We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a central location.”
Review of Hotel Access Nepal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Access Nepal
Ranked #44 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a total of 6 nights - 3 before our ABC Trek & 3 afterwards & were very pleased with everything about our stay.

The staff, without exception were polite, helpful & friendly regarding any enquiry we made. We changed money at the hotel & the rates charged were no different than any external banks of booths that we saw.

The rooms were spotless & well appointed & we had no problems with hot water during our stay. Our first room had twin beds & a balcony & our second a double with no balcony. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was good & varied too.

We chose the Access Nepal because of it's central location so didn't expect it to be without traffic noise. All the rooms are double glazed so the noise is minimal. As the previous reviewer has already pointed out, there is a reggae bar with excellent live music virtually next door. Unsurprisingly you can actually hear the music - it does stop at 11pm. My advice is to go into the reggae bar & enjoy it as the bands were excellent during our stay & we aren't exactly spring chickens! There aren't many hotels in Thamel that don't experience traffic noise at this price or considerably more so do some proper research before booking instead of moaning when you arrive - this is Thamel not Sleepy Hollow!!

We intend to return to Nepal in 2015 & the Hotel Access Nepal will be first on our list of accomodation. Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay so agreeable.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a balcony ask when you book - all the rooms are street facing really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reuben31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you so much for your valuable time to review our hotel, we are so much glad to read that you had not any problem during your staying with us, It was our pleasure to serve you and help you as much as you want for your comfortable staying in our hotel. We are already very excited that you have make your plan to visit Nepal in 2015 and would like to stay at our hotel for your next visit. we will be waiting for you for that day to serve you again, wish you all the very best and, of-course see you again, Thank you so much,
Best Regards,
Subash and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

I find the two previous reviews (1* and 2*) hard to understand. We had two stays at Hotel Access, 7 weeks apart. From being picked up at the airport, the manager and the staff could not have been more helpful. They arranged a 12-day trek for my wife and I which was brilliant. They also arranged a good taxi for a full day sightseeing at very reasonable cost. The facilities and rooms are clean and excellent with a good supply of hot water for showers (not always the case in other hotels). Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. At times there is a bit of noise from outside but this is central Kathmandu and we did not find this an issue at all. I would fully recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Thamel area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very, very much not only for staying with us but millions of tanks for your precious time to write a comment about our hotel. we are very glad to read that you had a great staying with us, your review is so much precious to us which motivate us more for taking care of our valuable guest. We wish you all the very best for your every steps.
Thanks and Regards,
Subash and Hotel Access Nepal's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel prior to our trek. The stay was ok, just that we were kept awake by the bar next door as well as the traffic since our room was road-facing.

Our trek ended a day earlier as expected and we flew back to Kathmandu. On the way from the airport to Thamel, we managed to get a room through Agoda. However, when we arrived at Hotel Access, we were told there was no room. Our Nepali friend, who is also an travel agent, was with us and asked for an explanation from the hotel staff. However, the staff was rude and since we couldn't understand Nepali, I let my friend speak to the staff. The atmosphere wasn't too good. Finally the hotel staff arranged for us to stay at Heritage Home, which is located not too far away.

When I asked my friend what did the staff said, my friend said that the staff commented that we were 3rd class tourists who just book through Agoda on our way to the hotel, looking for cheap deals, and the staff used bad languages which my friend refused to tell me the meaning behind the words.

It was totally uncalled for - we were certainly not 3rd class tourist. In fact, I operate a boutique travel agency myself and was sourcing for good accommodation in Thamel area so that I can put my clients in next time. Unfortunately, Hotel Access will never make it to my list because of one black sheep. It is a pity because there are some staff who were nice, the hotel location was excellent, the room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,
As you try to book our hotel by phone for the same day via your travel agent but we had requested that we do not have room. we requested you that not to book via any booking engine because it was already last hour and room was full, we were very helpful and provided you the accommodation next by our hotel, we are unknown that what your travel agent explain you about us, there was not any thing that we told about you about your class and all, He was so much angry with our hotel staffs that we were not able to provide the room for you. All the very best.
Regards,
Subash & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Prime location but it could be noisy for someone who love some peaceful and quiet night.
Revisited the hotel as a returning guest after a trek. We encountered a bad attitude staff due to a dispute of the booking between Agoda and the hotel. However, the manager did handled the situation well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTC8890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,
we receive your two reviews for the same case, actually your Nepali agent who came to discuss with our staff because of no room available, one of your previous story on review was not true, Your Nepali agent totally explain you everything wrong about us and both of the review was written intentionally motivated by your local agent because we were not able to accommodate you at our hotel. Your local agent already warned to us that he can drop our business. If you remember your Nepali friend just came to discuss with us without saying anything by our hotel staff, Than the story was happen, We quickly arrange the another hotel around for you and helped you to accommodate. We totally surprise to see your two reviews for the same case for drop down the rank. Hope you and your group will find a better location, peace and lovely place for your next stay.
Subash & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We love our few night stay in hotel access , we was greeted with very kind and helpful service. The staff are friendly and sweet. The room and the bathroom were clean . Breakfast serve with small variety but taste good. The hotel is good location. It's very convenient to walk around the street. Even the M.D (Mr Subash) was very helpful. He personally arrange our tour. The amazing part was, we looking forward to Bhutan trip somehow he manage to confirm a return ticket for us even it's was fully booked. Would definitely recommend it.

Thank Jesselynloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I `ve got a lot of helpful gestures in solving a difficult situation (lost my bag with documents and money) . A great manager, friendly staff and a nice accommodation in the middle of the touristcenter "Thamel"

Annekathrin W

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annekathrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subash k, Owner at Hotel Access Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Madam,
Thanks a lot for your wonderful review as well as thanks a lot for choosing us. we were very glad that you got your passport back and able to fly back. we are sorry that you had difficult time but finally everything were solved, we wish you all the very best and good luck. Thank you,
Best Regards,
Subash & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel Access is in a prime location in Thamel with great restaurants and a lively nightlife surrounding it. You step out the front door to a bunch of shops with hiking/trekking gear, super markets, and trekking companies. The rooms were clean, have AC, hot water, and a small seating area.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my morning and evening chats with them on my way in and out. They always remembered where I said I was going and asked how it was.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#33 of 210 in Kathmandu
669 reviews
0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#32 of 210 in Kathmandu
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
DOM Himalaya Hotel
DOM Himalaya Hotel
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#13 of 210 in Kathmandu
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Access Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Access Nepal

Address: Chaksibari Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £22 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Access Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Access Nepal is positioned in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu. Youfeel the pulse of Kathmandu from the comfort and tranquility of the hotel's spacious interiors. Further more airport, markets, and historical place like all just a stone's throw away, It will be difficult to find a better location in the city. Historical place like Kathmandu Durbar Square and SwymbhuNathstupa (monkey temple) are also within walking distance. Book your stay with us one of affordably priced Economy, Standard, Deluxe or Family rooms and you can save your time and money to spend on other things during your trip like shopping, exploring the city and excursions of Kathmandu. Hotel Access Nepal will fulfill all your stay requirements witharound the clock room service and superb range of amenities and facilities including laundry services, in-room large screen TVs, and high-speed internet available through out the hotel. Our friendly staff is always just a call away and will help you to explore Nepal by recommending the best sight-seeing spots and attractions in the vicinity. All told, Hotel Access Nepal is not just a place to stay - it provides the ideal platform to savor the true essence of Kathmandu in the shortest of time spans! We welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Access Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing