We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hassle free and Happy home.”
Review of Hotel Happy Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Happy Home
Ranked #18 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My family and friends stayed at Hotel Happy Home for several days before and after our Trek. Krishna the hotel manager is very knowledgeable about Kathmandu and Nepal, he effortlessly organised all of our requirements from airport transports to whitewater rafting and even organizing our 4 day Trek from Pokhara. The Hotel is basic but clean. It has all the amenities you need. There is wifi throughout all the rooms and common area's and breakfast is served on a nice rooftop patio with great views of Kathmandu. Happy home is a great choice for full amenity budget accommodation. Its location in Thamel is superb, the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stickyjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Respected Guest stickyjt,

Greetings from Hotel Happy Home , Kathmandu.Thank you very much for the review about our premises. We are glad to hear that, we were able to make your stay at Hotel Happy Home a memorable experience. Thank you so much like us our premises and our hospitality, trekking & Touring services, and roof top terrace .Thank you very much again to like us our team .
We would love to have you back at Hotel Happy Home in near future.

With Kind Regards,
Team of Hotel Happy Home, Kathmandu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our group of 7 adults stayed at the Happy Home in April pre and post trek and it was a fantastic decision. After researching on Trip Advisor, a member of our group contacted the Happy Home to check availability and was pleased to receive a very quick response from Krishna, the Hotel Manager. Krishna was also able to help us with our trekking requirements, organising everything including experienced guide and porters, transfers and accommodation throughout the trek. The Happy Home is great value. Although a budget hotel, it is spotlessly clean and better run than many upmarket hotels in my experience. Rooms are spacious and well furnished, showers are good, no problems at all with the Wifi. Our favourite place was the rooftop terrace where we enjoyed good breakfasts in the morning and beers in the evening. The location is fabulous, right in the middle of Thamel with everything you need just outside the door. However, it really is the staff that make the Hotel Happy Home such a happy place. Krishna and his team are welcoming and friendly but not obtrusive. They could not do enough for us during both our stays. Special mention to our trekking guide, Udaya and the wonderful team of porters. Our Poon Hill trek was so memorable and it was wonderful to meet and spend time with such lovely Nepalese. We all hope to return to Kathmandu and we will definitely re-visit Hotel Happy Home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leajoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Respected Guest leajoy99 (Leandra & Groups),

Greetings from Hotel Happy Home , Kathmandu.Thank you very much for the review about our premises. We are glad to hear that, we were able to make your stay at Hotel Happy Home a memorable experience. Thank you so much like us our premises and our hospitality, trekking & Touring services, and roof top terrace .Thank you very much again to like us our team ..
We would love to have you back at Hotel Happy Home in near future.

With Kind Regards,
Team of Hotel Happy Home, Kathmandu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We made our reservation at Happy Home from Pokara, and were delighted with our choice. The location in Thamel is really grand for tourists, the hotel staff is very, very helpful and friendly, the breakfasts were delicious, and it's lovely to be able to dine outside on the rooftop in the mornings. The rooms are large and comfortable, and reasonably priced for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reynardridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Respected Guest reynardridge,

Greetings from Hotel Happy Home , Kathmandu.Thank you very much for the review about our premises. We are glad to hear that, we were able to make your stay at Hotel Happy Home a memorable experience. Thank you so much like us and our hospitality services, breakfast in rooftop .

We would love to have you back at Hotel Happy Home in near future.

With Kind Regards,
Team of Hotel Happy Home, Kathmandu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Happy Home. It's a nice option if you're on a medium budget (though they have a range of low budget to medium budget rooms). It's clean. The internet works consistently. The water is warm/hot. The rooftop terrace is beautiful and a perfect spot to enjoy the breakfast or the sunset. Good breakfast options... though the coffee could be better. Krishna and his staff were super helpful and the service was great. For Thamel it's very quiet (tucked back a bit off the main street) and comfortable. I highly recommend Happy Home!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brigidmcauliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Respected Guest brigidmcauliffe & Groups,

Greetings from Hotel Happy Home , Kathmandu.Thank you very much for the review about our premises. We are glad to hear that, we were able to make your stay at Hotel Happy Home a memorable experience. Thank you so much like us and our hospitality services, breakfast in rooftop and to see sunset from top floor. Again Thank you very much for your suggestion About coffee.

We would love to have you back at Hotel Happy Home in near future.

With Kind Regards,
Team of Hotel Happy Home, Kathmandu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel manager, Krishna, is very very welcoming, honest and makes this hotel a very pleasant place to stay. The rooms are extremely well furbished, I actually asked for a downgrade when I saw mine it was that awesome. Hot showers, good WiFi, rooftop breakfast all add to this being a great place to stop. The rooms are large, the breakfast is pretty darn good. The hotel is located in Thamel close to all the tourist stuff and because of this it is a little noisy, unavoidable in the centre of Kathmandu.

No complaints. Woiukd recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed333255120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Respected Guest Ed333255120,

Thank you very much for the review about our premises. We are glad to hear that, we were able to make your stay at Hotel Happy Home a memorable experience. Thank you so much like us and our hospitality services .
We would love to have you back at Hotel Happy Home in near future.

With Kind Regards,
Team of Hotel Happy Home, Kathmandu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

When we pulled up in our taxi, 2 people came running out to greet us by name. This personal service extended throughout our stay. Even though it was a last minute booking, our children were able to stay close by. The people who work here could not be more helpful. Location is great - close to the sights and food. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Respected Guest Ralph301,,

Thank you very much for the review about our premises. We are glad to hear that, we were able to make your stay at Hotel Happy Home a memorable experience. Thank you so much like us and our hospitality services .
We would love to have you back at Hotel Happy Home in near future.

With Kind Regards,
Team of Hotel Happy Home, Kathmandu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We initially booked 2 nights at Hotel Happy Home and ended up extending by another 2 nights plus 1 night two weeks later on our way home. From the free airport pick up we were not disappointed and Mr Krishna & his staff went above and beyond with every chance. We had a triple room which was nicely furnished, generally quiet & had a clean bathroom with hot water most of the time. This hotel does also have a lift but can only be used some of the time due to electricity shedding. (6 floor building) Included in the room cost is a delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace with choices like fruit porridge, eggs/sausage/potato and readily topped up coffee & tea. Another bonus is the free water bottle top ups available. Thank you Hotel Happy Home, we will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Frequentjaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna L, Manager at Hotel Happy Home, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Respected Guest Frequentjaunts,

Thank you very much for the review about our premises. We are glad to hear that, we were able to make your stay at Hotel Happy Home a memorable experience. Thank you so much like us and our hospitality services and breakfast in rooftop.
We would love to have you back at Hotel Happy Home in near future.

With Kind Regards,
Team of Hotel Happy Home, Kathmandu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 210 in Kathmandu
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Happy Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Happy Home

Address: 17, JP Road Thamel, Kathmandu 10356, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £14 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Happy Home 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Happy Home Pvt. Ltd. is conveniently located in Chhetrapati, Kathmandu. We are a short walk from the heart of Thamel, the main tourist hub of Kathmandu, with many restaurants and facilities. Our location is in a peaceful residential area, away from noise of bars and discos, but close enough for anyone who wants to experience the nightlife of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Happy Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing