We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel ,service needs improving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #69 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice hotel ,service needs improving”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

neat clean place , laundry service was not good, lights went out every 10 /20 min (common problem with small hotels )should not be for a big hotel like this. food was delayed even though it was good when it did arrive.

Room Tip: breakfast was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavi124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek G, Owner at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Firstly, I would like to apologize that you had to face the power fluctuations for a little while however I would like to inform you that we were performing scheduled maintenance of our big generator, which is why our smaller generator was turned on. Secondly, I will personally look into the laundry and service issues make sure such instances do not recur. We are glad that you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay here at Grand. Our whole team looks forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Thank you for your valuable Feedback.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    101
    54
    22
    13
See reviews for
53
63
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

on my official visit to kathmandu,hotel experience was gr8,hotel staff as well as food was perfect,i stayed there for 2 nights ,room was spacious and clean ,i think staying in grand (kathmandu) is a good choice .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumit464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek G, Owner at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Our team here at Grand strives to look after each and every need of our valuable guests and as you mentioned you were on an official trip makes us happier that you enjoyed the whole hotel experience, whilst doing your work, without having to face any problems. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Writing this review just to thanks the staff for being so courteous .
Rooms were spacious and bathrooms were clean. Food was really nice especially the dinner we had in the restaurant which is on the top floor .Recommend every one to just visit the restaurant once even if they don't want to have dinner there.Live Ghazals just added the fizz in the mugs of our beer.
To sum up a real value for money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank abhi2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek G, Owner at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. More over we are pleased that you enjoyed your complete stay here at Grand. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Its a average hotel. In India rooms of a normal lodge are better than this. In my room AC was not working, Charging point was not working and above all the TV was also not working properly. I will not advice to stay in this hotel. Just because my hotel was booked, I use to go there only to sleep. Else its a very poor hotel. In this era, they are charging Rs.500 per day for the Internet. In many coffee shop and malls in kathmandu, internet is available for free and this hotel is charging so high for the internet. Not at all VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek G, Owner at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We feel terrible that you felt this way about your stay here at Grand, however as our staff had pointed out the fact that our hotel has a central air-conditioning system which means that during winter season the hotel has heating turned on and therefore cooling cannot be turned on.

Regarding your issue with the TV, we are sorry that you had to check in into a room where the TV was not working properly, however as soon as our staff were informed the problem was looked into and fixed.

Finally regarding your comment on the Wi-Fi, I will personally look into what can be done on this matter and will try to make it as convenient for our guests as possible.

Thank you for your comments, as we will make sure such occurrences do not repeat in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I was ona first visit to Nepal and stayed at grand hotel for 2 nights. One of the best time I ever had.. everything was perfect and well handled right from airport pickup to drop. Room was spacious , comfortable and wifi was fast. Food was good . Front office manager shashi was courteous and helpful. Overall very very nice feeling. Very close to everything. Though everyone said Thamel is the place of action , it is better to stay here in a peaceful atmosphere and visit thamel when u want as it is close by. All staff are well trained and well behaved. I would be happy to recommend this place to every one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kunavakkom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek G, Owner at Grand Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at Grand. We hope to serve you again, hopefully in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Hotel Grand it ain't. It looks superficially impressive, but it disappoints on almost every level. I'm writing this review from the lobby (because the internet doesn't work in the rooms) and it's a very chilly evening. So why is the lobby freezing cold? Because it's not heated and no one bothers to keep the doors closed. The rooms look OK, and the bed seems to be the most comfortable I've struck in India and Nepal in weeks, but the heating only works when your key is in the slot, and it takes ages to warm up. If there is a next time in Kathmandu, it won't be here. It's also on the wrong side of the city for the airport, which is a consideration I hadn't thought of when booking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agartala, Tripura
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed there recently with family. Good location, great food, bargain shops in the street outside. Above all, all the staff found extremely helpful during the stay and even after checking out. Left my mobile phone in the room while checking out, they have promptly sent it back to me by courier.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdsroyagartala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.7 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platinum Hotel & Spa
Platinum Hotel & Spa
#75 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#108 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#73 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Red Cross Marg | Kalimati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Kathmandu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel, Kathmandu is a 4-star hotel in Nepal strategically located in the heart of the city's dynamic business, cultural and entertainment hubs. Some of the major landmarks of the city are located within accessible distance from the hotel which include the Swoyambhunath (Monkey Temple), National Museum and the Seto Gumba (White Monastery) . Other attractions near the hotel include Casino Mahjong, United World Trade Centre and Bluebird Mall. Grand Hotel is accredited as the tallest hotel in Nepal. The furnishings are stylish and contemporary and the hotel provides all modern facilities including wifi access through out the hotel and 24 hour cctv surveillance . Other facilities include an all day dining Coffee shop "Rendezvous" serving International Cuisine; "Maharaja" Restaurant (Fine Dining) serving Mughlai cuisine accompanied by live singing (Ghazal); 24 hour in room dining and finally a beauty parlour and a Spa which offer a range of Himalayan treatments according to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing