We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, relaxing atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great staff, relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights after a trek. Really good welcome, staff excellent on front desk and everywhere else. Did not try the restaurant except for breakfast, but that was very good. Check out the cocktails! They do a mean Mojito. Good shower, lovely room. Great location for walking to Boudinath especially once you know the short cut! Two quibbles - the wifi was very slow even in reception and not available in room, packed breakfast snack box for early flight was disappointing. Very close to airport was a plus!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MattSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write you review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our guest rooms as well as our hotel location.

I regret that you were not satisfied with our packed breakfast service and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. I have already addressed our Production team in order that corrective action can be taken.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    65
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
125
99
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely welcome, beautiful rooms, wonderful sleep. A wonderful welcome to kathmandu. The staff were attentive. Great bath room. Hair dryer too! Nice soap. Restaurant was fine. Beautiful garden. Breakfast was plentiful. Great pick up service from airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen626_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Ms. Helen,
Thank you for taking time to share you experience at Shambaling. It was our pleasure to have you at Shambaling. Our aim is to provide a high quality service and make our guest feel at home during your stay with us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your you stay here.
We look forward to welcome you at Shambaling in future.
Warm Regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Its a elegant place with warm and friendly staff that is very attentive to your expectations and very diligent about you having a comfortable stay and a personalized experience. They have a great restaurant too. Among other foods, we thoroughly enjoyed the Gyakok and the Nepali Thali. They took care of our special timings for breakfast due to travel itinerary. They took care of our special request for a quieter room too. Thanks Tenzing, Nirmala and Ravi! We will definitely come back next time for another peaceful stay. The Boudha Stupa is at walking distance, which we thought was another plus.

One of the things that is beyond their control really is that the last mile access road is dusty and bumpy. I hope Kathmandu municipality improves that soon. Also, maybe its just us, but we felt the rates were a tad pricier.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAtul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Mr. Atul,
Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would personally like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience of your stay at Shambaling Boutique Hotel.

Our guests’ satisfaction is what motivates our team to keep on providing outstanding service and offering such personal attention to our guests. I will personally share your appraisal with my colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I only stayed at Shambaling for only one night, which was my last day and night of a month in Nepal. It was such a very pleasant surprise, and really the perfect end to my trip. This is a not an "in your face" kind of hotel, it is more of a subtle and understated buddhist elegance, if i can suggest such a thing, which for me was perfect. The feeling and ambience was calm and serene but with delightful little touches. One of those touches, was a Himalayan singing bowl in my room, which had a beautiful tone, and reverberated calmness throughout my room with each strike. A Himalayan singing bowl in my room is a first for me, and i'm quite a well travelled man.

I would like to leave my highest praise though for the staff at Shambaling Boutique Hotel. My every encounter with a member of staff a the hotel was warm, helpful, attentive, enthusiastic and with a feeling of genuine friendship. We live in a modern age of 'trained' customer service and smiles, which can often seem fake and efforted but not at Shambaling, i really felt a genuine interest to attend to me as a guest.

I have travelled many countries, for many years and stayed in hundreds of hotels. I have stayed in many many glamorous five star hotels but this is the first time that one left such an impression on me in one night. I can not rate this hotel highly enough. i did not want to leave this delightful place. Five stars from me!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cameronshaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Mr. Shaw,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share the experience of your stay at Shambaling Boutique Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments about service you received from our team as well as the interior of our guest rooms and especially the singing bowl.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

In my early 50s I have much travel experience from north/south America, Canada, most of Europe, west and north Africa, the India ocean, India and Nepal. This was my 9th visit to Nepal & the Shambaling is the best hotel I have stayed in. I stayed there for 10 nights, 3 before going to Bhutan and 7 after. All aspects of service were excellent with all levels of staff very helpful as well as professional and friendly. I had a recent shoulder injury prior to travel and the hotel arranged airport porterage for me on arrival / departure from Kathmandu airport as well as airport transfers in good quality vehicles with a high standard of driving. They obtained medication from a pharmacy for me as well as top ups for my mobile phone. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and everything was taken care of enabling me to totally relax and enjoy my time there. My room - the Chakra Suite - was beautiful with picturesque views of the peaceful garden which has prayer flags hanging from the trees & a Bhudda beside the lovely patio / outside eating area. My room was spacious and absolutely spotless with fresh flowers on the coffee table. I also had a minibar, flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bed was very comfortable with lovely bed linen. There was lashings of hot water for baths /showers and the hairdryer was useful. The hotel is a 10 minute interesting amble from the famous Bouddnath Stupa, thus benefiting from peace and quiet as Bouddanath itself is adorable, but it is not a quiet location. I love the Tibetan decor and traditions at the Shambaling such as the offering bowls in the garden filled with water and flowers every day. The waiter/ess and catering staff were endlessly patient with my regular challenging dietary requests. The food was delicious. The hotel Wifi was really useful for staying in touch with friends and family in Europe and Bhutan. The Shambaling is the first hotel outside Europe to be awarded with the SWISS-Q1 quality label. This is an excellent quality hotel to which I will definately return next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have you Shambaling.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would personally like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience of your stay at Shambaling. We appreciate your comment on our entire team and as well as the interior of the guest rooms and our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shambaling!

Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A friend and me stayed for two weeks. I can only repeat what 'Travelthewoldusa' said. Very charming, personal, everything is taken care of. Very nice room with very comfortable beds. We enjoyed every single day. We will definitely come back next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelgaM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments on our guest rooms and our hospitality.

It was our pleasure to have you at Shambaling once again.

We look forward to welcoming you at Shambaling in near future.

Warm regards,

Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Shambaling Hotel is a great place to stay, we stayed for 3N and the overall experience was good.
Good and clean rooms.
Staff are very helpful, polite & friendly.
Calm & peaceful ambiance.

The food is over priced in the hotel and also very less in variety.
Other than the above point (about food) we were happy that we choose to stay in Shambaling hotel.

Thank you .

Room Tip: Stayed in garden facing suite room, comfortable and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. The entire team is very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have also noticed that you had mentioned about limited variety on menu and food over priced.
I appreciate your feed back and we have now few addition on our menu which you can enjoy on your next visit. Our focus is on food quality and hygiene which may be the reason for being slightly higher price compared to local restaurants.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcome you at Shambaling in future!

Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,191 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#13 of 202 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 202 in Kathmandu
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,531 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,081 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 202 in Kathmandu
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambaling Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambaling Boutique Hotel

Property: Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Address: Near the great Boudha Stupa | Boudha, Kathmandu 1001, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shambaling Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to one of the holiest Buddhist stupas and adjacent to a Buddhist monastery, Shambaling is nestled in the heart of Kathmandu’s Tibetan community in Boudhanath. A 10-minute walk from Boudhanath Stupa, through the narrow brick-paved lanes, Shambaling, meaning paradise garden, opens its door to the comforts of true Tibetan culture fused with high end Swiss hospitality. Spread in 35,000 square feet, your address will be a renovated early 70th Tibetan-style house. You have the luxury of choosing from the 28 meticulously designed suits deluxe and standard rooms based on the concept of Kalachakra. Shambaling exquisitely welcomes you to experience a true Tibetan home stay coupled with genuine Swiss hospitality. One of Boudha’s first guesthouses used by pilgrims from Tibet, the property dates back to early 1970's. Approximately 20 minutes from the international and domestic airport, the hotel is quietly tucked away from the busy streets and fairly close to the peaceful realms of Buddhist heritage sites. Two years in the making, the once old building now houses Shambaling, where old traditions meet modern amenities. While elegantly designed modern rooms and suites mirrors Tibetan aesthetics, every floor represents the Kalachakra elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. Each room’s ceiling colour complements the custom-made curtains and cushion covers. The exclusively imported linen adds novelty to your private space. Shambaling also opens up its lush green garden, perfect for an outdoor meeting or a relaxation under the Peepal tree while gazing at the colourful prayer flags. If you are in search of some soul-searching, the meditation room might come to your rescue. Rooms and SuitesWith meticulous design and an eagle-eye detail, each of the hotel’s four floors represents the elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. While white ceilings combined with white curtains and linen gives you the impression of being under a cloudy sky on the first floor, you transcend to the second floor to experience the warmth of red fire. As you climb further, the rooms welcome you with the exquisiteness of blue water on the third level and yellow hue representing earth on the fourth floor. You can choose between Shambaling standard rooms, the monastery-facing or the garden-facing deluxe rooms, or one of the exclusive suites, all equipped to ensure your comfort, luxury and privacy. All rooms while retaining a taste of authentic Tibetan aesthetic are equipped with modern facilities, including suave bathroom, spacious closet and a mini bar. Whether you are in the mood for fine dining or a casual lunch, Shambaling offers you appetizing delicacies for your gastronomic delight.The Lungta Restaurant is a multi-cuisine fine dining restaurant with a menu that caters eastern and western culinary. With an open-counter kitchen, wooden floor and fine cutlery, the restaurant gives you an invigorating dining experience. Shambaling also serves savories in its outdoor facility known as The Lingka, the Garden Restaurant. Overlooking the lush green garden space, you can dine beneath the prayer flags while gazing at the hotel’s magnificent Tibetan-style architecture. If you want to fulfill your dose of caffeine, our coffee machine La Cimbali serves the world-known Illy coffee. A wide selection of wines and single malt whiskey chosen by the owners awaits you at the Cave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shambaling Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing