We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!”
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #3 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel 3 different times during our recent trip to Nepal - used it as a base between the EBC trek, then Bhutan. I cannot say enough good things about it. From the moment we entered, I knew I had found a gem and was so glad that I had booked our future stays here also (through Agoda). The rooms were clean - not even dust under the bed, good bedding - we like the firm beds - , always had hot water and the a/c worked well! The staff were very friendly and personable without being intrusive. We stored our bags free the two times we were away and had no problems.We enjoyed the breakfast - made to order - and also ate in the dining room several times in the evening. The food was hot and freshly prepared - something we are pretty fussy about.
We later found out that the owner secured us a rescue helicopter flight to Lukla as our flights had been cancelled three days in a row, working with our trekking guide - and no extra charge!
The hotel is in a good location - just off a main Thamel street, yet a bit more quiet. It took us anywhere from 15 -30 minutes to the airport, depending on traffic.
I would highly recommend this hotel!
I would h

Room Tip: The higher rooms are a bit quieter, but wifi access is better on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear valuable clients.
Thank you very much for your great review. It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    155
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
121
345
255
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
586 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very nice small hotel in a relatively quiet side street. Everyone says Thamei is busy and noisy but not really so at this hotel. Only light traffic passes as it is 100 metres off a busier street with shops and restaurants so remains quieter. Rooms are exactly what you expect in this price range being reasonable size and furnished, but most importantly clean. Breakfast is provided and is buffet with service for eggs. And the service at breakfast is excellent, really helpful people, as they were at reception also. The reception area and breakfast room are both small but adequate for people to meet each other in readiness for their days adventures. We didn’t eat in the evening here preferring to venture out into the busier locality but they do do evening food. A comfortable place for a couple of days stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear valuable clients.
Thank you very much for your great review. It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We just stayed at Hotel Friends Home this week! Wow, did we experience something very different from the reviews below:

Good:
-- Location -- right in Thamel
-- Rate -- very cheap
-- Clean Hallways -- nice marble stairwells

Bad:
Noise + Light = No Sleep
Tout like mentality the minute you check in -- sure they can help you and will get a cut along the way
Hot water -- took about 20 minutes to find its way to our showerhead
Power outages -- and guess what? No back up generator when we were there

Ugly:
Wet towels -- try drying yourself with a very damp bath towel -- obviously they don't own a dryer and request that towels not be changed during your stay
Beds and pillows -- we think prisoners sleep better; hard as a rock matresses, cheap foam pillows
Air quality -- motorcycle fumes from the street invade the hall, and eventually make periodic appearances in your room

There is no way this is Kathmandu's #1 property as we left and found better arrangements. Do not bother with this place -- unless you don't mind never getting a wink of sleep!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank World_Hiker_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear valuable guest

Thank you very much for your review. We really surprise to see your review. We felt very sorry for you, we really apologies for the bad stay with Friends home. We will be very thankful to you if you could let us know when did you stay with us, it would had been great if you had mention all those point before left our hotel, which helped to improve our service. We would had chance to improve those all at that time. Every human make mistake, realization and improvement and provide clients comfortable stay is our aim. We already did our team meeting and took all the matter very very seriously we assure all our upcoming clients that such a mistake will not happen again.

Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Very clean hotel, with comfortable beds, quiet air conditioning and modern flush toilets. The breakfast is a buffet style with choose of eggs, fruit, cereals and breads. Pleasant staff and a good location in Thamel. Close to the Garden of Dreams and a 15- 20 minute walk to Durbar square. Highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear valuable clients.
Thank you very much for your great review. It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel friends home is a very decent and nice place to stay. We went during the month of may (monsoons) and usually came back soaking wet but the management was very understanding considering we were running th floors. They assisted us with routes, directions and also have a travel desk to arrange for cabs.

The breakfast is just about right with nothing fancy or too much. Unlike other hotels who refuse to serve the complimentary breakfast after the cut off time, the restaurant patiently waited for us to have breakfast and reheated food whenever required.

Since it is located at the heart of the tourist hub, it is really convenient to access the other parts of the town and the traveling time is minimal that one always has an option to take a stroll.

Hotel friends home is not a destination hotel but it is definitely a lovely, friendly, clean and comfortable stay for travelers.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank s_bubblez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear valuable clients.
Thank you very much for your great review. It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

it was my second stay at this hotel, my big pleasure is all staffs reminds me!
i stayed this hotel alone last time, i liked this hotel all facilities very much, i took my mother to this hotel this time.
she can't understand English though, she says all staff's smile and clean room were "simply amazing".
Plenty of hot shower and clean room can not be possible in this price range in Thamel.
You dont need to browse other hotel to compare, this is the best of the BEST !

P.S. thank you very much to Rajendra and Prabha and All staffs, my mother says " Hotel Friends Home and Nagarkot will be the most sweet memory in my life! "
i will be back to Nepal next spring, see you soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldschooltechno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear valuable clients.
Thank you very much for your great review. It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for all our clients. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Before I get into my review we stayed here one night as this was the conclusion of a trek and a month long journey through India and Nepal.

From the minute my wife and I walked into this hotel we were greeted by a wonderful staff of smiling helpful people who immediately offered us complimentary coffee and tea. We were offered a seat in their comfortable lobby to take a minute to relax while they took care of check-in which was truly appreciated after the Lukla flight back from a trek.

We instantly felt relaxed and calmed which is something that we had not experienced in a whirlwind month we had just finished. We were explained everything we needed to know about the hotel (times of breakfast, complimentary coffee, tea and water, rooftop lounge, etc.)

Our room as well as the rest of the hotel was spotless which is a rarity especially in this corner of the world. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water.

We then tried the restaurant which is fantastic! The food is extremely reasonably priced and is down right delicious, so much so we ended up eating there every meal here on this last day and next departure day (four in total).

We checked out the next day at noon and were still welcomed to the hotel to relax after a bit of shopping. The rooftop is a great place to relax away from the chaos of city streets. In the evening we were offered a room to shower and get our bags organized despite having checked out already.

Thank you to the great staff at your hotel for making this a perfect end to our vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Wpg_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear valuable guest.
It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We are learning and trying to do our best for all our clients. We will always do our best to make peaceful and comfortable stay of all our clients. Once again thank you so much for stayed with us. We hope to welcome you again.
Prabha and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 203 in Kathmandu
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 203 in Kathmandu
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 203 in Kathmandu
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 203 in Kathmandu
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#36 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Property: Hotel Friends Home
Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing