We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel away from city buzz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #69 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel away from city buzz”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

The location of the hotel is excellent as it is away from the busy and dusty roads of KTM. Stayed 3 nights. Amenities are basic but no complaints. On one night water supply to shower was intermiddent but other nights were fine. The only issue is there were dogs playing in front of the hotel (my room was facing a residential area) in the middle of the night and their barking kept me and companion awake for 1 hr at 3am. Staff was friendly and helpful. We tipped staff who helped us with our luggages.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    100
    54
    22
    13
See reviews for
53
62
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
277 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

This is a quality hotel in Kathmandu. The rooms are large and clean, the toilet sparkling and room service above par. Location of the hotel is not too good but once inside you will not want to go out. I stayed there for three days cause my flight got cancelled cause of flash strike in the city. The staff were very friendly and helpful through out. No complaints !!!

Room Tip: The north facing rooms are preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

What the hotel lacks in looks makes up with their good service... check-in was speedy and bell boys were quick to deliver our bags the rooms. Our rooms were clean (some tiles were loose / dirty) but overall it's not too bad for an overnight stay. No free WIFI (Rps 650 for 24-hour usage). There are some boutiques and shops inside the hotel's compound but if you're willing to venture outside there are plenty more within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lush018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aboyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Three midwives from the UK were posted to Kathmandu to start a midwifery twinning project. We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The food was great both at breakfast and in the restaurant on the 8th floor. The pool was clean and pleasant though not open in the early morning or evening. The house keeping staff were brilliant. We stayed for two weeks and came to think of the hotel as "home" after a hard day of work.

Room Tip: Good views from the higher floors. The waterfall is noisy as is the a/c at the back of the hotel. Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonquil n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Had a two week stay at the Grand Hotel so got to know it well. The staff were very friendly and courteous, the rooms cleaned every day. The breakfasts were wonderful and varied. Used the pool, which was clean and supervised well. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We got advice with travelling and maps. As a volunteer in the country and my first trip to Nepal I was delighted with this hotel and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I thought the generator noise would irritate me and it did for a couple of nights but became used to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcabrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel is a very good 3 star and probably Nepal 4 stars.

The horrible and negative comments on this hotel were unfounded. My room was clean and cleaned every day. The room service was very good and the food was very good also, except the breakfast which was poor.

The personal always friendly and smiling.

In addition the hotel has a big advantage, it is outside the cntre Kathmandu and the night is very quiet. It's a real luxury when we know that the noise and chaos of the city. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylmioki_2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

grand hotel is verrrrrrrrrrry beautiful and every thing is best all the rooms are well decorated food quality is very good hotel staff very cooperative swimming pool is very clean nice garden and local shopping area is near by grand hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PANKAJ GUPTA ADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.7 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platinum Hotel & Spa
Platinum Hotel & Spa
#77 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#102 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#70 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Red Cross Marg | Kalimati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Kathmandu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel, Kathmandu is a 4-star hotel in Nepal strategically located in the heart of the city's dynamic business, cultural and entertainment hubs. Some of the major landmarks of the city are located within accessible distance from the hotel which include the Swoyambhunath (Monkey Temple), National Museum and the Seto Gumba (White Monastery) . Other attractions near the hotel include Casino Mahjong, United World Trade Centre and Bluebird Mall. Grand Hotel is accredited as the tallest hotel in Nepal. The furnishings are stylish and contemporary and the hotel provides all modern facilities including wifi access through out the hotel and 24 hour cctv surveillance . Other facilities include an all day dining Coffee shop "Rendezvous" serving International Cuisine; "Maharaja" Restaurant (Fine Dining) serving Mughlai cuisine accompanied by live singing (Ghazal); 24 hour in room dining and finally a beauty parlour and a Spa which offer a range of Himalayan treatments according to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Fastbooking, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing