We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
WASHINGTON DC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

There is no other hotel like this one in Kathmandu....it is a great oasis in Boudha. Very quiet, clean, good food and service. The rooms are stylishly designed with nice quality linens (a rarity among even Kathmandu's 5 star hotels) and a very relaxed atmosphere. Great value as well....just a small walk down a back alley to the stupa....very nice place and one of a kind in Kathmandu.....

Room Tip: Choose a garden-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIZZZZZZZZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dera Guest
Many thanks that you stayed with us. We are very happy that you had a great time at Shambaling. Feedback like yours makes us very very happy. It tells us that we are on the right way and motivates us to work even harder to keep that standard. And since you are a Tripadvisor-senior contributor your judgment has great value for us.

You are right, the linen we are using, are the same as many 5* hotels using in India. We feel that a nice sleep is most important and gives you good dreams

I will also forward your comment to our staff, as the high service-standard is a result of all our staff.

Looking forward to have you again at Shambaling Hotel.
Kind regards from the whole Shambaling –family.

Tashi Delek
Dawa S. (Swissdawa)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    65
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
125
99
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neckarsulm, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I never expected such a silent place in the middle of Kathmandu. The garden is a wonderful place to sit and just to enjoy after travelling through Nepal and especially after a day at Kathmandus bazar. A perfect place for relaxing. The rooms are very clean, nice and big...however finally the best thing was the hot rain-fall/shower after the long flight and after the trek...I loved it. In the evening we decided not to go out because we were so tired after the flight therfore we had dinner in the garden ... we had a really great and wonderful meal. However most of all the positve thinks was the hospitality and the very warm welcome. Especially the women and men at the reception, was so nice an helpful..thanks a lot! actually I wanted to stay there for one night however after the 1st night I decided to enlarge for 3 other days...the Shambaling hotel is my little "Zauberberg" :-)...Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Andreas
Many thanks that you stayed with us. Yes many of our guests are surprised to find such a quit place in Kathmandu. Yes and the rain shower, I think we are the only Hotel in Kathmandu, which has this. It was my personal wish to have it in our showers, as I know from my trips all around the world how relaxing it is.
We are happy to forward your feedback to all our staff.

Kind regards and see you again in Kathmandu.

Dawa S. (Swissdawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cham, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Enjoing breakfast in the wellkept garden of the Shambaling before setting out for new andventures or after coming back from the Kora at the Boudha Stupa is a perfect start of a day. And coming "home" from sight-seeing it is a real plasure to relax in the garden or in the tastfully furnished room from the noise and dirt of Kathmandu's roads. It is a quiet oasis, interrupted only by the coo of pigons, the soothing sound of the "waterfall" and from time to time the subduesd sound of drums and horns from a monastery. The restaurant serves very good food. We shall not forget the Nepali thali. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We mean real friendly, not a frozen smile or an artificial bow. In short: When Kathmandu, then Shambaling.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stucky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Dear Stuck D.
First of all many thanks that you stayed with us. Feeling like coming home is exactly our goal and we are happy that you had this experience. I will also forward your comment to our staff. They really like to serve to our clients deep from the heart, always knowing that you spend your most value time with us. SO when you are happy we are also happy (-:

Looking forward to have you again at Shambaling Hotel.
Kind regards from the whole Shambaling –family.

Dawa Sigrist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed there for one night before heading to Pokhara. Very nice and hospitable staff, clean rooms, good food. Nothing much to complain about when it comes to service. Location is not so great and most taxi drivers are not familiar with the hotel. We wasted so much time driving around looking for the hotel (even with the location map printed on the back of its business card). Price is on the high side when comparing to other locally managed hotels.

Overall, not a highly recommended hotel for short stays in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Furious111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
First of all many thanks that you stayed with us. We are very very happy about your feedback „Great hospitality” and that you were happy with our service. We regret to learn, that the taxi driver had difficulty to find Shambaling. We understand that after a long journey this was a hassle for you. As we are a newly opened Hotel we are award, that some of the taxi drivers still have difficulty to find us. Shambaling is located in a very quiet area not fare from the famous Boudha stupa (just 10 min. walk) and not on a dusty stinky main road. This is something what most of our clients really like. We will also reprint the business card and do a better location map.

Many thanks again for staying with. Hope to see you again at Shambaling and would like to invite you for a drink next time.
Kind regards
Dawa Sigrist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

As part of a package run by MILA adventures we had nights here before and after our trek, both times through the hotel amazed me. The staff were always friendly, the rooms were brilliant especially when you have been in a tent for the last 16 days, the food was very good and was very well portioned. I suppose my only issue would be the distance from the town centre but when you can get the reception to order you a taxi to take you there for NRp 350-400, about £3, that isn't that much of an issue. Highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIgme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review. I along with my entire team always do our best to make each and every guests stay at the Shambaling as memorable as possible. Reading reviews like yours make us feel we have succeeded and we move forward to making our future guests stay at the hotel even more memorable.

As mentioned in your review many guest in the past have told us it is worth driving 20 mins to the city and come back to a relaxing peaceful surrunding away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Best wishes from the entire Shambaling team.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Shambaling felt like home away from home. The staff is extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful and will do everything to make you feel at home. The spacious rooms are beautifully decorated (tibetan style) with lots of attention to details. The garden is like a quiet oasis in the bubbly Kathmandu and the food served in the restaurant is just great. Should I come back to Kathmandu, I will definitely stay again at Shambaling.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Sharon
First of all many thanks that you stayed with us. Felling “Home away from home”, that’s exactly what our guest should feel when they stay at Shambling. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at Shambaling.
We are looking forward to have you back at Shambling.

Kind regards and Tashi Delek from the whole Shambaling - family

Dawa S. (Swissdawa)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Hotel Shambaling may not be in the main Tourist area of Thamel in Kathmandu, but its location is just as great. With it being a 10 min walk from one of Kathmandu's main attractions (the Boudha Stupa) the hotel is a prime spot for those who want something different to the normal hotel chain experience. From completing a Trek out in Nepal you learn the people are always very giving and this is no different at Shambaling, all the employees are locals and always do their best to help with everything from laundry to dialing a taxi to exchanging money. One of the main things I love about this hotel is how they have incorporated their culture so you get a real sense of being in Nepal. Each room has some very nice traditional touches and yet still has all the modern features you need and expect of a modern hotel. The food is excellent with an international menu on offer and food that comes out looking good, tasting good and not being a tiny portion like you get in some posh places. The taxi to the center of Kathmandu generally costs around 400 Nepalese rupee which is about £3 but you can barter. This was the perfect place to relax following my Trek and I will most definitely be back to Hotel Shambaling when I return to Nepal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPF91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawa S, Inhaber at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Guest from England
First of all, many tanks that you stayed with us and being a part of the Shambaling family. Yes that is one of our USP's, the nice heritage walk to the great Stupa of Kathmandu. Here you can really explorer the daily life in a peaceful environment.

With our Tibetan roots we try to promote our culture and heritage to our guests. And as I grow up Switzerland we like to combine the Tibetan hospitality with the perfect Swiss service. All our staff is trained by hotel professionals from the best hotel management school in the world the EHL in Lausanne/Switzerland. Knowing that it is difficult to bring this high standard to Nepal, we are very happy that our staff tries the best to fulfill our high expectations. And we are very proud that you very so happy with our service. We will forward your comment the whole team.

We are looking forward to have you back at Shambaling.
Kind regards and Tashi Delek
Dawa S. (Swissdawa)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#5 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,190 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#12 of 201 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#18 of 201 in Kathmandu
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,078 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#3 of 201 in Kathmandu
427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambaling Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambaling Boutique Hotel

Property: Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Address: Near the great Boudha Stupa | Boudha, Kathmandu 1001, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shambaling Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to one of the holiest Buddhist stupas and adjacent to a Buddhist monastery, Shambaling is nestled in the heart of Kathmandu’s Tibetan community in Boudhanath. A 10-minute walk from Boudhanath Stupa, through the narrow brick-paved lanes, Shambaling, meaning paradise garden, opens its door to the comforts of true Tibetan culture fused with high end Swiss hospitality. Spread in 35,000 square feet, your address will be a renovated early 70th Tibetan-style house. You have the luxury of choosing from the 28 meticulously designed suits deluxe and standard rooms based on the concept of Kalachakra. Shambaling exquisitely welcomes you to experience a true Tibetan home stay coupled with genuine Swiss hospitality. One of Boudha’s first guesthouses used by pilgrims from Tibet, the property dates back to early 1970's. Approximately 20 minutes from the international and domestic airport, the hotel is quietly tucked away from the busy streets and fairly close to the peaceful realms of Buddhist heritage sites. Two years in the making, the once old building now houses Shambaling, where old traditions meet modern amenities. While elegantly designed modern rooms and suites mirrors Tibetan aesthetics, every floor represents the Kalachakra elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. Each room’s ceiling colour complements the custom-made curtains and cushion covers. The exclusively imported linen adds novelty to your private space. Shambaling also opens up its lush green garden, perfect for an outdoor meeting or a relaxation under the Peepal tree while gazing at the colourful prayer flags. If you are in search of some soul-searching, the meditation room might come to your rescue. Rooms and SuitesWith meticulous design and an eagle-eye detail, each of the hotel’s four floors represents the elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. While white ceilings combined with white curtains and linen gives you the impression of being under a cloudy sky on the first floor, you transcend to the second floor to experience the warmth of red fire. As you climb further, the rooms welcome you with the exquisiteness of blue water on the third level and yellow hue representing earth on the fourth floor. You can choose between Shambaling standard rooms, the monastery-facing or the garden-facing deluxe rooms, or one of the exclusive suites, all equipped to ensure your comfort, luxury and privacy. All rooms while retaining a taste of authentic Tibetan aesthetic are equipped with modern facilities, including suave bathroom, spacious closet and a mini bar. Whether you are in the mood for fine dining or a casual lunch, Shambaling offers you appetizing delicacies for your gastronomic delight.The Lungta Restaurant is a multi-cuisine fine dining restaurant with a menu that caters eastern and western culinary. With an open-counter kitchen, wooden floor and fine cutlery, the restaurant gives you an invigorating dining experience. Shambaling also serves savories in its outdoor facility known as The Lingka, the Garden Restaurant. Overlooking the lush green garden space, you can dine beneath the prayer flags while gazing at the hotel’s magnificent Tibetan-style architecture. If you want to fulfill your dose of caffeine, our coffee machine La Cimbali serves the world-known Illy coffee. A wide selection of wines and single malt whiskey chosen by the owners awaits you at the Cave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shambaling Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing