We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warmly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Shambaling hotel is an oasis in the busy, bustling, dusty city of Kathmandu!
The garden area is so lovely for recovering from a busy day out in the city. Delicious food in the restaurant - especially dinner !!!! Breakfast was a la carte and sometimes buffet. The rooms are amazingly well restored and decorated, each floor has another color in accordance with Tibetan philosophy. I can recommend the larger rooms facing the garden, with nice wooden floors, a small sitting area, desk and fridge and all the amenities you need. Only, there is no TV and no heating or a/c but you can have a heating blanket for the cold months. Only drawback for some of the guests was the quite slow internet connection, wifi is available in the lounge and reception area only.
The staff were great, very supporting reception team, very friendly and attentive restaurant staff. Thanks a lot to the manager who helped me out with a lot of recommendations what to do!!!! Overall a very peaceful friendly charming place where you can enjoy a bit of luxury.
It is located in a quite nicely relaxed neighbourhood in the Boudhanath area, walking distance to the temple. I really liked the surrounding as it was safe, peaceful and in the middle of everyday life. I was also happy to take a walk to Kopan monastery which is not too far. You can spare the hustle and bustle of Thamel area and for all the sights just catch a taxi. Also handy location for the airport!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank conny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

The entire Shambaling Family would like to thank you for taking your time to write your wonderful review. Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to have you at Shambaling.
Our aim is to maintain a high quality personalized service and make all our guest feel at home and we are all very happy to know that you felt the warmth and enjoyed your stay with us.
We take our guests words seriously and have now installed air conditioner with heating and cooling system in all our Garden facing deluxe rooms. I am very happy to let you know that we will soon be having a coffee bar in our garden so our guest could enjoy fresh coffee.
We look forward to welcome you again at Shambaling in future.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

this is a paradise near to boudha nath kathmandu...i loved this palce from every aspect...it is a true pleasure to be in shambaling...i was very happy to get helped by all the staff members....i liked the dog..gyalpo..i liked the garden..and most importantly i like the service...i will be back again...i swear i will be.....i will miss you all....thankyou for everything

Room Tip: i choosed the room facing to the garden area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goodbbboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you at Shambaling in future!

Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The hotel is a gem tucked away in Boda - very close to the Stupa. I have never met a more friendly and helpful staff as the people you will find at this place. Nicely decorated with a great restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lotsfuninperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your wonderful review. Thank you for staying with us. It was very nice to have you at Shambaling. Our aim is to maintain a high quality service and make every guest comfortable and feel at home during their stay with us. I am very happy to learn that you felt our hospitality.
We look forward to welcome you again at Shamabling.
Warm regard,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

I went by the reviews on the net while booking this hotel for four nights in Kathmandu. The small, compact hotel did not disappoint us. The entire hotel has a lovely fragrance. Our room was large, neat and very tastefully done up. The staff is warm and welcoming. The food served at their single restaurant is decent. When we did not like the food one day, the chef came personally to take our suggestions. The outdoor dining is lovely specially in good weather.

The biggest downside is the location. It is very far from the city and the access road is non exsistent. We had a hard time locating the hotel and trying to explain its location to the taxi drivers. The rooms also need fans and air conditioning. The staff is not used to handling a large group at the restaurant. Our group of 10 overwhelmed them!! A small pool would also be welcome. The hotel lacks any other amenities as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANJUGOELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Anju,
Thank you for staying with us. It was wonderful to have you all here at Shambaling. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have now installed Air conditioner with heating and cooling system in all our deluxe rooms so our guest can be more comfortable.
Shambaling is only 20 minutes drive to the city centre and is located just 7 Minutes walk away from the great UNESCO world heritage site - Boudhanath. Kathmandu is going under major road construction at the moment. We hope to have batter road soon in all over Kathmandu soon.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Shambaling.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

we had a very nice stay. they are very friendly, the restaurant is great and the building and garden is so nicely done. all interior is done very thoughtfully, with many references to Tibetan culture and Buddhism.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller_Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

The entire family of Shambling would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful experience at Shambaling during your stay with us. Our aim is give a high quality service and make all our guest feel at home, I am glad you felt it. We hope you welcome you again at Shambaling.

Warm Regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Great place to rest your head in busy Katmandu. We spent 2 nights here and we were very happy. The place is relatively new, we were told it had only been open for 6 months whilst we were there. The reception and the service throughout our stay was excellent, the staff were always helpful and friendly, whether it was to give directions or a friendly chat. The rooms were simple, clean and very comfortable. The hotel has bags of charm, was well decorated, in keeping with the character of the country.

On the downside, the food in the restaurant was average, the Wi-Fi reception pretty weak and only available in the lobby area (at time of writing). The rooms were cold at night, although electric blankets are provided. The communal spaces are limited, so if you want to hang with friends it’s either the pretty garden or the relatively small restaurant. And after sun down the hotel goes quiet, not too much to do in the evenings, but that's the same for much of Kathmandu.

Would I stay here again, absolutely, it's a lovely hotel. Well priced and good value for money. Once you get behind the metal entrance gates it's a real oasis in this busy city

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to write your review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We understand it was slightly cold in the rooms last winter, therefore we have installed air conditioner with heating and cooling system in all our Deluxe rooms. We are also working on high speed internet and should be done soon.
We look forward to welcome you again at Shambaling.

Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed at the Shambaling Hotel because of the good reviews from this forum and I was not disappointed. It suited my purpose, which was to see the Stupa and relax after trekking and a busy stay in Thamel it ticked all the boxes for me. The staff were exceptionally helpful and caring and I felt like I was staying in a big house. There is not much to see in Boudha besides the Stupa and Pashupatinath, but that was my intention. My room was clean quiet and comfortable. Wifi worked as much as I needed it to and the restaurent was superb, again service exceptional.
For me it was a perfect end to a perfect trip. The airport is only ten minutes or so and it is a calm way to leave the country after the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu proper.

Room Tip: Garden facing would be preferable. Make sure you go up to the rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katrinaj2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShambalingKTM, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Ms. Katrina,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and suited your purpose. Our aim is to make our guest feel at home and I am glad you fwlt the same.
It was our please to have you at Shambaling and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntosk Chodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,246 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
400 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#4 of 207 in Kathmandu
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
554 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#21 of 207 in Kathmandu
798 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#42 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambaling Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambaling Boutique Hotel

Address: Near the great Boudha Stupa | Boudha, Kathmandu 1001, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £36 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shambaling Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to one of the holiest Buddhist stupas and adjacent to a Buddhist monastery, Shambaling is nestled in the heart of Kathmandu’s Tibetan community in Boudhanath. A 10-minute walk from Boudhanath Stupa, through the narrow brick-paved lanes, Shambaling, meaning paradise garden, opens its door to the comforts of true Tibetan culture fused with high end Swiss hospitality. Spread in 35,000 square feet, your address will be a renovated early 70th Tibetan-style house. You have the luxury of choosing from the 28 meticulously designed suits deluxe and standard rooms based on the concept of Kalachakra. Shambaling exquisitely welcomes you to experience a true Tibetan home stay coupled with genuine Swiss hospitality. One of Boudha’s first guesthouses used by pilgrims from Tibet, the property dates back to early 1970's. Approximately 20 minutes from the international and domestic airport, the hotel is quietly tucked away from the busy streets and fairly close to the peaceful realms of Buddhist heritage sites. Two years in the making, the once old building now houses Shambaling, where old traditions meet modern amenities. While elegantly designed modern rooms and suites mirrors Tibetan aesthetics, every floor represents the Kalachakra elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. Each room’s ceiling colour complements the custom-made curtains and cushion covers. The exclusively imported linen adds novelty to your private space. Shambaling also opens up its lush green garden, perfect for an outdoor meeting or a relaxation under the Peepal tree while gazing at the colourful prayer flags. If you are in search of some soul-searching, the meditation room might come to your rescue. Rooms and SuitesWith meticulous design and an eagle-eye detail, each of the hotel’s four floors represents the elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. While white ceilings combined with white curtains and linen gives you the impression of being under a cloudy sky on the first floor, you transcend to the second floor to experience the warmth of red fire. As you climb further, the rooms welcome you with the exquisiteness of blue water on the third level and yellow hue representing earth on the fourth floor. You can choose between Shambaling standard rooms, the monastery-facing or the garden-facing deluxe rooms, or one of the exclusive suites, all equipped to ensure your comfort, luxury and privacy. All rooms while retaining a taste of authentic Tibetan aesthetic are equipped with modern facilities, including suave bathroom, spacious closet and a mini bar. Whether you are in the mood for fine dining or a casual lunch, Shambaling offers you appetizing delicacies for your gastronomic delight.The Lungta Restaurant is a multi-cuisine fine dining restaurant with a menu that caters eastern and western culinary. With an open-counter kitchen, wooden floor and fine cutlery, the restaurant gives you an invigorating dining experience. Shambaling also serves savories in its outdoor facility known as The Lingka, the Garden Restaurant. Overlooking the lush green garden space, you can dine beneath the prayer flags while gazing at the hotel’s magnificent Tibetan-style architecture. If you want to fulfill your dose of caffeine, our coffee machine La Cimbali serves the world-known Illy coffee. A wide selection of wines and single malt whiskey chosen by the owners awaits you at the Cave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shambaling Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing