We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gokarna Forest Resort
Ranked #28 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family Time”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I was there with my family for three night . The stay was good . They have good services with net & clean room. One lack for this resort is no space for driver although with good parking. Rest everything's is good there . ...........,,,,,,,,,,,,

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kushwaha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    262
    38
    16
    22
See reviews for
160
245
73
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location of this hotel was a nice break from the Kathmandu chaos. My room was a bit dark and just standard. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning my room every day. I'll have to say that the best quality of this hotel was the customer service. Every employee was extremely helpful and very courteous. I wish I could remember the names of the young ladies at the front desk that went above and beyond in helping me sort out a couple of things I needed help with. Overall was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Unfortunately I don't know where the bigger and nicer rooms are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stephmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Excellent service and large space at this hotel resort, pegged to a forest with deers and funny monkeys. Very large rooms, reasonnable rates, plus a golf for those who like that. Only thing preventing a 5 note is the food. Breakfast buffet is nice but lunch and dinner options lacked variety and subtlety to get a 5.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was huge and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our holiday at GoKarna. The staff was one of the best I have ever encountered making everyday a wonderful experience. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The grounds lovely. Our only disappointment was the restaurants were not the same standard. The Indian and Nepali food was quite good the European selection and preparation not so good. The breakfast needed help esp on the pastries although the breads were very nice. The health club needed alot of work on the equipment. The whirlpool did not work The pool was quite nice.
Being this is the off season I suspect things will be improved before the season begins.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wongFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed there for one night in June 2014. We had booked 4 rooms. Reached late in the evening. The bell boy left our luggage outside of the rooms and went. Rooms having central air conditioning were noisy and the other rooms had too many problems to start naming. One of our rooms was spectacular with a brand new air conditioner and no issues at all. Toilets were spacious and modern.


Breakfast spread was good. Room service dinner was very average. Don’t expect 24 hour service. Only visit if you are a golfer because that is the main charm of this place. The property is very far from any public transportation so you need to have your own vehicle. It is not advisable for tourists to Kathmandu, more of a weekend getaway for the locals in Kathmandu. Staff in the morning time were a complete contrast than night and very helpful. Overall the place is nice if you are there for the right reasons

Room Tip: See multiple rooms before settling in as they all seemed to be at stages of renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaitanya_Khaitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

More than the rooms, I loved the ambiance at which this resort is located. Its completely away from Kathmandu's hush bush and a slightly longer drive towards this resort. The problem the staff seem to have is that they may not able to manage the umpteen number of people that the resort receives. The resort was conducting a New years party that night and one of the things they could provide to their customers was a free pass. A walk by the forest is a good tour( which is a paid service) if you are fond of nature and a cool drink by the open air cafe outside the resort but within the compound is a good way to while away your evening. Gokarna compound is huge to explore so if they could provide free walking tours in the forest, it would be one of the best deals.Breakfast, is absolutely good with huge variety so a must - try. Overall, the lush greenery you see at Gokharna compensates for the few cons.

Room Tip: The Rooms facing the parking lot is huge. big and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satorisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After spending 2 weeks travelling around Nepal this was a wonderful way to rejuvenate and have a little luxury before heading home. Set in beautiful scenic forest setting, the birds were a wonderful change to the hectic sound of cars in Kathmandu. The staff are welcoming and friendly, the rooms are spacious and spotless. Buffet breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of Nepalese and European choices. Three restaurants all reasonably priced give you a great choice to dine. This resort is about 30 minutes taxi drive from Thamel, the tourist area of Kathmandu. I have visited Nepal several times as this place is by far the best luxury resort I have stayed at. My only issue was charging for wi fi. This is the only hotel/ resort I stayed at that charged for wi if and it is very annoying. This should be available for free seeing the standard rooms were over $100.00

Room Tip: Ask for a separate cottage as you have your own balcony to sit and enjoy the wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy12045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 203 in Kathmandu
391 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,093 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,141 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#64 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,067 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gokarna Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gokarna Forest Resort

Property: Gokarna Forest Resort
Address: Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gokarna Forest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gokarna Forest Resort... A tranquil Heaven to quiet Hideaways.Situated within the city limits of Kathmandu, capital of Nepal, Gokarna Forest Resort is located inside the serene temperate Gokarna Forest, the former private Royal hunting grounds of the Kings of Nepal. A winding road climbs leads through the forest up to the main complex, comprising a mix of subtly majestic Malla period architecture, Rana period lodges, and sanctuaries harmoniously blending with nature. Further on exotic Forest View cottage rooms are set beside a century old restored Hunter's lodge. A quiet peaceful haven set between ancient towering trees with glimpses of the second fairway in the valley below make the perfect getaway for a few days of golf, relaxation and rejuvenation at the Spa, enchanting forest walks, and time close to nature. SPA & HEALTH CLUB Amongst majestic trees on the edge of a plateau overlooking Gokarna Forest and the grassed valley below, Harmony Spa combines therapeutic care with a natural environment impossible to recreate elsewhere. Included are a variety of rejuvenating courses, emphasizing Ayurvedic treatments within Ayura, a dedicated Ayurvedic treatment area, the Adam & Eve, and Serenity massage rooms. The Health club encompasses Apsara, the Beauty Treatment center, an indoor temperature controlled swimming pool, luxurious changing rooms each with a Sauna, Steam room, and Jacuzzi. The large well equipped gym, the finest in the country, overlooks the forest through large windows. GOLF COURSE Against the backdrop of the snow capped Himalayas, close to the heart of Kathmandu city, South Asia's finest, and one of the world's most spectacular Golf Resort Courses is stunningly set within 470 acres of the hundreds years old Gokarna Forest Reserve. Designed by David Kidd (Gleneagles Golf Developments of Scotland), the 6,715 yard par 72 course boasts the only Bent Grass Greens in South Asia, making it one of the highlights of the professional tour circuits in the region. The serenity and setting are overwhelming. Deer and monkey wander freely, as will the spirits of all who enter. Truly an enchanting sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gokarna Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gokarna Forest Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing