We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”
Review of Hotel Access Nepal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Access Nepal
Ranked #37 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I can't say its the best hotel but I can hardly think of anything to complain. Staff was brilliant, location was slightly more than brilliant as it was right in the center of Thamel and every sight in main Kathmandu was at a walking distance. nice rooftop restaurant but nothing really to see around unless you are interested to see Thamel from 5th floor. Just keep in mind that lift does not work when electricity is out but that is very common in Kathmandu, so I suggest stay on lower floors.

TV wasn't working the night I wanted to watch football and it was late at night so they couldn't fix it and hot water is just warm water and does not qualify to be hot in the shower.

Room Tip: Lower floor as lifts don't work during electricity load shedding.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Khiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Access Nepal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

The exterior of this hotel looks simple, and as we walk up to our room, the stairways and corridors of each level look rundown, dusty, and dirty. However, we were surprised to find clean, big room, a huge bed, and a big balcony.

There was no table or chairs at the balcony, and it was pretty dusty too. Bathroom was also clean and hot shower was really good! Breakfast was small spread but food was quite good. The only downside is that the hotel was located in busy Thamel, so expect the noise till at around 11pm.. Shutting the windows completely did help to block out the sound a little, so it was still bearable. Wifi connection was pretty lousy, and could barely be accessed when you stand really close to the windows. The routers are fixed to the outside of the building. We experienced blackout during our stay, but the hotel has cleverly used backup generator in the bathroom, so even when there's a blackout while you are showering, you wouldn't panic!

The staffs were also very friendly and courteous, who would greet and smile at you when they see you. It makes you feel welcomed.

The restaurant at the 2nd level has pretty good food. We tried before their butter chicken masala, naan,fried rice, fried momos, and all were pretty good! It was slightly more expensive compared to the ones outside, but we didn't have as tasty food!

Overall a good and comfortable stay in busy and dusty Thamel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elshjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your staying with us as well as great review, we took note your suggestion and would like to share with you that had installed the fibber cable for the high speed internet as well as fast service. About the interior, Tiles and bricks of the hotel has black mark and red mark so it looks dirt but normally not. All the balcony we have chairs and table, we are sorry that you did not got one. I will note all your suggestion and surely improve all, I am 100% sure that you will have much better time for next stay at my hotel. Thank you so much,
Regards,
Subash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Fabulous hotel, Fabulous management and staff and fabulous location. What more could you ask for. We had a fantastic 3 night stay end April / beginning May, the rooms were clean with good facilities, very good roof top buffet breakfast and you are in the heart of all the shopping, bars etc. We have booked to stay a further 2 nights later in May because of the above mentioned and also it is only 20 - 30 minutes away from Kathmandu International Airport which costs 500 Nepalese rupee (£4). Many thanks to Subash and his team for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PetervCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. we are so glad to read your review and I had share this to my staffs. Your review is so much precious to us and inspired for continue the services. Thank you so much and see you soon.
Best Regards,
Subash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed here two nights before my trek and two afterwards, in two different rooms, Room 405 was good except that the bathroom/wetroom didn't drain too well, but flip flops were provided. There was a fridge in the room and the air conditioning was useful. The bed was comfortable and TV worked well. The tiled corridors transmitted noise very well.

On my return from trekking I was really looking forward to a bath but the water wasn't even warm enough for a quick shower in room 205. I was told this was because the sun wasn't shining and they would put the gas geyser on. Three hours later the water was still only tepid. It was the same the next day, when it was still raining. One of the double glazed windows was warped and so didn't shut properly, letting in the noise from traffic and music from nearby.

The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was very good, Eating under an umbrella in the rain was a novel experience. The nearby bakery was useful for lunches and the supermarket next door good for lots of things,

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Luggage was stored for free whilst I was on my trek and between checking out and going to the airport. There were several minor power cuts and one from 6am to 10am, but eh light kept working.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Js-Wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed here for 9 days during my time in Kathmandu and was happy that i did. The rooms are clean, always had hot water, and the power outages that are super common in Kathmandu weren't to bad and usually short lived due to this place having a nice generator. Also the location is amazing if you like being in the middle of everything, its right in the middle of thamel with all the bars and shops are your finger tips. That being said the rooms or pretty much sound proof so the noises coming from the streets wont keep you awake if you choose to hit the bed early. I would stay here again with out even thinking about it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at Hotel Access Nepal. I found the staff to be very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. Also the inclusive breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay there again when I return to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikolas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
First of all thank you so much for choosing us regarding to your staying in Kathmandu as well Thanks a lot for your review with excellent mark. Your review is much helpful and precious for our business. we hope to see again, Thank you so much,
Regards,
Subash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

In the very center, secure and safe, free airport pick-up, welcoming helpful and friendly staff, roof top breakfast terrace overlooking the busy streets, next to all bars and restaurants, clean rooms with air-con, all day hot water, TV-HBO, good matresses, private balcony, sound proof windows, elevator, awarded with the HMC Hospitality Award 2013: http://www.hmc-international.de/18423.html

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lhtlueders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you so much for your precoius time for review as well as giving us business, It was our pleasure to serving you.
Thank you so much for informing us that we were already awarded with the HMC Hospitality Award 2013: http://www.hmc-international.de/18423.html . we are so glad that we are selected. Thanks once again and hope to see you again, wish you all the very best.
Best regards,
Subash
Hotel Access Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#33 of 207 in Kathmandu
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 207 in Kathmandu
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
#62 of 207 in Kathmandu
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#18 of 207 in Kathmandu
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#35 of 207 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Access Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Access Nepal

Address: Chaksibari Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £24 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Access Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Access Nepal is positioned in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu. Youfeel the pulse of Kathmandu from the comfort and tranquility of the hotel's spacious interiors. Further more airport, markets, and historical place like all just a stone's throw away, It will be difficult to find a better location in the city. Historical place like Kathmandu Durbar Square and SwymbhuNathstupa (monkey temple) are also within walking distance. Book your stay with us one of affordably priced Economy, Standard, Deluxe or Family rooms and you can save your time and money to spend on other things during your trip like shopping, exploring the city and excursions of Kathmandu. Hotel Access Nepal will fulfill all your stay requirements witharound the clock room service and superb range of amenities and facilities including laundry services, in-room large screen TVs, and high-speed internet available through out the hotel. Our friendly staff is always just a call away and will help you to explore Nepal by recommending the best sight-seeing spots and attractions in the vicinity. All told, Hotel Access Nepal is not just a place to stay - it provides the ideal platform to savor the true essence of Kathmandu in the shortest of time spans! We welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Access Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing