We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya Yoga
Ranked #65 of 438 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and great experience!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel, located near a variety shops and restaurants, was extremely welcoming with great service and accommodations. The rooms were comfortable and the meals were great! In the midst of the bustling Thamel district, the hotel was quiet and serene and offered a welcoming respite to travelers. As the name says, part of this hotel experience involves morning yoga, which was also very fun and a great way to begin to appreciate and participate in Nepali culture. Over all, I highly recommend this hotel and I would love to stay there again some day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
10
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hotel Himalaya Yoga is right in the middle of a great shopping in Kathmandu. The hotel is hidden in the back of a street making the area quieter and more peaceful. When you first walk in, there is a large quart yard where colorful flags are are hung.
The rooms are very clean and have a lot of space. The beds are comfortable with very soft blankets! However the rooms do not have their own bathrooms (only one room per floor has its own private bathroom) but there is one on each floor. Even though the bathrooms are shared they are very clean and private for self use. There is a sink in and out of the bathroom so if the toilet is occupied there is a sink for use.
Even though I only ate breakfast at Hotel Himalaya Yoga it was absolutely delicious. The staff is constantly asking if you need anything and are very kind. I highly recommend Hotel Himalaya Yoga.

Room Tip: try to ask for the room with the private if you are not comfortable sharing the public bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jokiya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I loved staying at this hotel! It was just perfect for getting a genuine feel of Kathmandu. The whole staff was extremely nice and friendly and the food was fantastic!! I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynngrdnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The staff is very friendly and can speak english which is always a plus when traveling. The rooms are clean and there is hot water - which in Nepal can be hard to find at times. It is also not directly on the main street so there isn't as much sound pollution which I was a huge fan of. But it is in the heart of Thamel so anything you want is right down the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irvinel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I loved staying at Hotel Himalaya Yoga. It was in the middle of Thamel, with tons of shopping and food all around. The staff was SO kind and helpful. They helped us book trips and transportation. Their pricing is affordable and their accommodations great. I was with a group of people and everyone agreed that they would definitely use Himalaya Yoga again the next time they are in Kathmandu. Definitely a great place to stay!

Room Tip: There are rooms of every kind---just tell them what kind of accommodations you're looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The staff at Himalaya Yoga are really friendly and great to talk with. Great budget hotel for someone looking to spend their money are better things than lodging like trekking or other sweet experiences

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I've stayed here twice now and just love it more each time. It has the best location I could ask for and the people are so friendly. From the roof top overlooking the city to the rooms I always feel at home. It's in a great spot within the heart of Thamel and everything is easily accessed by walking. The management is very hospitable and just looking to serve you well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vnbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Access Nepal
Hotel Access Nepal
#41 of 201 in Kathmandu
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Api
Hotel Api
#102 of 201 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
327 Thamel Hotel
327 Thamel Hotel
#27 of 438 in Kathmandu
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highlander Inn
Highlander Inn
#35 of 438 in Kathmandu
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nepal Apartment
Nepal Apartment
#79 of 438 in Kathmandu
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya Yoga

Property: Hotel Himalaya Yoga
Address: Chaksibari Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Himalaya Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Himalaya Yoga is located in the central Thamel and next to Kathmandu Guest House. It has its distinct features as it is an isolated and in a quiet place despite being in crowded Thamel. Whether it is your first visit to Himalayan country of Nepal or you have been many times, we will take every possible care to make your inner as well as outer journey as joyful as possible. We offer a variety of attractive and reasonably priced accommodations from private budget rooms for backpackers and, to apartment type rooms with cold and hot shower, fan and cable TV. Internet access, banking, eating, shopping and nightlife are all accessible within easy reach on foot in a minute. Additionally, we are also specialized in trekking, tour, booking flight tickets, bus tickets all over Nepal and would be a pleasure to help our clients to book anything and everything regarding the travel arrangements. The property was once a Buddhist meditation centre for a long time under the supervision of the Kopan Monastery before taking over by the management of Acme Guest House. The hotel offers a wide range of services, facilities as well as free yoga courses for long term or short term staying guests visiting Nepal for business, pleasure, adventure & meditation trips. Our main goal is to combine our best hospitality service with the well being of your health through Yoga after a tiresome journey. Our main goal is to develop and promote Yoga tourism in the Himalayan country of Nepal. We run the free Yoga class every morning from Sunday to Friday which is probably new for tourists and first hotel of its kind to operate yoga. Yoga has been so popular these days among the people of the world and we have a team of people expertise in yoga that can cure any disease which wouldn’t be possible from medical treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Himalaya Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing