We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #4 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
362 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a very welcoming hotel. The breakfast is fantastic. The staff is very accommodating. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The showers have hot water. A great place to stay in Kathmandu. And there are taxis waiting outside to take you wherever you want to go. They are affordable but you can haggle a bit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingFool88005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for your review of our property; It was our great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We heartily like to thank you for stayed in with us. Entire team of Friends home becomes very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. Our goal is our guests comfortable and enjoyable stay in Friends home for that we will do our best always.

We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, Once again thank you for the review.

Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    152
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
120
334
247
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had selected the hotel against the wishes of my travel agent because of its ratings on Trip Advisor. And I am glad I did. A very short distance from noisy and bustling Thamel, this hotel provides unexpected peace and quiet.

The rooms (I stayed thrice, in three different rooms in the course of my Nepal trip): are very clean, the same goes for washrooms and bed linen. Lighting is good, too, and every switch works. Rooms 101 and 302 even had hat-stands!

The food: Not much variety, but well-prepared and served with care by smiling attendants. No room service, but we did not miss that since getting food into a room tends to make the room smelly.

The staff: Excellent, caring and polite at all times of day.

The only con: One group of business travellers (read film-makers) took over the dining space and the lobby and loudly discussed their plans throughout every meal, and for most of the days of our trip. The staff were too polite and nice to be firm with them.

One point to note: there is no elevator (true of most hotels we stayed in), so don't expect one.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but don't expect views. You could choose a room on the east for the sunlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sohiniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for your review of our property; It was our great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We heartily like to thank you for stayed in with us. Entire team of Friends home becomes very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. Our goal is our guests comfortable and enjoyable stay in Friends home for that we will do our best always.

We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, Once again thank you for the review.

Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in Hotel friends Home ( Kathmandu ) for 3-4 Days ..Here interior and ambiance is decent and nice with comfort white & white bedding.
We got almost all toiletries free in Bathroom like - Toothpaste, brush, Body Lotion, Shampoo, toilet paper, dryer etc with western style commode and shower.
We had all our lunch and dinner in Hotels restaurant located on ground floor..Where we got unlimited tea coffee free of cost through all days,here food was truly Delicious and we were feeling satisfied.
Service staff of hotel and restaurant was truly friendly and supportive always ready to help.

Room Tip: East Part room is more spacious and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KANCHAN96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for your review of our property; It was our great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We heartily like to thank you for stayed in with us. Entire team of Friends home becomes very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. Our goal is our guests comfortable and enjoyable stay in Friends home for that we will do our best always.

We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, Once again thank you for the review.

Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

When you are looking for a good place to stay in Thamel, choose this hotel! It has a great location on a quiet part of Thamel. The rooms are modern and with aircon, which is nice in hot Kathmandu. You can sit back and relax in the hotel lobby and have a talk with the friendly manager, he is a nice guy and can arrange everything for you at fair prices. I've stayed in many hotels in Kathamndu, this is by far the best

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markdegoffau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for your review of our property; It was our great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We heartily like to thank you for stayed in with us. Entire team of Friends home becomes very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. Our goal is our guests comfortable and enjoyable stay in Friends home for that we will do our best always.

We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, Once again thank you for the review.

Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Clean rooms and very helpful,room is specious and also the internet is quite good.
in the restaurant they serve dinner was so nice normally i ate dinner here because I was working the whole day. I stayed here 12 days it was very nice, the breakfast was very good. They have mango fruit salad & order any style egg many more but these are favourite. I definitely come back here.

Room Tip: room is in east side nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vignesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for your review of our property; It was our great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We heartily like to thank you for stayed in with us. Entire team of Friends home becomes very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. Our goal is our guests comfortable and enjoyable stay in Friends home for that we will do our best always.

We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, Once again thank you for the review.

Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

On my second visit to Kathmandu My friend and I decided to stay at the hotel friends. Our previous hotel in Kathmandu wasn't great but this place looked new and modern and we were not disappointed. Electricity is problematic in Kathmandu of course but the hotel always had a back up generator on hand and even the free wifi was pretty reliable.
The hotel is very central on a quiet back street literally a few mins away from the main streets and restaurants.
Rooms are basic but comfortable. Air conditioners work well but we found the room was a pleasant temperature without it anyway, bathroom was very clean and always hot water was available. Bed was unexpectedly super comfortable also.
Breakfast consists of a selection of cereal, pastries, fruit and a choice of cooked egg.
Free tea and coffee are also offered whenever you like in the hotel.
We arranged for the hotel driver to collect us at the airport, I recommend this as an option. Much better than trying to haggle and find your way to a hotel with the dozens of taxi drivers at the airport. We also used the driver the following day to travel around. Very reasonable price.
Finally the biggest draw of the hotel is the staff. from the exceptional manager down to the young guy who helps with the bags. All of them are so helpful and willing to do anything for you to make your stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for your review of our property; It was our great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We heartily like to thank you for stayed in with us. Entire team of Friends home becomes very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. Our goal is our guests comfortable and enjoyable stay in Friends home for that we will do our best always.

We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, Once again thank you for the review.

Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Thx to previous reviews, we made a great decision to stay here. We had a wonderful experience mainly due to the staff who went well out of their way to help us in areas of need. Not only did they help us book a tour to Chitwan National Park for a very good price with a 5 star experience (at Seven Star Hotel) where we took an elephant safari, they had a staff member Arjun escort us and help us with our luggage early on departure morning in Kathmandu to ensure we arrived at the right bus amidst the 20 other buses which could have been chaotic. The waiters in the restaurant are always there to greet you when you go in/out of the hotel and tea/coffee are no charge. We needed laundry service upon our return from Lumbini and again, Arjun was kind enough to walk us around town. The manager recommended dinner at Gaia which we ended up going to all 3 nights. Everything is a quality service with a very affordable price. We enjoyed the cooked to order eggs at breakfast and buffet choices. Lots of personal service and always with a smile.

Room Tip: If you don't like climbing stairs, choose 2nd floor. Otherwise, 4th floor was fine, but a hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wings2fly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear valuable guest.
Thank you for your review of our property; It was our great pleasure to welcome you in Friends home. We heartily like to thank you for stayed in with us. Entire team of Friends home becomes very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. Our goal is our guests comfortable and enjoyable stay in Friends home for that we will do our best always.

We hope to welcome you again in Friends home, Once again thank you for the review.

Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
740 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 198 in Kathmandu
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Property: Hotel Friends Home
Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing