We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay when visiting Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gokarna Forest Resort
Ranked #27 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Wiarton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE place to stay when visiting Kathmandu”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My visit to this beautiful and peaceful oasis just minutes from the airport and the Thamel shopping area was absolutely the highlight of my trip to Nepal. I spent the last couple of nights at this resort and cannot compliment the staff enough. The food was delicious and the decor delightful. The barking deer and monkeys were an added bonus as was the spacious room with massive "Bali-style" bathroom ensuite. I would HIGHLY recommend staying at this gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaubleFallsBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    259
    38
    14
    20
See reviews for
157
243
71
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Rana lodge of Gokarna Forest Resort for a night and spend weekend there. Room and bathroom both were luxuriously spacious and well decorated. Restuarent was quite good with variety and tasty foods. There was enough places playground for kids. The most wonderful experience was sauna, steam and jacuzzi. More you can see monkeys and deer coming live around the gulf course. I wished if I could sit at remote corner of hotel and do meditation for a day.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savya_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel. The property is beautifully tucked away in the forest. We checked in by a friendly lady named Lasta. She upgraded us to the club room which was a very spacious gorgeous room. She provided us with a complimentary wifi 24 hour wifi pass. There is only free wifi at the reception and bar. She also gave us a complimentary pass for the jacuzzi, steam and sauna area. They have an indoor pool and it is free to use and you dont need to pay for that.

There is a large golf course area and if you are into golf you would love it.
The nature walk was really nice and peaceful. The weather was lovely too for the walk.

They have a couple of nice restaurants. We pre booked the hunters lodge for dinner. It was a 6 course Nepali meal. We were hosted by a very friendly Nepali man who explained every course and also made sure we were comfortable through out. The restaurant however needs a couple of fans due to mosquitoes and it was a little hot too. And some soft music in the background would help too.

Being the forest you would think they would have a couple of animals (which would have been nice) however they have just 2 deers tucked away in a corner. The wild monkeys keep jumping around the property especially when they smell food but they have dedicated staff hunting them away. There wasnt too many anyway.

The last day we visited the spa and had a couples full body massage. It was nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank joannedcosta31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is the best one comparing with the Nepal capital hotels according to place, view, room size, staff, food and activity. I'm advising people to try the forest tour to see jangle live and monkeys. In this hotel you feel like you are living in a image not real.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mohd k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It is spread out and includes a full 18 hole scenic golf course extending through the gokarna forest. There are 3 restaurants to choose from and provides reasonable variety. The rooms are clean and the back up power is effective. They also have a functional temperature controlled indoor pool. The spa is slightly on the expensive side. The staff are welcoming and generally provide good info. The forest walk can be avoided in monsoon as there are leaches in the forest. I would have loved to have free WiFi across the property. ( they have it as paid into your rooms). There is only one shuttle in the day to thamel and its offered free. A hotel taxi to thamel will put you back by 15 dollars one way. So frequent shuttles could be good idea.
And finally, there are some loud parties / conferences in the courtyard making it inconvenient for courtyard facing guests. This can be party avoided by taking forest facing rooms.
But, definitely i would love to return to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldrint22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We were in India for two weeks prior to going to Kathmandu, and getting to the quiet luxury of Gokarna Forest was like being in a different world. We had considered canceling and staying somewhere in Kathmandu closer to the action, but after a couple of minutes that idea was history. You'll get all the city you need via the free shuttle and cab trips. They offer a car service to town which, although it's slightly more expensive than a regular cab, you don't have to haggle and you know you'll get a safe ride in a clean car. Like most high end hotels,a Gokarna charges extra for wifi in the rooms as well as other little things. All told though, such incidentals were less than we would have racked up on a similar stay at a US hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank claairey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

my first visit to Gokarna Forest Resort was back in 2004 or 2005 for my Musical Concert there, since then i've visited the place often whenever i have the time & opertunity , This Resort has been one of our Family's favorite and best place to go and have a nice short break , Great Hospitality , very Well managed clean and spacious rooms and also the bathrooms , staffs are well speaking , Greeting and caring , Foods are Awesome ... me and my boy Norvin we get up early morning then others in our family members , then we have a little walk there along side the trees then we go have the breakfast which is always very Delightful and with so many varieties, for Us ... every visit to Gokarna Forest Resort ... we have something new and Sweet memory to remember and cherish :D Good Luck and all The best Wishes Gokarna Resort family :D

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumbanima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
371 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,510 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,103 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,156 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#61 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gokarna Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gokarna Forest Resort

Property: Gokarna Forest Resort
Address: Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gokarna Forest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gokarna Forest Resort... A tranquil Heaven to quiet Hideaways.Situated within the city limits of Kathmandu, capital of Nepal, Gokarna Forest Resort is located inside the serene temperate Gokarna Forest, the former private Royal hunting grounds of the Kings of Nepal. A winding road climbs leads through the forest up to the main complex, comprising a mix of subtly majestic Malla period architecture, Rana period lodges, and sanctuaries harmoniously blending with nature. Further on exotic Forest View cottage rooms are set beside a century old restored Hunter's lodge. A quiet peaceful haven set between ancient towering trees with glimpses of the second fairway in the valley below make the perfect getaway for a few days of golf, relaxation and rejuvenation at the Spa, enchanting forest walks, and time close to nature. SPA & HEALTH CLUB Amongst majestic trees on the edge of a plateau overlooking Gokarna Forest and the grassed valley below, Harmony Spa combines therapeutic care with a natural environment impossible to recreate elsewhere. Included are a variety of rejuvenating courses, emphasizing Ayurvedic treatments within Ayura, a dedicated Ayurvedic treatment area, the Adam & Eve, and Serenity massage rooms. The Health club encompasses Apsara, the Beauty Treatment center, an indoor temperature controlled swimming pool, luxurious changing rooms each with a Sauna, Steam room, and Jacuzzi. The large well equipped gym, the finest in the country, overlooks the forest through large windows. GOLF COURSE Against the backdrop of the snow capped Himalayas, close to the heart of Kathmandu city, South Asia's finest, and one of the world's most spectacular Golf Resort Courses is stunningly set within 470 acres of the hundreds years old Gokarna Forest Reserve. Designed by David Kidd (Gleneagles Golf Developments of Scotland), the 6,715 yard par 72 course boasts the only Bent Grass Greens in South Asia, making it one of the highlights of the professional tour circuits in the region. The serenity and setting are overwhelming. Deer and monkey wander freely, as will the spirits of all who enter. Truly an enchanting sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gokarna Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gokarna Forest Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing