We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, has a lift, some rooms are avoidable, do visit the rooftop”
Review of Hotel Happy Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Happy Home
Ranked #16 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a hotel with a location that's possibly as good as it gets. Though we had to bargain hard, the final deal was acceptable, and the rooms (502B&C) were nice - though 502B has an attached bathroom/toilet, 502A & C share a bathroom outside. This didn't bother us since 502A was not occupied. However, on our return from Pokhara, we were allotted 402 A & B - now, B are good rooms with attached toilets & a small but useful balcony, C have balcony but no attached toilet, but the 'A' rooms are awful - no windows, a single bed, no aircon, no ceiling fan (just a table fan), and very claustrophobic.

The breakfast is invariably a little slow to arrive, but it's adequate. Power outages (loadshedding) means the charger points and most of the lights (and of course, the AC) don't work. And there's a building next door which is under construction, so the noise can be a little unbearable at times. Mr. Krishna, the owner, is a genial person, and tries to help make his guests feel comfortable as far as possible.

Would I go back? Possibly. The pizzeria on the ground floor dishes out some fantastic stuff, and I'd like to explore their menu a little more!

Room Tip: Try getting rooms on the upper floors (5th floor). Avoid the 'A' rooms. 'B' rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SS-Shom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Respected SS-Shom,
Thank you very much for your expression on TripAdvisor about our premises. I'm apologize couldn't provide you same room 502 B &C Instead i had provide you 402 A & B .
Sorry to arrived late breakfast coming days we will definitely improve all our services in our premises . Thank you so much again choosing our hotel to stay with us and nice feed back and suggestions about our Hotel. We would love to welcome you back here another enjoyable stay at Hotel Happy Home Kathmandu.

With Kind Regards,
Krishna Lamichhane & Team of Hotel Happy Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Having found this hotel is my luck. It's located right in the heart of Thamel, quite at night, easy to walk to other places in the city. Room is big and well equipted, elevator is a plus. The breakfast is wonderful with choices of saussage, egg, fruit and drinks. The manager is nice and reliable, he provides good information and tours with very reasonable price. The hotel room rate is so good, very value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeoU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Valuable guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. We are delighted to hear you positive feedback we always strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests, your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your nice feedback about our Hotel and services. We hope you will stay with us again next time to visit in Kathmandu.

With kind regards,

Krishna Lamichhane & Team of Hotel Happy Home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I had the great pleasure of staying at Hotel Happy Home in October 2013. It's in a wonderful location in Thamel/Kathmandu, with easy walking access to everything. The hotel was very very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the room was quite large by Nepal standards. The best part of my stay was the host and his staff. These people went way above and beyond to ensure my every need was met. There is a computer with terrific wifi that was available at my disposal. Downstairs is a small café that offers ICE CREAM...which I took full advantage of. Nearby are LOADS of restaurants and shops. The Happy Home Hotel gets my 100% recommendation, and I don't say that often!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davesellshouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, General Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Respectable guest,
Thank you so much taking time to give us some comments about your stay with us. We were very pleased that you really enjoyed the premises at Hotel Happy Home. We are very happy to able to make your stay a memorable experience. We are very glad to hear appreciation about our location and hospitality service I will definitely let our staffs know about them wonderful service and your kinds remarks.

Thank you so much again for your Wonderful review about Our Premises. We would love to welcome you back here another enjoyable stay at Hotel Happy Home Kathmandu.

With Kind Regards,
Krishna Lamichhane and Team of Hotel Happy Home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hotel Happy Home is really a fabulous hotel to live in Thamel cuz its has the best homely environment that u may bot find in whole Thamel. I alos found the room decoration fantastic along with the best Wifi speed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rimalrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Owner at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Rup,
We truly appreciate you taking the time in writing a review about our premises. We are delighted hear you positive feedback Your satisfactions is important to us. Thank you again for your excellent review. We hope you will stay with us again next time to visit in Kathmandu.

Best regards,
Krishna and Hotel Happy Home Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hotel Happy Home “Marvelous Fabulous Awesome”
I have traveled in Nepal march 2nd 2013 and staying Hotel Happy Home P. Ltd. Nice and clean room family running business staff were very helpful. Free wifi internet 24 hr hot and cold clean water Lift in Hotel .They let me felt to like own family member. I will again go to Nepal.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deepakrimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Owner at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing your stay in Hotel Happy Home Kathmandu. Thank you so much for taking time to write a review about our property. We were very pleased that you really enjoyed the premises at Hotel Happy Home. Thank you so much again for wonderful review.

Best Wishes,
Krishna and Hotel Happy Home Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel Happy Home is definitely a great place to stay in Thamel. Centrally located, one can do a lot of stuff in walking distance.
We enjoyed our time utmost. The rooms were very clean and with comfortable beds.
TV had a good variety of international news and movie channels like HBO .
WiFi was working perfectly - even during the frequent power cuts.
But most impressed us the friendliness and service of the owner, Mr. Krishna, and his staff.
It started already in the morning on the rooftop with the great breakfasts, which guaranteed a good start into the day.
Any wish or required service was fulfilled to our complete satisfaction and we can only recommend staying at that great place.
Having stayed on earlier trips in several other guesthouses and hotels, I can say now, that Hotel Happy Home falls definitely into the category of "Excellent value for money".
We want to say again a big and heartfelt Thanks to Mr. Krishna and the whole staff and be assured, that we'll come again.

Room Tip: Just ask Mr. Krishna to show you all rooms. We stayed several nights in a deluxe and a 'mini del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Owner at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Respectable guest,
Thank you so much taking time to give us some comments about your stay with us. We were very pleased that you really enjoyed the premises at Hotel Happy Home. We are very happy to able to make your stay a memorable experience. We are very glad to hear appreciation about our location and hospitality service I will definitely let our staffs know about them wonderful service and your kinds remarks.

Thank you so much again for your Wonderful review about Our Premises. We would love to welcome you back here another enjoyable stay at Hotel Happy Home Kathmandu.

With Kind Regards,
Krishna Lamichhane and Hotel Happy Home Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It was my first trip to Nepal after I got married. There are so many places to stay in Kathamandu, We all want a comfortable room, that’s nice and good value, good location. I was very happy that my husband chooses Hotel Happy Home at Thamel to stay in. I stayed total 6nights in this hotel. The location was perfect. Especially the town center was very nearby. I was very pleased with the service provided. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. I found the environment of the hotel was very neat and clean including rooms and bathrooms. The room was very comfortable.
The people in this hotel made me fell warm while I stayed. I wish to be there again and again.
I would recommend this hotel to all travelers, extremely good price of the rooms and right in the centre of Kathmandu.

Stayed August 2013, Traveled with husband.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Valuable guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write review of our Hotel. We are delighted to hear you positive feedback we always strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests, your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your nice feedback about our Hotel's staffs service, clean and location. We hope you will stay with us again next time to visit in Kathmandu.

With Kind Regards,
Hotel Happy Home Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#28 of 210 in Kathmandu
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#13 of 210 in Kathmandu
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 210 in Kathmandu
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Happy Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Happy Home

Address: 17, JP Road Thamel, Kathmandu 10356, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £12 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Happy Home 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Happy Home Pvt. Ltd. is conveniently located in Chhetrapati, Kathmandu. We are a short walk from the heart of Thamel, the main tourist hub of Kathmandu, with many restaurants and facilities. Our location is in a peaceful residential area, away from noise of bars and discos, but close enough for anyone who wants to experience the nightlife of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Happy Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing