We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“resort like village near the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dhulikhel Mountain Resort
Ranked #130 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Excellent resort with concept like village. All cottage are scattared. rooms are very specious. Since this resort is approx 100 ft up from the main entrance, you need to walk. If you are travelling with your parents or kids then not a good option

Room Tip: there is less varity in buffed system else other foods are quiteexpensive
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gokul_saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Dhulikhel Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Comfortable rooms, OK food, very clean and well cared for property, great views when the air is clear. Overpriced for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a Travelsphere trip to India & Nepal. The resort is a 2 hour drive outside of Kathmandu, and in the foorhills of the Himalayas.
The accomodation is in the form of lodges, usually 4 to a block. The accomodation is quite basic, but the surroundings are wonderful. Hot water can be a bit hit & miss, but if you listen to the staff as to when its on, then its fine. Food is traditional Nepalese, and good. We had a cultural show from the local people which was very enjoyable. We also took a walk up to the local school & met some of the local children, who were wonderful - really happy that they had running drinking water as opposed to worrying where they can plug their xbox into.

Overall - loved it here, having a beer watching the sun going down.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NashJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Recently stayed here while on a Tour of Nepal. The views and the Gardens are superb but the hotel is filthy, especially the bathrooms, and the service is abysmal. The Staff here tried to overcharge all of our Group on our bills. They were also slow and lazy and not helpful. As I say the views are wonderful but stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed at the Dhulikhel Mountain Resort for one night. The strong hot showers were a relief for us after a long day's hike from Nagarkot and being covered in dust and dirt. Rooms are very clean and large windows give you a great view of the mountains. You can tell a lot of care goes into this resort because of the well-taken care of gardens. It is a beautiful oasis that reminds me of gardens back home in Victoria, BC. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Excellent gourmet dinner and breakfast served. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed at the Dhulikhel Mountain Resort before and after a trek into the Kathmandu Valley. The resort rooms were clean and simple and have spectacular mountain views. While the resort is near a busy road, it was quiet at night, and I slept well. The power does go out frequently, so be prepared and carry a flashlight. Fortunately, the hot water is run on a diesel generator and is not affected by the power outages.

The restaurant food was tasty, and service was polite. Be sure to have breakfast on the outside patio. The view is lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

This was a fairly basic hotel high up on the edge of the Himalayas. The room was quite small but adequate and the beds were comfortable. Due to its remote location hot water was available only twice a day at certain times....however, this was not a real issue as we were only here for one night. Food was quite good as well. The views were brilliant when we first arrived due to mainly clear blue skies. Unfortunately the cloudy weather early on our last morning prevented us getting some really good sunrise photos over the Himalayas, but hey ho we can't control everything can we? This was a very laid back place and we would have liked to have stayed for another couple of days to chill out.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BazzaSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
0.3 mi away
Himalayan Horizon
Himalayan Horizon
#3 of 12 in Dhulikhel
76 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dhulikhel Mountain Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mirabel Resort Hotel Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dhulikhel Lodge Resort
Dhulikhel Lodge Resort
#2 of 12 in Dhulikhel
117 reviews
3.5 mi away
Namobuddha Resort
Namobuddha Resort
#2 of 16 in Dhulikhel
123 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Dwarika's Resort-Dhulikhel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhulikhel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhulikhel Mountain Resort

Address: Lazimpat | P.o. Box 3203, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £91 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dhulikhel Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dhulikhel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhulikhel Mountain Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing