We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gokarna Forest Resort
Ranked #24 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Really loved this hotel. Its design makes it complex to find your way around. The room was great with the bathroom bigger than some rooms we've stayed in. We had a great balcony with views of the area. The food was good but the restaurant was a little small. The bar was very nice. Loved the grounds although there was so much more we could have seen. Don't be put off by the area around the entrance around the hotel it's well worth the journey

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank westcorktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

What a great place to relax, take in nature and the peaceful ambience of a wonderful hotel. I stayed the night and enjoyed fantastic food, excellent service and a very attentive staff. They went above and beyond to make things perfect for a group of 22 people who wanted to celebrate a traditional turkey dinner. While we brought the turkey and some other favorite dishes, Gokarna chef cooked it to perfection and added side dishes and dessert. All staff made sure we had the perfect day! We also enjoyed various spa packages....best Thanksgiving ever! I will go back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaL624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is considered to be the biggest resort in the whole of Nepal. It is far off from the city and hence one has to depend upon the taxi service of the hotels. But once you are inside this place you are in heaven.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Dnyate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

If one wants to relax in Kathmandu then this is the best resort. Spread over 750 acres one is in the midst of the nature. But one word of caution, close the windows or else your room would be ransacked by our ancestors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank veena64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

In my recent adventure in Nepal and Tibet, I stayed at the Gokarna Forest Resort on three occasions: three days on arrival in Nepal, another day after hiking and rafting in the Annapurna Region, and once more upon my return to Nepal from Tibet. Each visit was perfect for me, as the rooms were large, comfortable, well equipped and quiet. The dining room menu, ambiance and service were impeccable. I didn't use the large indoor swimming pool or the golf course, but did take a two-hour hike with two friends through the Gokarna Forest (guide required, $18), during which we saw multiple groups of Spotted Deer and Langur Monkeys. WiFi service is free in the bar area. The suburban Gokarna location is about a half hour drive in often chaotic traffic from downtown Kathmandu, but I found the peaceful beauty of Gokarna well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAR1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We arrived in Nepal from Bhutan where we had just stayed at a #1 rated resort that was OK but absolutely nothing special. When we arrived here we were amazed right from the arrival. Wonderful, professional reception. The rooms are big, the beds & linens fantastic. The bathroom was huge with a gigantic stone walk in shower that could also be a tub (a very big tub). Water was provided in the room and there was a mini-bar fridge. The only drawback is that you cannot open the windows because of the monkey problem they have. They actually have people on the grounds trying to keep the monkeys away from stealing food when everyone is outside eating. I thought the prices in the restaurant would be really high because this was a first class resort but they were very inexpensive! The food was good and the (included) breakfast buffet was really fantastic. The only drawback for me was the price of wine at the bar. It would have been USD 40 for a bottle of any sauvignon blanc - they don't sell it by the glass. I found the wine prices high overall but the price of the food compensated. We enjoyed our two nights so much that we cancelled our reservation elsewhere for our return to Kathmandu and booked in at Gokarna. It was surprisingly affordable (the first two nights we paid as part of an entire private package so we didn't know the cost). This hotel can hold a candle to any hotel anywhere in the world. I should mention though on our return one night we were in a room that was a short walk away from the hotel itself and the room was not quite as nice nor was the bathroom. I think they may have been older. We didn't get to enjoy the spa but we did go through it and the pool area. It was all lovely. WIFI was available in parts of the hotel and the bar but not the rooms which was a bit inconvenient when we stayed across the grounds.

Room Tip: I think I would ask for a room in the actual hotel. I am not sure if they all have the big showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We began our Nepal odyssey trekking through the Annapurna circuit. Then on to Pokhara and Chitwan. Then affter enjoying the temples, museums, and cultural sights of Kathmandu; and the crowds of people, incomparable shopping, noisy motor bikes, and careening taxis of Thamel... we entered the serenity of Gokarna Forest Resort. Our large, modern and beautiful room was somehow perfectly fitting in the historic former royal hunting reserve. Arriving hours early, we were welcomed warmly, by name, by Lasta, and sat on the terrace outside the beautiful bar. We decided to walk the manicured grounds to familiarize ourselves with the amenities. The beautiful spa, infinity pool, fitness center, sauna and steam rooms were used by my husband and myself often in the next few days. The yoga class was free, not what I'm accustomed to, yet a real treat. The numerous restaurants offered all we needed, and the breakfast buffet is huge. Best French toast ever! Each evening housekeeping called to ask if we needed anything, to include all the bottled water we could drink. When it was time to return to reality, a Gokarna car took us to the airport, for a modest fee, and assured that a trusted person escorted us, and our bags, to the proper place.
We happily and highly recommend Gokarna Forest Resort.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet and lovely room with a view and that is exactly what we got. That simple. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,124 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,649 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 210 in Kathmandu
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,238 reviews
2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gokarna Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gokarna Forest Resort

Address: Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £72 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gokarna Forest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gokarna Forest Resort... A tranquil Heaven to quiet Hideaways.Situated within the city limits of Kathmandu, capital of Nepal, Gokarna Forest Resort is located inside the serene temperate Gokarna Forest, the former private Royal hunting grounds of the Kings of Nepal. A winding road climbs leads through the forest up to the main complex, comprising a mix of subtly majestic Malla period architecture, Rana period lodges, and sanctuaries harmoniously blending with nature. Further on exotic Forest View cottage rooms are set beside a century old restored Hunter's lodge. A quiet peaceful haven set between ancient towering trees with glimpses of the second fairway in the valley below make the perfect getaway for a few days of golf, relaxation and rejuvenation at the Spa, enchanting forest walks, and time close to nature. SPA & HEALTH CLUB Amongst majestic trees on the edge of a plateau overlooking Gokarna Forest and the grassed valley below, Harmony Spa combines therapeutic care with a natural environment impossible to recreate elsewhere. Included are a variety of rejuvenating courses, emphasizing Ayurvedic treatments within Ayura, a dedicated Ayurvedic treatment area, the Adam & Eve, and Serenity massage rooms. The Health club encompasses Apsara, the Beauty Treatment center, an indoor temperature controlled swimming pool, luxurious changing rooms each with a Sauna, Steam room, and Jacuzzi. The large well equipped gym, the finest in the country, overlooks the forest through large windows. GOLF COURSE Against the backdrop of the snow capped Himalayas, close to the heart of Kathmandu city, South Asia's finest, and one of the world's most spectacular Golf Resort Courses is stunningly set within 470 acres of the hundreds years old Gokarna Forest Reserve. Designed by David Kidd (Gleneagles Golf Developments of Scotland), the 6,715 yard par 72 course boasts the only Bent Grass Greens in South Asia, making it one of the highlights of the professional tour circuits in the region. The serenity and setting are overwhelming. Deer and monkey wander freely, as will the spirits of all who enter. Truly an enchanting sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gokarna Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gokarna Forest Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing