We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really like staying in a friend's home”
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #3 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really like staying in a friend's home”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very clean, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. The hotel is well located next to the shopping street and restaurants. It was a great start to our trip. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoweskierVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We are learning and trying to do our best for all our clients. We will always do our best to make peaceful and comfortable stay of all our clients. Once again thank you so much for stayed with us. We hope to welcome you again.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    154
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
121
339
252
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, based on the reviews on trip adviser.
Check in was easy, accompanied with a complimentay cold juice.
Our room was spotless. We had a very comfortable bed with thick pillows and a duvet (rather than the standard sheet and blanket we found in other Nepal hotels), which was very welcome in the cold nights. The sheets were clean with no stains. We had a wet room with a western shower and plenty of hot water at any time of the day.
There was complimentary bottled water in our room every day and free tea and coffee in the restaurant/lobby whenever we wanted it. Free wifi worked in our room too. The tv in the room had HBO as well as BBC world news and a few English speaking movie channels.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and consisted of croissant, toast, pancakes, cereal and fruit among others. You could also get eggs any way you wanted.
Staff were helpful and friendly and never expected a tip. There is a jar at reception for tips if you wish.
We were allowed to keep our baggage at reception after we checked out as our flight wasnt until midnight. The manager offered use of a room for a shower before we left for the airport if we needed it.
The hotel is pretty much centrally located for Thamel, but in a quiet street away from the noise.
The only thing i will say is the noise from reception and the restaurant was quite loud in our room as we were on the first floor. But this never went on late so wasnt too bad.
In all, a great place to stay in Kathmandu, this hotel is fantastic for the price and location, without compromising on service or cleanliness. Stay here if you are on a budget and want clean, comfortable and friendly accommodation.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pinnie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We are learning and trying to do our best for all our clients. We will always do our best to make peaceful and comfortable stay of all our clients. Once again thank you so much for stayed with us. We hope to welcome you again.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

After 2 weeks of trekking style accomodations, hotel friend's home was a welcome change. Clean room, hallways & common areas. Lots of light in the room. Attentive staff. So comfortable, that I spent a few hours in the room just catching up on email & news. Convenient location about 2 blocks from one of the main streets in Thamel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We are learning and trying to do our best for all our clients. We will always do our best to make peaceful and comfortable stay of all our clients. Once again thank you so much for stayed with us. We hope to welcome you again.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel is in thamel, nr market place. Neat and tidy rooms. The best part is service they provide.
Staff is very friendly and they do everything possible to make ur stay comfortable. Cook tried his best to serve us best indian cuisine. The best hotel with best staff. We have baby with us and they boiled milk for her at any time we asked. Thankyou and keep it up!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashag28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We are learning and trying to do our best for all our clients. We will always do our best to make peaceful and comfortable stay of all our clients. Once again thank you so much for stayed with us. We hope to welcome you again.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in Hotel Friends Home before and after our trek to Manaslu

It was a pleasure coming back from the mountains to a such a clean hotel. The staff and the manager are very helpful and assisted in all our questions about Kathmandu and beyond.

The restaurant has great Indian/Nepali style food - try it.

"Friends Home" is our base-camp in Nepal when we will come back for another visit to Nepal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We are learning and trying to do our best for all our clients. We will always do our best to make peaceful and comfortable stay of all our clients. Once again thank you so much for stayed with us. We hope to welcome you again.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvard, Ma.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and comfortable. The manager Bramod and his staff take excellent care of all guests. The location is perfect . The breakfast is delicious .
Thank you for taking such wonderful care of my daughter Rebecca and I.
Cheryl Fedele

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We are learning and trying to do our best for all our clients. We will always do our best to make peaceful and comfortable stay of all our clients. Once again thank you so much for stayed with us. We hope to welcome you again.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracebridge
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The staff here are so welcoming. The service is excellent. The location is very central. The staff recommended some local dishes in their restaurant that were great! The common area downstairs is a great place to strike up an interesting conversation with travellers from all over. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Kimberly Catherine
Thank you for your great review of Friends home. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients’ pleasant stay in Friends home. Our major goal is to be a truly Friends home in Nepal for that we will always try our best. We hope to welcome you again. Prabha and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 202 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 202 in Kathmandu
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 202 in Kathmandu
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 202 in Kathmandu
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kathmandu
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#6 of 202 in Kathmandu
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Property: Hotel Friends Home
Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing