We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Shree Lal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shree Lal Inn
Ranked #159 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have stayed here three times during our stay in Nepal. The rooms are plain and simple, but fine. There are rarely windows in the double rooms on the first floor, so with all the powercuts in Kathmandu it's quite dark 24h in the room. There is only one lightbulb which is not so bright.
The staff is very helpfull and friendly, unfortunately we had some issues with buses/seats and accomodations etc. we booked through shree lal inn, so better try to book those elsewhere (unless its improved by now)

The pure vegetarian restaurant serves some really good dishes for a fair price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are very dark, try to get a room on another floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevandijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    16
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
19
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very helpful and friendly Hosts. Sabrina organized a great trip for us up to the Langtang valley. We stayed around 10 days at the Sree Lal Inn and enjoyed the great veg-kitchen (i am no vegetarian, but it was very tasty).
Rooms very basic but clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wintifix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Sabina was able to organize all our day tours including our 4 day Ghorepani-Poon Hill trek for a great price. Really enjoyed staying here, location and attached restaurant are great! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceangelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very handy and central location in Thamel. Friendly owners and outstanding Indian food. You'll have to try the Masala Dosa for breakfast.
Our twin room with ensuite was okay - nothing flash - a bit smelly.
For the price you probably can't expect a lot better than that in Kathmandu.
We'd stay there again for the warm vibe and the food.

Room Tip: Kathmandu is noisy. Our room faced a courtyard, but we still could hear the noises out of the lane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in total about 8 days at the Shree Lal Inn. This place has a very central location on one of the main tourist streets in Kathmandu. Rooms are located at the back, so you don't have any disturbance of noise. The rooms are fine, although a bit small. There is hot water, but this is not always reliable. What makes this place different from others is the very good attached (vegetarian only) restaurant and the very friendly and helpfull staff. Prices are also pretty low.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marloes1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Friendly,centraly located
I am staying heir for the second time,the staff is so nice ,the owners will to anything you ask for
The price is reasenapple .I asked for a TV ,no proplem ,NO extra charge.They stored my extra bag when I went trekking,"no charge" taxi to the airport very reasenapple I came back early and desited to stay the rest of my trip {more then 2 weeks} It is centrally located and many trips can be made by bus easally,Bhaktapur tomorrow only 30 rupee with the owners help and advise
I see many locals in the vegetarian restaurand ,must be GOOD and it is reasenapple
I will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, our decision was based around it being in a good location in the town centre and there is a vegetarian restaurant downstairs which is open morning til night. The food is excellent, they also do good lemon teas and lassies. The only thing we didnt really enjoy was the coffee but I think you have to look pretty hard to find good coffee in Nepal, perhaps we have been spoiled by our recent visit to Vietnam.

The rooms were of a reasonable size, there was a private bathroom with a toilet that flushed (sort of) and a shower that gave warm water in the afternoons but no other time. There is free wifi which will work well enough to help you stay in touch with friends and plan your next steps but dont count on it to stream tv or anything.

The bed was hard, but in a good way, it did wonders for my back since I had been sleeping on beds that were far to soft in Thailand and it was ruining my posture.

Once again, staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a few nights stay and wanting some good vegetarian food without having to search to find it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slatedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nepal Tara
Hotel Nepal Tara
#126 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#9 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#23 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shree Lal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Lal Inn

Property: Shree Lal Inn
Address: House No 334, Chibahal, Near Nursingh Chowk, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shree Lal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shree Lal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing