We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Ok Room, But Staff isn't friendly”
Review of Royal Singi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Singi Hotel
Ranked #102 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Dear Friends,
I had to visit Kathmandu city regularly for my business trip, I had been to this hotel thrice during last 2 months. Hotel is situated in the center heart of the city. Good location to reach from any place in kathmandu. Malls, Market, Restaurants and casinos all are walking distance of 5 minutes.
I will not say food is that too bad, but not tasty enough. Rooms are clean and ok to stay. Air conditioner was not working in my room during my second visit, but that might be a sudden issue only. But the most important thing i did not liked was the behavior of the front reception desk staffs. The staff are not friendly and not smiley at all. Otherwise hotel is good to stay at.

Room Tip: You can find a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalit_Agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Like many people I suspect, I stayed here for a couple of a days before and after a 12 day hike to Everest Base Camp. Grand reception area, friendly staff and rooms that are easily comparable to more western hotels. Location was good, as I am a seasoned hiker it was no problem to walk to the Monkey Temple from the hotel, also Durbar Square and most of the other central Kathmandu places of interest. There's a supermarket across the street that sells most things than you might want too plus an ATM machine. Breakfast was a good choice and perfectly adequate for mass catering, absolutely no issues with that. Definitely would stay there again. Oh and the long hot shower that I had on returning from Base Camp was THE BEST EVER I have had in my life. Worth five stars for that alone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7RufusG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed for the first night on an Exodus trip to Everest Base Camp. The trip from the airport to the city was a real eye-opener for someone who had never been to Asia before and I was more than a little apprehensive about the standard of the hotel but I was pleasantly surprised. This had what felt like a bit of colonial elegance (not sure if that's un-pc!). Room was clean, neat, tidy. Inclusive breakfast was excellent. I didn't realise that that would be my last decent feed for nearly two weeks and I wish I had eaten more. Stayed here on the way back too and the only fault I could find was that the shower was tepid at best, but given the colour of the water in Kathmandu that might not have been such a bad thing after all...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

my second visit to royal singi...spend 2 nights there...very spacious and clean rooms with spacious and clean washrooms...very near to darbar square..one of the best part in kathmandu..
food was good..specially the snacks, served in bar...they have restaurant and bar section on first floor.they provides a complimentary breakfast on room booking....small garden..sitting / eating area around garden...parking space..nice lobby ..with lots of hand made paintings..in every room..they have attached rooms, separated by doors..so that a big family can also accommodate together...
overall a nice hotel with nice rooms..nice food..and best part is value for money.. will definitely use the same hotel again..
i will recommend this hotel for all kind of travelers.

Room Tip: rooms on opposite sides are bit quieter and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalbahadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

After staying in several hotels over a few trips to Nepal, I think I have found one hotel I will utilise again. The room is basic but it is clean and the staff are very pleasant. The only let down was the water smelt. Not exactly sure of what but I was clean at the end. It is in a great location for Kathmandu and the rates are reasonable. The beds were comfortable and I slept like a log. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Kathmandu.

Room Tip: my room was on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slodgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The best part of this hotel is that it is located centrally very near to the main market place of Kathmandu, yet much cheaper than the other hotels of same category nearby. Per day 2300 INR + taxes = Total 2800 INR per day with complimentary break fast is a good deal in Kathmandu. A big hotel with lots of rooms, nice decorated big lobby to hangout, nice behaviour from the staffs, I prefer the higher floors ( 5Th) for a nice view of the city. Walking dictance to some good shopping joints and a famous food hangout - Nanglo. Authentic Chinese restaurant in the 7th floor of this hotel. This is my 2nd stay and I am quite happy. Food is good, a bit costly but that is how Kathmandu is.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms are good, check before whether the AC is working or not, in some rooms AC does not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Subhadeepkolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The hotel was booked as part of a group reservation by my tour operator so I cannot comment on the value. I have given this 5 stars as I am guessing it is advertised as a 'mid range' hotel - in this respect there are no complaints

The condition of the hotel was utter luxury compared with other places I stayed.

I had to wait quite some time to receive service from Bar Staff however I used the inhouse internet terminal and the manager couldn't have been more helpful. There was no printer linked to the terminal but he gave me his memory chip for me to save my online checkin details then print them in his office.

The location was great.

If i was staying in Kathmandu again I wouldn't hesitate to rebook this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
Hotel Ambassador by ACE Hotels
#74 of 209 in Kathmandu
32 reviews
1.9 mi away
Platinum Hotel & Spa
Platinum Hotel & Spa
#93 of 209 in Kathmandu
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traditional Comfort
Traditional Comfort
#2 of 209 in Kathmandu
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#76 of 209 in Kathmandu
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#41 of 209 in Kathmandu
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 209 in Kathmandu
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Singi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Singi Hotel

Address: PO Box 13168 | Lal Durbar, Kamaladi, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £62 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Singi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Singi Hotel boasts a central location within Kathmandu with easy and convenient access to banks, Durbar Marg (adjacent street)and Thamel (10mins walk). With only a 15 mins drive away from the airport, 95 elegantly appointed rooms (70 Deluxe Rooms, 20 Executive Rooms & 5 Signature Suites) awaits you with modern comfort and amenities (in room fridge, in-room safe, complimentary coffee/tea) of a home away from home. Our newly opened All Day Dining Restaurant "the BLVD" (1st fl) serves a variety of offerings for your daily breakfast (Buffet). Lunch and Dinner are also served (a la carte) that is complemented with a selection of wines, spirits & beers. Enjoy a sip of coffee with some signature house-made cakes and pastries in Pronto (Lobby Cafe) or our Happy Hours (5pm-7pm) over beers and cocktails in Bhanjyang Bar (1st fl). Complimentary wifi is available across the entire hotel. Bar & Pronto services are also available at the hotel courtyard terrace- a tranquil space of bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Singi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Singi Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing