We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
Ranked #7 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Five star service”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

There are good reasons why Dream Nepal gets 5 stars. It's not the rooms, although they are clean and everything works, because the rooms are standard Nepal-type utilitarian hotel rooms. But the staff, and the service they provide are beyond exceptional. Any problems you have, will be solved! Questions? Answered! It continues like that with every person behind the desk, workers, kitchen staff, even the folks that picked me up from the airport (my 6th time in Nepal). I love the location two city-blocks away from the main streets of Thamel.
Even when Dream Nepal didn't have a room for me when I arrived unexpectedly, they found another hotel and negotiated a lower price.
My trek was organized by Boneu, if you use the travel services take your time and do not rush, write down exactly what you want so there are no questions. Because of the language differences it's easy to misunderstand each other.

I would absolutely stay at Dream Nepal again.

Room Tip: The smallest room does not have an outside window, only a window that faces inside - this is only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paxMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyanendra L, Owner at Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear David,

Namaste and Greetings to Greetings from Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your review.
Please rest assured your compliments will be shared with all of our Team members so that we continue to work hard to ensure that we continue to enhance the guest stay experience.

Best Regards
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    94
    23
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
136
121
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the apartments. It was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Brilliant location! Very helpful staff. Restaurant not so good but many good places to eat nearby. I'll definitely stay there again. Remember to take an extra suitcase for all the shopping you'll be doing.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Having never visited Kathmandu before, I looked to book a hotel in the heart of the action, with an excellent reputation. I couldn't have found a better place than Dream Nepal. On a quieter street in Thamel, yet conveniently located to all the sights, the Dream Nepal staff were wonderful, helping in all sorts of details of our stay. I was so impressed with Dream Nepal, that I made reservations to return after our trek to guarantee a clean, comfortable last few days in Kathmandu. The food was absolutely delicious, and the entire staff incredibly friendly. I would definitely recommend Dream Nepal for any travelers coming to Kathmandu,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyanendra L, Owner at Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Mikaela R,
Thanks for your positive feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and loved Dream Nepal so much you stayed another night! It is awesome to be able to share this beautiful place with travelers and share in their experiences.

Hope to see you again near future and the rest of your travels around the country were just as enjoyable!
Best Regards
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

After a business trip to Kathmandu I moved out of my four star hotel to be closer to the street life of the city. The Dream Nepal was the right choice -- clean and comfortable in the Thamel neighborhood. The staff was friendly and helpful -- steering me to good local resaurants and even a haircut.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwaynep2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyanendra L, Owner at Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear dwaynep2,
Thanks for your positive feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and loved Dream Nepal so much you stayed another night! It is awesome to be able to share this beautiful place with travelers and share in their experiences.

Hope to see you again near future and the rest of your travels around the country were just as enjoyable!
Best Regards
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Dream hotel is friendly and clean and in a good place to explore from. They will organise transport for trips. It's not plush, but everything works and the water is lovely and hot when you want a shower. More hooks and a shelf in the bathroom would be a useful addition.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed in Dream Nepal in early November. It's a great and warm welcome after a long flight. Staff is very kind and they do all they can to make you happy!

Location is perfect, it's a quite corner but still in the middle of Thamel tourist area.

The room is quite basic, considering what we paid. After returning from our trip, we booked a last night for the same rate, but now we got the apartment room which was amazing: very spacious and incl. a kitchen and 2 balconies.

Via Dream Nepal we booked a package around Nepal: Kathmandu day tour - Bakhtapur - Nagarkot (amazing view of the Himalayas during sunset and sunrise!!) - Pokhara - Annapurna trekking 5 days - Chitwan National Park - Lumbini. All was arranged perfectly, we didn't need to worry about anything!! Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margrietvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyanendra L, Owner at Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Margrietvdw,

Thanks for your positive feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and loved Dream Nepal so much you stayed another night! It is awesome to be able to share this beautiful place with travelers and share in their experiences.

Hope to see you again near future and the rest of your travels around the country were just as enjoyable!
Best Regards
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

When I arrived at Dream Nepal Hotel after a long flight from Ireland I was warmly greeted by Boby on reception. It was the end of the Diwali festival of lights and I was immediately asked to sit down and join them in the celebrations and was made to feel extremely welcome.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location good, although down a side lane, it is just a minute from the main Thamel area. Hotel pick from airport was arranged as promised which was very welcome after a long queue to get visa.

For me however, what makes this hotel special is the genuine friendliness and willingness to help everyone working there.

Big thanks and hugs to Boby, Yogesh, Neeraz, Gyanindra everyone else at Dream Nepal.Emer Connolly

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 202 in Kathmandu
538 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 202 in Kathmandu
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#9 of 202 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#11 of 202 in Kathmandu
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 202 in Kathmandu
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment

Property: Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
Address: Jyatha, Thamel-30, P.O.Box: 25852, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute walk from Thamel's main street, Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment is just 7 km away from Tribhuvan International Airport with free airport shuttle services. Free Wi-Fi access is available at all areas.Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment is located within 300 metres of the Garden of Dreams and 500 metres from the Royal Palace Museum. Pashupatinath Temple and the holy Buddhist site of Boudhanath are 4 km from the property. The UNESCO World Heritage Site of Patan Durbar Square is 5.5 km away.Featuring wooden flooring, fan-cooled or air-conditioned rooms at Dream Nepal are fitted with a flat-screen satellite TV, a tea/coffee making facilities and an en suite bathroom with hot/cold shower facilities. Larger rooms come with a bathtub.A 24-hour reception can assist with barbeque facilities, car rental services and travel arrangements. Guest can choose from a selection of reading materials at the library.The Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment and Bar, will serve a daily spread of Japanese, Indian, Nepali, and Chinese dishes. Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment also offers room service options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing