We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel with helpful staff in an excellent location, one of the best in Nepal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Happily Ever After Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great hostel with helpful staff in an excellent location, one of the best in Nepal”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed there for 4 nights. Amenity is great for a hostel. The staff is very accommodating and helpful, always willing to share local knowledge with their guests. They are also very handy in booking transport and tours. Location is in a quite alley in Thamel, close to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHappilyEverAfter, Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
DeraSailun Lei,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with that awesome review. Your feedback is very important to us for coming days too.
That you had and meet great people and time in this place,it was such a pleasure to hear that Happily Ever After hostel and the team were able to accommodate you and make you feel at home during your stay.
We appreciate you and look forward to welcoming your family or friend in next visit!
Best Regards
Ghan N Hostel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    50
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
19
125
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thorn, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was staying in Happily Ever After Hostel because a friend recommended it to me. I had a great experience there. Ghan, the owner, is very nice and is always there to help. The rooms and shower/toilet is very clean. They clean it every day. Also, the breakfast is included (scrambled eggs, toast, tea or coffee). I also booked a tourist bus ticket to Pokhara via Ghan, and it was a very fair price.

I do suggest you bring earplugs, because the hostel is near a live music place in which they play pretty loud music until at least 22:30h, sometimes later.

I really recommend this place to every backpacker / traveller who wants to have a nice and clean dorm room for a very low price.

Room Tip: There is a bar next to the hostel in which they play live music every night. I don't know if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlijnse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHappilyEverAfter, Owner at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Carlijn Srdn,
it is our pleasure that we had the great opportunity to provide you our services. We feel very glad and excited that we had added one more valuable customer in our satisfied customer list. We are any time ready to provide our full effort to make our customer happy. You are heartily welcome
next time in our Hostel.
Ghan N Hostel Team !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I met many friends here, first as breakfast companions who then became travel companions and pals who would always keep in touch. I stayed in Nepal for over a month, with frequent trips elsewhere to Nargakot, Tibet, Pokhara and Lumbini. Each time I return to this hostel, I would meet a familiar face, people coming back from other places, like me. So people who stayed here once are likely to return - high customer satisfaction.
Perhaps it is small or budget, but this place is definitely cosy, day manager Ghan has a witty personality, and that's why people tend to socialize more and stare less into gadgets. I can't really explain it.
This is the place if you are looking for a warm, cosy, friendly, safe and secure hostel with good amenities. If you are booking an adventure, Ghan will make a dozen calls to beat the best deals in town even lower than rock bottom price.
It is in the heart of Thamel, on a side street away from street noise. Bus stations, bars, nightlife, trendy cafes and restaurants are within a 5-mins walk.

Room Tip: For long stay and during low season, room rates are definitely negotiable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHappilyEverAfter, Front Office Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
dear guest!
Thanks for your such a great review of our property, appreciated it. We are so glad to know that you had nice stay with us. Our main goal is client’s satisfaction. For our valuable guest we will do all our best , There's no any compromise for That! It was a pleasure to have you with us and hope to welcome you again and again soon,
thank you so much for staying with us.
Ghan N hostel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

everything i needed and wanted and the value for money was great! awesome people were working and staying there, helpful people and they store your stuff for free which comes in handy! highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_beastall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHappilyEverAfter, Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Joe,
it is our pleasure that we had the great opportunity to provide you our services. We feel very glad and excited that we had added one more valuable customer in our satisfied customer list. We are any time ready to provide best service to our customer make happy and feel comfort . You are heartily welcome to our hostel in near future.
Hostel Team !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

On our first visit to kathmandu (on arrival in Nepal) we stayed at happily ever afters sister hostel in shwayambhu. On our second visit we opted instead to stay in thamel. This was an excellent decision, as happily ever after is excellently located in the centre of kathmandu with everything within minutes walk, including the Indian embassy if your next stop is India and you're yet to acquire a visa. The staff here were awesome - friendly and helpful but never pushy. Our room was small but clean and comfortable, with good new mattresses. Whilst thamel is the tourist hub of kathmandu it was surprisingly pleasant to stay in - unlike its cousins in other parts of South East Asia. All in all if I find myself in kathmandu in the near future I will be staying here again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHappilyEverAfter, Front Office Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear jack,
Thank you very much for your kind words and encouragements.We are very grateful for your review.It is a great feeling for us to know that our guests have been satisfied and happy with us. This is our passion, something we do from our heart .We will do our best to make our services and facilities even better then what we have now. If you have any advice or suggestions for us, please feel free to let us know, we will do our best for following through.
best regards
hostel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hmm. The rooms, bathrooms and common areas are very clean. They are cleaned daily. The beds and pillows are abnormally comfortable for a hostel. Now for the people. The two guys that work there, Ghan and Dubba are the nicest hostel staff I have encountered. They are always ready to help you with whatever you need for your travels or stay. And if you want to meet people, this is the place to be. Almost everyone I encountered became a friend here. The breakfast you get is very light, an egg with toast and a hot drink, but it is enough to start part of the morning. I'm giving it 4 stars because the internet was so so slow. Anyway, stay at this place if you are ever in Katmandu. You won't regret it at all.

Room Tip: For a little more, you can get a 2 person private room on the top floor. The top has a rooftop deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHappilyEverAfter, Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Michale,
Thanks for your such a great review of our property, appreciated it. We are so glad to know that you had nice stay with us. Our main goal is client’s satisfaction. For our valuable guest we will do all our best , There's no any compromise for That! It was a pleasure to have you with us and hope to welcome you again and again soon,
thank you so much for staying with us.
Ghan N hostel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I had such a nice time here. Ok, it's not the prettiest rooms I've seen, but it doesn't matter when the overall atmosphere is so nice. I stayed in the girls dorm. Its cleaned every day, the bathroom is large and clean, and no problems with hot water, flushing (like I've seen other reviewers complain about), and I didn't see any cockroaches. The beds are ok, the blanket is maybe a little too warm in the summertime but still good to have there. I did miss a shelf or something to put my stuff on at night, but I assume that's not too hard to fix if needed.
There is no aircon and no fans (maybe an idea to get some?), meaning all windows MUST be open at night or we'll die from the heat, so we did have mosquitos biting us at night, but when we told the receptionist about this he immediately gave us one of those thingys to plug in a powersocket, which worked like a charm.
About the staff: the guys working here are so nice. They are so friendly and kind and always smile and want to help. There is always one guy asleep in the reception. We wanted to see the semifinals of the world cup one night, and went to a place nearby that supposedly had bigscreen, but their signal got lost just after kickoff, so we ran back to the hostel and asked if we could see the match in the reception. And the guy just smiled and let us, despite the fact that 1. we woke him up, 2. he had to stay up watching the game with us, 3. listen to our screaming and cheering all night... So yeah. The guys are just THE BEST.
Never had breakfast here so can't comment.
I traveled alone and I met so many new friends. And it feels really safe there.

Will be back!! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHappilyEverAfter, Manager at The Happily Ever After Hostel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Ninah,
We would like to thank you very much for your great feedback of our property our happiness knows no bound when we saw your review as well as our staff preference. we are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us and we really like to thank you for stayed at Happily Ever After Hostel in Kathmandu. We will be doing our best forever for all our clients. Our main goal is client’s satisfaction and make your stay enjoyable with us. we are here!because of our valuable client love us. We are learning day by day and improving our service for our client’s, as the best service in hosteling sector in Nepal. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Once again thank you very much for your great review.
Hostel Team and Ghan's department of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.6 mi away
The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
0.5 mi away
Famous House Kathmandu Youth Hostel
2.2 mi away
Dormitory Nepal
Dormitory Nepal
#7 of 137 in Kathmandu
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
327 Thamel Hotel
327 Thamel Hotel
#25 of 438 in Kathmandu
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elbrus Home
Elbrus Home
#4 of 137 in Kathmandu
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andes House
Andes House
#1 of 137 in Kathmandu
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Happily Ever After Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Happily Ever After Hostel

Property: The Happily Ever After Hostel
Address: Thamel Road | Thamel, Kathmandu 7265, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — The Happily Ever After Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Happily Ever After Hostel, the name that itself defines "Your Home in Nepal for Pleasurable Stay" is committed to serve best frankly service with reasonable price for Backpackers, families, business travelers, groups and individuals to an enjoyable peaceful stay in Thamel, Kathmandu. The Happily Ever After Hostel, located in the heart of Thamel, situated twenty minutes drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Happily Ever After Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing