We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant escape from the hustle an bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I only spent one night here but enjoyed my stay. Other TA posts have already talked about the staff- they were very helpful and welcoming. I arranged for an airport pick up that was a really good move. My room was spacious, quiet and well decorated in traditional nepali style. I enjoyed my vegetarian thali dinner and the breakfast the next morning.

it was great to be able to take the recommended walk (from my airport guide) to the Bouda stupa and enjoy the spectacle of the people who come to pray amid the tourists. i really felt likeI was part of the Nepalese culture rather than just a tourist.

being a bit out of the way meant a longer trip from the airport and into the centre, but the trade off was being really peaceful. The free wifi was a bit intermittent- no a big issue though.

Room Tip: i went for a deluxe room that overlooked the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coorong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you very much for writing your experience with us in your review. The entire Shambaling family work towards our goal to make every guest feel at home with high quality service. We are all very happy to learn that you felt it and enjoyed your stay with us.
As you have said, The stupa is very beautiful and peaceful. Boudhanath is very close by and we recommend all our guest to take a walk there. I am glad you could visit the stupa as well.

We look forward to have you back at Shambaling again.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed for two nights really good place. Convenient location. And the rooms are very bigh and clean. very comfortable beds.
Friendly staff. Nothing bad. Easy access to resturants and shops.
We enjoyed this great stay very much

Room Tip: Garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the wonderful review.
We look forward to have you back at Shambaling in future.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Shambaling in April for several days. The hotel was immaculately kept, as quiet as any in Kathmandu, had larger than average rooms, and was in a great neighborhood.

About the neighborhood: It is near the airport and within walking distance to a massive stupa that is surrounded by a number of restaurants, bars, and shopping. It is the Tibetan part of town, so it has a different vibe than other parts of the city. The hotel easily arranged taxis for us to get downtown, and once you know how to walk from the stupa it is easy to get home.

Food at the hotel: The food was really good, loved the momo, and we ate everything without having any problems. We enjoyed the beer also!

The hotel: The hotel is (as I understand it) a former guest house for Tibetan pilgrims. Anyhow, they have done a really nice job of modernizing the hotel, great showers with hot water, and have managed to keep some old world charm.

Sonam, his wife, and the hotel staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Thanks to the Shambaling for a great stay!!

- John and Kathleen

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear John,
Thank you for the wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have you Kathleen at Shambaling and to have met you both personally.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you and kathleen at Shambaling in future.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I have stayed there for three days last week. It is most peace place i ever stayed. Very lovey place, friendly staff. I have stayed there for three days last week. It is most peace place i ever stayed. Very lovely place, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krishna388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We can't understand all the hype in other reviews about this hotel. It is a hotel like many others - not more but more expensive! We stayed there for 2 nights in April and made a lot of negative experiences, so we would definitely not go there again.

We booked a deluxe room with garden view, fan etc. on one of the hotel reservation platforms. Yet upon arrival we were given a room facing the road and construction works at the building opposite. There was no fan which was very uncomfortable at outside temperatures of 25 to 30 degrees Celcius (by the way, there is no A/C in the whole building). The bathroom was very old, small and basic. The hot water supply didn't work, so after the long flight from Europe we had to take a "shower" with the help of a bucket of water. In the evening, we noticed that the hotel bill and credit card payment were not correct. VAT, service charge and credit card fee (total 26 %) were added to the price. We complained and after some discussion we were given the money back the following day, yet we felt definitely cheated.

Breakfast only starts at 7 which is too late for all travellers with flights to trekking destinations. After asking for an early breakfast we were promised to get one at 6:30, but the food was not ready which means we had to leave with a piece of melon and a slice of bread. Furthermore, the place is far away from the city center and none of our taxi drivers was abled to find it. We must clearly say that the price-value-relationship is rather poor in this hotel, compared to other nice hotels in kathmandu it is definitely overpriced. The staff seem to be rather unexperienced. There are many better options in town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Manny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

I apologize that you and your wife had some unpleasant experience in our Hotel.
It was a series of unfortunate incidents, regretfully, which doesn't happen on a regular basis.
I assure you that our goal is to satisfy our guest and we have had many guest leaving very happy and satisfied. However we would like to have each and every guest have the same amazing experience.
I hope that you will give us another chance to make it up to you and your wife and let you have an excellent experience with us.
Once again my sincere apology to both of you and your wife on behalf of my staff and the Hotel.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Just back from this hotel and can't speak highly enough about it.
We arrived at the airport and we had been advised off the Kathmandu forum to pick up a taxi from outside. We had a choice of two touting. One smelt strongly of alcohol so we gave him a miss and the other assured us he knew where the hotel was. He told porkies and went straight to Thamel.
He drove for much more than an hour and he had no credit on his phone to ring the hotel!
It was all quite horrendous and we kept saying that it was by the Stupa. After wishing we had not come as the airport road was being widened and it looked everywhere as though it was total devastation we finally found the hotel.
Absolutely lovely people welcomed us. Loved the atmosphere straight away. Loved the food and everything in the rooms and gardens had been chosen with good taste.
It is newly renovated and had the feel of a retreat. So happy next day to find a short walk round the back of the hotel and past interesting shops brought us to the Buddha. The hotel was so close that it was no trouble to return for lunch after the complimentary breakfast and then enjoy a relaxed dinner at night.
We booked a taxi from reception the next day to Thamel and had a good few hours round the town and then came upon the King's Palace which is a Heritage site. Amazing place.
Found the people very gentle natured and could not fault the short break as we felt recharged.
No TV made the time there peaceful and relaxing.
Thank you Sonam, your wife and all the staff for the personal touch.

Room Tip: As I had already seen on here it was advisable to request a garden room we did so and it was worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goatravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, Owner at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you for your wondeful review. It was a pleasure to have you at Shambaling and am very happy to have met you personally.

We work hard to give the best service to all our guest and make every guest feel at home. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Shambaling and you felt our service. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you at Shambaling in future.

Warm Regards,
Sonam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights during our stay in Nepal. We absolutely loved it, the service is amazing, they are such beautiful people. The rooms are beautiful and clean, the garden where we enjoyed breakfast in the morning is truly stunning, and the food is delicious. They will go out of their way to accomodate you. The hotel is so quiet, so if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Kathmandu - stay here (its only 4km from the centre of Kathmandu!). Honestly loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have you at Shambaling and I am very happy to know that you had a great experience here with us.
We always do our best to fulfill our guest request and make our guest feel at home. I am glag you felt it enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,256 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 209 in Kathmandu
579 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#42 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 209 in Kathmandu
408 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#9 of 209 in Kathmandu
698 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#22 of 209 in Kathmandu
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambaling Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambaling Boutique Hotel

Address: Near the great Boudha Stupa | Boudha, Kathmandu 1001, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £34 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shambaling Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to one of the holiest Buddhist stupas and adjacent to a Buddhist monastery, Shambaling is nestled in the heart of Kathmandu’s Tibetan community in Boudhanath. A 10-minute walk from Boudhanath Stupa, through the narrow brick-paved lanes, Shambaling, meaning paradise garden, opens its door to the comforts of true Tibetan culture fused with high end Swiss hospitality. Spread in 35,000 square feet, your address will be a renovated early 70th Tibetan-style house. You have the luxury of choosing from the 28 meticulously designed suits deluxe and standard rooms based on the concept of Kalachakra. Shambaling exquisitely welcomes you to experience a true Tibetan home stay coupled with genuine Swiss hospitality. One of Boudha’s first guesthouses used by pilgrims from Tibet, the property dates back to early 1970's. Approximately 20 minutes from the international and domestic airport, the hotel is quietly tucked away from the busy streets and fairly close to the peaceful realms of Buddhist heritage sites. Two years in the making, the once old building now houses Shambaling, where old traditions meet modern amenities. While elegantly designed modern rooms and suites mirrors Tibetan aesthetics, every floor represents the Kalachakra elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. Each room’s ceiling colour complements the custom-made curtains and cushion covers. The exclusively imported linen adds novelty to your private space. Shambaling also opens up its lush green garden, perfect for an outdoor meeting or a relaxation under the Peepal tree while gazing at the colourful prayer flags. If you are in search of some soul-searching, the meditation room might come to your rescue. Rooms and SuitesWith meticulous design and an eagle-eye detail, each of the hotel’s four floors represents the elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. While white ceilings combined with white curtains and linen gives you the impression of being under a cloudy sky on the first floor, you transcend to the second floor to experience the warmth of red fire. As you climb further, the rooms welcome you with the exquisiteness of blue water on the third level and yellow hue representing earth on the fourth floor. You can choose between Shambaling standard rooms, the monastery-facing or the garden-facing deluxe rooms, or one of the exclusive suites, all equipped to ensure your comfort, luxury and privacy. All rooms while retaining a taste of authentic Tibetan aesthetic are equipped with modern facilities, including suave bathroom, spacious closet and a mini bar. Whether you are in the mood for fine dining or a casual lunch, Shambaling offers you appetizing delicacies for your gastronomic delight.The Lungta Restaurant is a multi-cuisine fine dining restaurant with a menu that caters eastern and western culinary. With an open-counter kitchen, wooden floor and fine cutlery, the restaurant gives you an invigorating dining experience. Shambaling also serves savories in its outdoor facility known as The Lingka, the Garden Restaurant. Overlooking the lush green garden space, you can dine beneath the prayer flags while gazing at the hotel’s magnificent Tibetan-style architecture. If you want to fulfill your dose of caffeine, our coffee machine La Cimbali serves the world-known Illy coffee. A wide selection of wines and single malt whiskey chosen by the owners awaits you at the Cave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shambaling Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing