We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the facts!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kantipur Temple House
Ranked #17 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the facts!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Booked a last minute trip and most hotels were already full. Kantipur looked very nice on the www. - Here are the facts>>> Positive: very quiet suroundings which is great, clean & spacious rooms, Negative: no TV, no AC - only Vent., rooms are very dark even during daylight, no taxi driver knows this hotel. While the KTH is only 10 min. walk from the mainstreet in Thamel, I would not go there again. The room rates were too expensive and you have too many options if you book earlier. A nice hotel and if above positive points are good enough for you, then please stay there. One more comment about the staff, also reading the other reviews: Really mixed experience! Some have been very friendly but also, especially the guys have been damn serious and not friendly at all. I would recommend a hotel in the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    246
    52
    20
    9
See reviews for
82
284
132
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in April 2010. The place was packed full of charm and the staff were delightful. The generator wasn't great but the sporadic electricity is something you just have to accept if staying at a budget hotel in Kathmandu.

The location was perfect as we were able to walk to most of the major signseeing spots and the Greater Thamal area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2010

My daughter who was living in Nepal at the time suggested this hotel for my visit. (She had checked out a number of hotels in the Thamel area and this was her favorite). I found it simply wonderful. It was in a quiet part of Thamel but very close to the Thamel taxi stand. It also does its best to be "Green" which in Nepal is not easy to find. Breakfast was very good and helped my transition from Western food to Nepali cuisine. The garden was a nice touch and the doorman/guard was simply charming although we communicated only through smiles. I read some of the other reviews and found the criticisms to be off point. It is a few US dollars more than other hotels in the area but worth it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanwinkle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alassio, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Nice quiet setting a few steps away from busy Thamel. Red brick building gives a nice atmosphere that is also reflected in the room and courtyard. The room is spacious and comfortable against local standards. Do not expect full international standards though: the bathroom is very simple, cleanliness is a sligthtly relative concept. Breakfast is varied and (as all meals) can be had indoors, in the courtyard, and rooftop. I would advise courtyard for an evening meal as a nice setting although the price / quality ratio does not meet other options in the area.
The main issue was that I soon discovered that I could find (and did use) similar standard hotels for about a third of the price (in my case, namely the International Guest House).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto_NW_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

A beautiful hotel a couple of minutes walk from thamel. The garden is the perfect place to relax with a drink after a day in the madness of Kathmandu. Gorgeous, spacious rooms which have ensuites with plenty of hot water. Great value for money and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninachesterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We have just come back from a 4 night stay at this hotel- 2 days at the beginning of our trip and 2 at the end. I found it a lovely, relaxing place. The garden is beautiful and the setting just off a busy road means that you really don't hear all the traffic and noise that you would if you were closer to the street.
The staff were brilliant- really friendly and helpful.
The hotel itself is apparently only 11 years old but could so easily be 411. It's a stunning building filled with intricate carvings and brickwork. Really beautifully done. Plants and statues are everywhere.
The rooms were simple but nice. We had the same triple room for both stays and I was hoping to get to see another room for the second stay. Each inner room opens up facing the courtyard so I was hoping to see a different aspect.
The electricity cuts are a real pain but the hotel have a generator and we never lacked for hot water (just remember to let the tap run into the bucket for a few minutes). I would suggest to the hotel that they try and put a second backup light in the bathrooms as a power cut even in the middle of the day left our bathroom in complete darkness. Possibly adding one power outlet would also help with recharging cameras etc.
The food was very good- especially the Nepali menu. We tried about half of that menu and loved it all. The restaurant is quite slow at night -probably because they don't have full power- so our children sometimes didn't get fed until 9pm.
I did find the rooms quite hot. No AC and no fan was OK for the first 2 nights but for our final two the weather warmed up and it was really hot in the room. I think they have portable fans if you ask but on our second stay I don't recall it being in the room.
Overall I loved this hotel and was really impressed with the amount of thought that has gone into it's construction. The owner Bharat makes an effort to meet all his guests and discuss his vision for the hotel. He emphasises the importance of saving water, avoiding plastics etc. If only everyone in Nepal could do the same.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Nice, quiet location with beautiful architecture and with exquisite woodwork and decorations reminiscent of a Nepali temple or palace. Great rooms with similar decor and feel as the temple style of the hotel itself.
Relaxing and soothing courtyard with temple-like niches with an assortment of Buddhas and other exotic figures and carvings. Perfect place to relax during a break from sight-seing in Kathmandu and environs.
There is also a spacious roof-top terrace for quiet contemplation with views of the mountains partially hidden behind the edge of the valley. Beautiful and practical.
Extremely friendly, attentive and well-informed staff regarding sights in Kathmandu and an excellent restaurant with both Asian, Nepali and Western dishes of extremely high quality.
We would greatly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 203 in Kathmandu
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantipur Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantipur Temple House

Property: Kantipur Temple House
Address: Chusyabahal, Jyatha Tol | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#24 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantipur Temple House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kantipur Temple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantipur Temple House Hotel Kathmandu
Kantipur Temple Hotel
Kantipur Temple Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing