We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate”
Review of Tibet Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tibet Guest House
Ranked #92 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights before heading off to the mountains, all organised by friends who stay here all the time. Paid $35 for a deluxe room, not sure about the deluxe though! Hot water was hit and miss as was electricity and wifi, but it suited our needs as we were only their to sleep as spent those two days getting ready for our mountain adventure and sight seeing.

Located well and breakfast is good, egg man makes awesome omelette, staff very attentive and friendly.

I certainly recommend it if you are after a cheaper, convenient place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnnG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    126
    61
    17
    11
See reviews for
25
66
51
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I return again and again to this hotel. It's in a quiet but central location. The staff are extremely welcoming, courteous and helpful. Rooms are very good and fairly priced. Breakfast is the best - buffet style with a resident "egg man" who cooks eggs to your liking. Very pleasant outdoor area. Good views from rooftop. Excellent indoor cafe. A real winner

Room Tip: All rooms are good, varying in quality depending on price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed there 3 nights and the staff were very friendly and also very accommodating. It's not the greatest, it's not like the Intercon/Fairmont in the west but who cares - it has what you need. It has an awesome location…everything in the little street where the hotel comes off of, spa beside the hotel, Thamel bazaar is walking distance, great breakfast - so much variety! and everything else is very close-by too so if you don't take your western standards with you then this is perfect.

Room Tip: our rooms were all great, but if you need to switch - ask away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humaira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at the TGH 3 times in November. Rooms are hit or miss. Some are in much better shape than others. Some are larger, some are quieter and some are cleaner. You never know what you will get. This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, but really an older establishment that is in the middle of the action. Expect to pay $50 +/- per night. There are so many places to eat that you don't need to eat there unless you are just too lazy to go out.
Bring ear plugs - an essential to a decent sleep. Be friendly with the staff and except for some of the late night crew, you'll find that you've just made some new friends.
I think that this is good value for the money if you accept its limitations. If you want luxury, this is not the place for you. If you want to be in the middle of the action, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LavaEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a good budget option in the heart of Thamel. Conveniently located and with a nice private garden/eating area which I loved relaxing in with a tea or beer, after my 30 hour flights to get to Nepal.
Though the rooms are hit and miss (there are actually two parts to this hotel - the old part and the new part), with some rooms being really nice, clean and with a good view, and others that just look old, a bit dingy, and tired. Also, since this is Nepal, you may have a very large insect or two living in your room with you. I've stayed at Tibet Guest House every time I visit KTM, and this only happened once out of the 6 or more times I stayed there but I know other travellers have had the same experience. Though they will spray your room with bug spray if you complain about bugs, I don't recommend this as you will be sleeping in the smell of toxic bug spray for at least the first two nights after spraying.

If you want to change rooms, or if you need any information about places to go, prices, etc. the hotel staff are very accommodating.

Anyway, for the price and the great location, it's worth it and I'd probably stay there again because it's familiar, in a great area, and from my experience, the staff are friendly, nice and helpful. And again, this is Nepal so bugs are pretty much everywhere and you just have to get used to it eventually.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Tibet Guest House is conveniently located in the Chhetrapati area of Katmandu adjacent to Thamel. The staff is neither friendly nor unfriendly, they're mostly just there. The room I stayed in was adequate but not comfortable and I did not sleep well in the one night I spent there. It happened to be a conveniently located hotel when I needed a room for a night but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed Tibet guest house with my wife this oct. When we arrived on the first day, they didn't keep a room for us! Their excuse is bcos a large group already arrived. They transferred us to their related guest house which is located near a school! Next day, they arranged us back to Tibet guest house but not the main building! The room is very smelly, dirty and shabby!
The service and attitude of the staff is very bad. I can't feel they are friendly, helpful!
I will visit Nepal next time but won't stay in Tibet guest house !!!!!

Room Tip: I don't recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whchan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Nirvana Garden Hotel
Nirvana Garden Hotel
#112 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.0 mi away
DOM Himalaya Hotel
DOM Himalaya Hotel
#42 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tayoma
Hotel Tayoma
#116 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Guest House
International Guest House
#65 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tibet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibet Guest House

Property: Tibet Guest House
Address: Chhetrapati, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tibet Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular mid-range hotel for travelers, running for the last 27 years. Experienced and changing with time and meeting all the desire of the travellers. Located in the main tourist area (Thamel) yet away from the street noise.While in kathmandu if you happen to stay somewhere then visit us and then you will feel the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tibet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing