We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly people, great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Friends Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
Ranked #2 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly people, great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights - the folks at the hotel were extremely welcoming and friendly - our special request for Indian cuisine in breakfast was accommodated - we thank Rajendra, Parmod and all the other folks at friends home for making this a memorable stay - will certainly stay here on next visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 220AvidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for taking time to wrote review of Friends home. It was a great pleasure to have you in our property. We very delightful to know that you had nice time in friends home. We will always try our best for our guest. We are learning day by day and trying to improve our services. Our main goal is hospitality for our guest like make them feel it’s a their real friends home in Nepal, we hope you feel like that too. We again and again hope to welcome you in Friends home, Once again thank you for your great review.
Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    149
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
117
327
242
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Friends Home is right in the middle of Kathmandu's trendy Thamel district so it's close to everything you'll need to do or eat while your in Nepal's capital. The staff are always happy ,smiling and willing to assist you with anything. We had a couple of early morning starts and they even oped up the kitchen to help us on our way. The rooms were exceptionally clean as well as the hotels public areas.

Not least, the hotel is very safe so no need to worry about "strangers" wandering around the corridors day or night.

I highly recommend Friends Home if coming to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for taking time to wrote review of Friends home. It was a great pleasure to have you in our property. We very delightful to know that you had nice time in friends home. We will always try our best for our guest. We are learning day by day and trying to improve our services. Our main goal is hospitality for our guest like make them feel it’s a their real friends home in Nepal, we hope you feel like that too. We again and again hope to welcome you in Friends home, Once again thank you for your great review.
Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I feel lucky to have found Hotel Friends Home. Just as promised on their website, the hotel is on a quiet side street near the edge of Thamel neighborhood, within walking distance of many city sites yet peaceful. 100% percent of staff are kind and very helpful. The rooms are beyond perfectly clean; the aesthetic is also clean, simple, and cozy with wood furnishings. And the rooftop is the best. I've eaten many meals there, which can be ordered from the hotel restaurant, because the food is better here than even many of the popular restaurants in the area. I'll return next time I come to Kathmandu and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin2S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for taking time to wrote review of Friends home. It was a great pleasure to have you in our property. We very delightful to know that you had nice time in friends home. We will always try our best for our guest. We are learning day by day and trying to improve our services. Our main goal is hospitality for our guest like make them feel it’s a their real friends home in Nepal, we hope you feel like that too. We again and again hope to welcome you in Friends home, Once again thank you for your great review.
Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We are very pleased with our stay - extremely helpful and kind staff, quiet location while still near attractions, multi-cuisine menu served in cafe or green, rooftop dining area. Will stay here again next visit!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very thankful to you that you choose us. We very much delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you again and we will always do our best to make our clients stay joyful, peaceful and memorable. We again thank you, from entire group of Friends home for your review.
Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legian, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a very tidy premises inside. The staff and management are very helpful and friendly.
Their is a lot of construction happening in the vacinity so combined with rainy season the roads/view outside were, even for Thamel, shocking. Wear sensible footwear

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking if required. Rooms in back are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terryaxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very thankful to you that you choose us. We very much delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you again and we will always do our best to make our clients stay joyful, peaceful and memorable. We again thank you, from entire group of Friends home for your review.
Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I spent 4 nights with my 2 children 18 and 14 years old. Nice room and very confortable Beds.very clean and all staff always kind and at our disposal for any need. It is right in Thamel Street.
At tour desk we got all information we needed to visit The Beautiful NEPAL!
Emanuela Giacomo and Gianni
Italy

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emanuelarizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very thankful to you that you choose us. We very much delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you again and we will always do our best to make our clients stay joyful, peaceful and memorable. We again thank you, from entire group of Friends home for your review.
Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The property is very clean and well laid out. Rooms are spacious and have everything you need. Free wifi that is reliable and reasonably fast. The staff is the highlight of this place. Very welcoming and helpful. They have a private hotel taxi if you wish to use. Reasonably priced. I ate one night at the restaurant and it was very good. I happened to go about 20 mins after they closed, but they still made me a plate of noodles. The manager is excellent. He makes you feel at home and like you two are old friends. I would defiantly recommend this place to anyone staying in KTM.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you in Friends home. We are very thankful to you that you choose us. We very much delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you again and we will always do our best to make our clients stay joyful, peaceful and memorable. We again thank you, from entire group of Friends home for your review.
Rajendra and team of the Friends home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#8 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Property: Hotel Friends Home
Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Chhushya Galli, Jyatha Road, Kantipur temple house is next to us., Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing