We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nirvana Garden Hotel
Ranked #110 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is right at the center of Thamel, but being at the end of a lateral alley is very quiet. It has a lovely garden, good sized rooms (that would require a bit updating to be excellent) and clean and spacious bathrooms. Staff are extremely polite and the restaurant serves good food at a good price. Nirvana Garden in my opinion is a good value for money hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishand N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Best sleep during my trip. Hotel is good with friendly staff. Great location. They do have power cuts; a couple of days I had to let the shower run for about 5 minutes before I got warm water; Cleanness could be improved.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leyda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Namaste,
I was so happy to have found this peaceful quiet hotel in the middle of burstling Kathamandu: All the rooms were very clean, the stuff was always very friendly, and the meals and the drinks in the restaurant were great! I really can recommend this place! Susanne, Frankfurt D.

Room Tip: garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I found the Nirvana a very good, restful place to stay. The staff was very helpful, fun to talk to, BJ especially has been trekking and knows the places and feelings we had prior and of accomplishment after. I had a great room, clean,large, balcony overlooking the garden area. Quiet off the busy Thamel streets. Close to good restaurants. Walking distance to many sites. Electricity cuts cant be helped and they have a schedule so you will know. My room had an electric heater that worked fine to give warmth. Slept very comfortably and warm.

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony overlooking the garden
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Generally good. Helpful staff, nice ambience, satisfactory rooms, good location, comparatively quiet.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the building at the rear — and the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We paid way over the odds for this hotel because we booked in advance by email and forked out the $40 they wanted for a deluxe room. You could probably get it for half that price by just turning up (it's a big place and unlikely to be full) and the hotel is popular with groups (Australian / German) whose agencies will be paying a lot less. Paying $20 - $25 would be realistic and would get them another star.

To be fair they probably gave us their best room (very big, top floor, on the terrace) but it still wasn't worth the money in comparison to the competition and most of the other hotels we stayed in Nepal (13, including trekking lodges).

They struggle with the 11 hour power cuts which are affecting Kathmandu. This is not their fault but if they have no hot water or electricity then the price has to reflect this. Because of the size of the room it was freezing cold, even when the electricity was working because the old hot air blower wasn't up to heating the room - they'd be better with an electric heater or electric blanket.

The location is OK, up a fairly quiet alley, walking distance to Thamel's main drags. Reception staff friendly enough and their exchange rate was not much different to what you could get in the street so you can change cash there. They did not get off to a great start by not picking us up at the airport as promised but after some confusion an airport taxi driver called the hotel and they agreed to pay him to take us.

Would probably not stay there again at the price we paid.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank joaozinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Nirvana Garden Hotel is not exactly nirvana, or at least our version of it. We arrived around midnight to find an old, cramped room that had no heat. When they turned on the heating unit, air conditioning came out. When then came back to fix the situation they determined that the heater was broken and could not be repaired. They returned with a space heater that heated the room a bit--until the usual power cut (Kathmandu had them almost half the day). The beds were saggy, room small and tired, and bathroom very old, poorly lit, and with barely hot water.

The hotel attitude was good and helpful, but this was a poor way to begin our trip to Nepal and we moved out the next day. Perhaps there are some nice rooms, but ours was not one of them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#106 of 210 in Kathmandu
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Access Nepal
Hotel Access Nepal
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#84 of 210 in Kathmandu
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thamel
Hotel Thamel
#51 of 210 in Kathmandu
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Garden Hotel

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £20 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirvana Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Garden-Hotel is located in a tranquil oasis right in the heart of Thamel: Kathmandu's hub of touristic area, within walking distance of the Royal Palace Museum, the shopping and business district and areas of touristic interest. One step away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel, guests can enjoy the serene comfort of an expansive and lush landscaped garden replete with a rocky waterfall and a profusion of flowers, trees and birds. The hotel is unique, starting from its prime location, a spacious parking area, the ambiance and decor of the lobby and rooms to the Nepalese architecture of the hotel structure. The service is friendly but efficient and polite but personal, catering to all the needs of a discerning guest. The hotel aims to provide international standard accommodation and service with a touch of warm Nepalese hospitality at very affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nirvana Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Garden Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing