We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great to worse” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gokarna Forest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gokarna Forest Resort
Ranked #26 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great to worse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

we come every year to gokarna from the past three years as part of air arabia holidays and have always enjoyed the service and nature in Gokarna Resort, this time though we were in for a shock as the services have really taken a nose dive for the worse, to describe in our previous trips the general manager always used to chat with few of the guests and this would ensure that our small details were looked into, this time no gm and guests relations and the Staff spirit was also in the doldrums due to a clear lack of leadership and also were talking about the place being taken over by some new people

Still has spectacular nature but feel that from next year we shall be shifting to the Soltee

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markdevito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    250
    37
    13
    20
See reviews for
155
231
67
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

If you are looking for a quiet resort close to the airport then head here.

We spotted a leopard on the first night and deer on the second and were visited by lots of monkeys during lunch in the garden too!

It is a quiet, very friendly resort with a good bar and restaurant + spa + golf course.

Just a tip on the side - if you plan to do any travel/sightseeing arrangements - do NOT book them through the travel agency inside the resort! They totally overcharge! Rather contact an agent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

I went with my wife, children and friends family.
The whole ambience was superb, we just remember the good times we had there.
The spa was a treat and so was the indoor swimming pool. But the food was not good, specially for vegetarians, we just had plain rice as everything was no vegetarian. The golf course was also too good between the mountains. I recommend a 2 day visit.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjeevjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Its stunning, relaxing, lovely rooms and a must do if you are not going beyond the Valley. Gokarna Forest Resort made an amazing ending to our visit. We did not have too many days to head out to Pokhara or Chitwan or other locations, so decided to head here. Great decision- lovely break from the chaos of Kathmandu. Beautiful lush green surroundings and lovely service.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4evertravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

Although it is not part of Le Meridien anymore but owned now by an Indian businessman it is still a great escape from the hectic city centre. Located in the midst of a jungle forest with a nice spa and the most beautiful golf course and driving range I have ever seen. We stayed at Gokarna Forest Resort for 5 nights and enjoyed every day sitting in the sun at the Club House reading books and eating unch. Food is great, service good and the rooms in the main building are perfectly redecorated. I would reccommend to ask for a room in the main building with the large bathrooms and with private view.
The spa is nice, though men en woman have to stay apart in sauna, steam room etc. The pool is a bit dilapedated and only heated on Saturdays. The massages and treatments are excellent and very reasonable priced. The manager Murari is a very kind man and willing to help you out with anything. So if you want to escape the hectic city centre of Kathmandu to relax, read books, eat fine food, get massages etc. and play golf this is the place to be! And only a 45 minute drive by taxi from Thamel and a 25 minute drive to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChantalS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

After reading the review of the traveler from Dubai i was not looking forward to going to Gokarna...the airport, the road, the cold, the late night arrival did not make me believe otherwise, but...the moment I woke up on my first day in Gokarna and the last ten days have been an outstanding experience and an amazing time for me and my partner. I am coming from a part of the world (dubai) known for the best of service, the most expensive of hotels, the tallest of buildings and endless on money and that little place Gokarna, made all this look so insignificant and unimportant. The Tripti bar with its warm fireplace and amazing service, the Club House with its Thai chef - master of cuisine, the room service guys bringing me a carrot cake and a herbal tea at 3am when we couldn’t sleep, the housekeeping team taking care of my fresh pillow every time i left the room, The spa girls for their magical touch, the front desk friendly faces, the concierge - HUGE THANK YOU for keeping the most amazing place, I have never been so pampered and taken care of, every single time you guys went beyond the call of duty and made our stay truly fairytale like. i loved the golf course, Deepak and his golf lessons, Bishma and the forest walks. Gokarna is heaven on earth, i can not wait to go back there:)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiRalitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELHI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

excellent golf course. I have never been so close to nature, so green not an iota of pollution. Besides spas are good also something which i found interesting was planet bowl treatment therapy.Overall property is well maintained considering most of area is green with only small amount constructed in over 700 acres.
food costly.room are lavishly done.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROHITBAPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.6 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#7 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gokarna Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gokarna Forest Resort

Property: Gokarna Forest Resort
Address: Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gokarna Forest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gokarna Forest Resort... A tranquil Heaven to quiet Hideaways.Situated within the city limits of Kathmandu, capital of Nepal, Gokarna Forest Resort is located inside the serene temperate Gokarna Forest, the former private Royal hunting grounds of the Kings of Nepal. A winding road climbs leads through the forest up to the main complex, comprising a mix of subtly majestic Malla period architecture, Rana period lodges, and sanctuaries harmoniously blending with nature. Further on exotic Forest View cottage rooms are set beside a century old restored Hunter's lodge. A quiet peaceful haven set between ancient towering trees with glimpses of the second fairway in the valley below make the perfect getaway for a few days of golf, relaxation and rejuvenation at the Spa, enchanting forest walks, and time close to nature. SPA & HEALTH CLUB Amongst majestic trees on the edge of a plateau overlooking Gokarna Forest and the grassed valley below, Harmony Spa combines therapeutic care with a natural environment impossible to recreate elsewhere. Included are a variety of rejuvenating courses, emphasizing Ayurvedic treatments within Ayura, a dedicated Ayurvedic treatment area, the Adam & Eve, and Serenity massage rooms. The Health club encompasses Apsara, the Beauty Treatment center, an indoor temperature controlled swimming pool, luxurious changing rooms each with a Sauna, Steam room, and Jacuzzi. The large well equipped gym, the finest in the country, overlooks the forest through large windows. GOLF COURSE Against the backdrop of the snow capped Himalayas, close to the heart of Kathmandu city, South Asia's finest, and one of the world's most spectacular Golf Resort Courses is stunningly set within 470 acres of the hundreds years old Gokarna Forest Reserve. Designed by David Kidd (Gleneagles Golf Developments of Scotland), the 6,715 yard par 72 course boasts the only Bent Grass Greens in South Asia, making it one of the highlights of the professional tour circuits in the region. The serenity and setting are overwhelming. Deer and monkey wander freely, as will the spirits of all who enter. Truly an enchanting sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gokarna Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gokarna Forest Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing