We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge old-fashioned rooms in an actual forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gokarna Forest Resort
Ranked #27 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Huge old-fashioned rooms in an actual forest”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Genuinely exciting to be given an enormous wood-floored room with a clean, well-fitted bathroom and spacious grounds. The dining area is a bit pokey and breakfast is actually cramped, but the forest trees in the grounds are lovely. In the evening there are deer, and monkeys are always about. Has the feel of an old British Club, if you know what I mean.

Room Tip: I was in the main building, above reception on 2nd floor. Very large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MugsVern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    261
    38
    15
    20
See reviews for
159
244
73
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is a very relaxing place to unwind from the manic streets of Kathmandu.
The staff are very good and attentive and the rooms are kept clean and are spacious.
The main part of the hotel has a good size bar which has discreet, Nepali music several times a week, which adds to the general atmosphere. The main restaurant serves breakfast, which is both Asian and Western, with a chef cooking a range of eggs etc.. In the evening it serves a wide selection of main meals and the occasional buffet evening. I feel there could be a bigger selection of Nepali/Indian dishes, but what they do offer is very good.
The hotel advertises a golf course and trekking around the extensive grounds which I think would be good, but my schedule did not permit me to try them out.
The situation is approx 10-15mins from the city centre, which gives it the tranquillity, but there are very few local bars etc nearby so a drive into the city is a must for sightseeing or change of dining facilities.
9/10 for this hotel and its well worth the stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnairflite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We booked online and reached Gokarna Forest Resort for some time away from daily hustle. Most importantly it was the wife's birthday which needed to be a memorable experience. It was everything we expected including great services and hospitality by Ms Nirmaya and hotel VP Mr Sherpa. We had lovely meals and comfort at the Mt 8848 bar served by Mr Deepak. Great golf course and decent Spa with jacuzzi added to the leisure. While I am no pro but the driving range was great. And the jacuzzi was heavenly. With lush green forests and walking trails this makes my favourite nature resort thus far. I will recommend it to all.
And just to add using international credit cards at the hotel is absolutely safe.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank prashant1agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

One of the best resort in katmandu, rooms and well done, restaurant ambiance is excellent pf food awesome, location of the resort is good. Staff are well trained and helpful. Inside the resort there is a small temple to do prayers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satishnagaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We reached Gokarna on the last day of our trip, being located 10 -20 min from thamel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, we actually got the best customer service in Nepal. I would really recommend Gokarna for at least 2 days of your stay in Nepal, as you can do many activities like golf, spa, yoga, horse riding, forest walks. Rooms are clean, food is great and you have many options. Best value to money hotel in Khatmandu.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura-Adriana-uae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiarton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My visit to this beautiful and peaceful oasis just minutes from the airport and the Thamel shopping area was absolutely the highlight of my trip to Nepal. I spent the last couple of nights at this resort and cannot compliment the staff enough. The food was delicious and the decor delightful. The barking deer and monkeys were an added bonus as was the spacious room with massive "Bali-style" bathroom ensuite. I would HIGHLY recommend staying at this gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaubleFallsBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Rana lodge of Gokarna Forest Resort for a night and spend weekend there. Room and bathroom both were luxuriously spacious and well decorated. Restuarent was quite good with variety and tasty foods. There was enough places playground for kids. The most wonderful experience was sauna, steam and jacuzzi. More you can see monkeys and deer coming live around the gulf course. I wished if I could sit at remote corner of hotel and do meditation for a day.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savya_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 201 in Kathmandu
379 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,078 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,119 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#63 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,057 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gokarna Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gokarna Forest Resort

Property: Gokarna Forest Resort
Address: Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gokarna Forest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gokarna Forest Resort... A tranquil Heaven to quiet Hideaways.Situated within the city limits of Kathmandu, capital of Nepal, Gokarna Forest Resort is located inside the serene temperate Gokarna Forest, the former private Royal hunting grounds of the Kings of Nepal. A winding road climbs leads through the forest up to the main complex, comprising a mix of subtly majestic Malla period architecture, Rana period lodges, and sanctuaries harmoniously blending with nature. Further on exotic Forest View cottage rooms are set beside a century old restored Hunter's lodge. A quiet peaceful haven set between ancient towering trees with glimpses of the second fairway in the valley below make the perfect getaway for a few days of golf, relaxation and rejuvenation at the Spa, enchanting forest walks, and time close to nature. SPA & HEALTH CLUB Amongst majestic trees on the edge of a plateau overlooking Gokarna Forest and the grassed valley below, Harmony Spa combines therapeutic care with a natural environment impossible to recreate elsewhere. Included are a variety of rejuvenating courses, emphasizing Ayurvedic treatments within Ayura, a dedicated Ayurvedic treatment area, the Adam & Eve, and Serenity massage rooms. The Health club encompasses Apsara, the Beauty Treatment center, an indoor temperature controlled swimming pool, luxurious changing rooms each with a Sauna, Steam room, and Jacuzzi. The large well equipped gym, the finest in the country, overlooks the forest through large windows. GOLF COURSE Against the backdrop of the snow capped Himalayas, close to the heart of Kathmandu city, South Asia's finest, and one of the world's most spectacular Golf Resort Courses is stunningly set within 470 acres of the hundreds years old Gokarna Forest Reserve. Designed by David Kidd (Gleneagles Golf Developments of Scotland), the 6,715 yard par 72 course boasts the only Bent Grass Greens in South Asia, making it one of the highlights of the professional tour circuits in the region. The serenity and setting are overwhelming. Deer and monkey wander freely, as will the spirits of all who enter. Truly an enchanting sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Gokarna Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gokarna Forest Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing