We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its really awesome”
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #5 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its really awesome”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Price is really cheap, quality is really high.
Service is like close friends. I think its the best option to stay in Kathmandu. One day I became sick they bought medicines, first aids to me and didn't even charged me. They called the doctor also over the phone and helped me a lot. They also suggested how to go, where to go, what is cheap, what is worth, even they taught me how to bergain with the local sellers. Their breakfast is nice, and yes its buffet. Internet facility is good. Room is spacious and heater is working well. They turns their electricity on all day and night. Where others don't do this. Airport drop and pickup I got free. Its better to book them by mail instead of using booking.com or other booking sites. Then you can get better price. Wish them good luck.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed Rakib U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear valuable guest
Thank you for your great review of Friends home. It was our great pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We hope to welcome you again and we will always do our best for all our clients and mainly we will always try to be a real friends home in Kathmandu.
Once again thank you for your review.
Rajendra , Pramod, Prabha and team of Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    153
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
121
339
249
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My friend and I had an excellent stay at this hotel. Despite the limitations of an electricity shortage for 12 hours everyday in Kathmandu, it was much appreciated that the hotel attempted to provide power for us whenever they could. The hotel was also clean, which was important for us. The hotel's location in the heart of Thamel ensured that amenities and a few attractions (like the Royal Palace) were only a short walk from our hotel. Thanks for having us, Hotel Friends Home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexliam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear valuable clients
Thank you so much for your great review of Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best for all the clients stay memorable and enjoyable in Friends home. we heartily like to thank you once again for staying with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is very convenient, it is situated in the heart of Thamel where we can easily visit the major attractions such as the Monkey Temple. The staff here are very friendly and generous; they are willing to help make us feel home.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sattawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear valuable clients
Thank you so much for your great review of Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best for all the clients stay memorable and enjoyable in Friends home. we heartily like to thank you once again for staying with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Me and my had an excellent stay at this hotel ,beginning with a warm and friendly smile and a quick check in. The bell boys were friendly which aptly fits in the name Friends Home and the atmosphere in the hotel was always a friendly approach. The hotel is clean and the staff very accommodating. Situated near to all the heritage sites and truly a shopping arena just within walking distance..Food wise, breakfast is a healthy spread and all meals priced reasonably and freshly cooked. iI would not shy away from recommending this place , a place we can call home , when we are away from home .

Room Tip: east and north side room with two window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theflyinggill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear valuable clients
Thank you so much for your great review of Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best for all the clients stay memorable and enjoyable in Friends home. we heartily like to thank you once again for staying with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Travellers, stop your search. I am hard pressed to recount a level of service and friendliness at any other location. Clean rooms, superb staff, ask for Pramod (manager) and he will get everything tailor made and organised to your budget, time and interests.

I will certainly be back and give a strong recommendations to family and friends.

Room Tip: 2nd floor - 202 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raviselvan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear valuable clients
Thank you so much for your great review of Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best for all the clients stay memorable and enjoyable in Friends home. we heartily like to thank you once again for staying with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Kilda, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Friends' Home for our Christmas getaway in Katmandu. The staff were so kind, warm and accommodating, and I can't say enough good things about our time here. This may sound silly but I loved the breakfast potatoes so much I couldn't stop going back for more.... five mornings in a row! We have already booked a room to stay here again next year when we are passing through Katmandu again. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Kantipur Temple House
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear valuable clients
Thank you so much for your great review of Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best for all the clients stay memorable and enjoyable in Friends home. we heartily like to thank you once again for staying with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

To start off with, the hotel provide free pick up service from airport. Request for it before you arrive.
Hotel is quite new. Rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. Service is excellent.
Breakfast is free and the same for all the 4 nights of my stay. Simple yet sufficient. Can request for omelette, half boiled egg or fried egg. For the morning we left to Nagarkot for sunrise in the morning at 4.30am, they packed breakfast box. In the box, there were bread and cheese, banana, juice and a hard boiled egg.
Coffee, masala tea, black tea, water, juice are all free at any time of the day of night. If you request for delivery to your room, they will still do it and the drinks are still free.
The food in the restaurant is very yummy and cheap, compared to the rooftop restaurants we dined at the Durbar Squares. 3 meals in the hotel restaurant is as much as 1 meal on the rooftop of the square! Provide more time for preparation.
They also assist in providing car/driver (don't attempt to drive on your own in Kathmandu) and guide at reasonable price. USD60 for a mini van and USD35 for the guide per day. There were 6 of us, so we took a bigger van USD90/day. We rejected 3 vans (very old) and the tour manager was patient with us and kept trying his best to get us the van that we are satisfied with.
The hotel manager is ever so efficient. I told him I am used to shower gel, not the soap bar that is provided and must use conditioner after shampooing my hair. He immediately went out and bought shampoo, conditioner and shower gel for me. I am truly impressed with the service that the hotel provides.
The hotel has its own generator. Power for adaptors are sometimes cut off intermittently but no big deal, it will just pop back in a matter of seconds or a minute. The hot shower is working perfectly well.
The TV is a bit small but the channels variety is big. Be it Sports, News, Movies, Educational, Cartoon or TV Series channels, they have all it all.
For the budget price of around USD40 to USD55/room night, I highly recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jentmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear valuable clients
Thank you so much for your great review of Friends home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will be trying our best for all the clients stay memorable and enjoyable in Friends home. we heartily like to thank you once again for staying with us. We hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Prabha, Pramod and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 201 in Kathmandu
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 201 in Kathmandu
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#3 of 201 in Kathmandu
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 201 in Kathmandu
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kathmandu
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#4 of 201 in Kathmandu
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Property: Hotel Friends Home
Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing