience of arriving at the Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takingthehike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 196 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 196 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#8 of 196 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#16 of 196 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantipur Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantipur Temple House

Property: Kantipur Temple House
Address: Chusyabahal, Jyatha Tol | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#24 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantipur Temple House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kantipur Temple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantipur Temple House Hotel Kathmandu
Kantipur Temple Hotel
Kantipur Temple Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing