We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”
Review of Trekkers' Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trekkers' Home
Ranked #14 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
belgium
Level Contributor
200 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Airport pickup was great, they were so friendly where we could see their cheerful smile from afar and we even became friend immediately! Trekkers home is situated in Thamel, shopping right at the entrance of the hostel. Nicely located Thamel area right near Pilgrim bookshop and lots of trekking gear shops. Staff are friendly and helpful.What more we ask for with from a budget hostel, a bit better than enough especially we have such a cheerful and helpful staff in the house. They show us no fuss even with the 100 question we gave them. We love your room with balcony, hot shower was just what we wanted and needed. Be sure to consider trekkers' home if you are visiting Kathmandu, experience yourself the great hospitality yet in a budget place!

Room Tip: The room not facing street are more quiter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank loo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    96
    26
    13
    14
See reviews for
29
105
162
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Staff is nice, no doubt about that... But: we had no hot water, the room was absolutely noisy (we could even hear our neighbours on the toilet) and we had cockroaches in our room.

Of course: USD 18 is not much per night... But after all the positive comments I would have never expected that.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had arranged the booking for 5 days over the phone and arrived after midnight. If we had arrived at a more civilized time we would not have stayed there for even one night. They showed us 3 rooms - the bathrooms were filthy. We chose the least terrible room. We had no choice but to stay one night as we had arrived so late. The shower was not usable as there was no cold water- the hot was scalding. They charged us $30 USD for the night. The next day we walked up the street and found a modern hotel- spotlessly clean, well run very friendly for 40 USD. The contrast was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SuzeHongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We booked the hotel through Agoda for 2 nights and had already full paid. We arrived the hotel at 22:30 on 19/9/2013. The hotel staff told us that they missed our reservation and the hotel was fully booked on that night. They however said that we could stay in an apartment at the rooftop.

The apartment was a mess. Chairs and the table were sticky. Beds were covered in dust. The apartment was very dirty and we killed 3 cockroaches. When we asked for the remote control for the air conditioner, the hotel staff gave us a remote of a different brand that could not turn on the air conditioner.

There was no hot water bath. Water leaked from the bathroom and water was everywhere in the bedroom. Water came out from the pipe was rusty and smelly.

We requested to change back to normal hotel room with twin beds immediately in the next morning. The hotel staff told us again that the hotel was fully booked on 20/9/2013 and said that we needed to stay in that apartment.

We had 2 friends coming to join us on 20/9/2013. A hotel reservation was made for them and fully paid through Ahoga as well. The hotel staff said that there was no room for my 2 friends and he was not aware that we had made a reservation. When we presented the hotel booking confirmation, the hotel staff said that he did not know the booking agent Agoda. He asked us to call Agoda to resolve the issue.

We spent a while to argue with the hotel staff in the lobby. The hotel staff finally said that we could move to Khangsar Guest House just around the corner of the street operated by the same boss. We agreed to move but that was another fully booked drama in Khangsar Guest House after we had a whole day activity and went back to Khangsar Guest House at night on 20/9/2013.

Though the location of both hotels are excellent, the hotels are not run honestly and rooms are overpriced. We finally moved to Dubar Square with way better service but just half price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vickie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This place is not as it looks, when u r at the hostel you will see how dirty and how run down this place is. The manager is all lies too, he won't admit he is the manager if something not going right. As you may not understand the language it's easier to fool u. He will answer back as no prob to everything but not really correct the issue.
- he lies about our rooms
- he booked our trip doubled our money (thought we won't realise )
- sent us to the opposite place we wanted to go
- booked us a flight gave us the wrong time, did not take responsibility to tell us let us miss it,
- rushed us everywhere
- was late in meeting us and laughed and said he was having breakfast with mates he will b another 30 mins
- we had to move rooms 4 times when staying here as the room taps were broken, toilet was leaking loads, water was cold and yellow.
We spent a lot of time waiting around.
- the trekking in not really that good, if your a trekker the trips he organises are poor
Chitwan is a good area- safari tour
Paragliding which we organised our self, we were told zip wire etc activities are closed which they were not
- and he told us himself he deletes the bad reviews takes up to 5 days

I would not recommend this place sorry to say.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hostel is in a great location, right in the centre of Thamel. The rooms are basic but have everything you need, a bed and bathroom ( even a balcony). It is clean and there is a fan in the rooms to stop it getting too hot at night, The staff were incredibly friendly and tried their best to be helpful. All of that for $4.25 a night. Book in advance though, cause on the day the prices get really high!

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are really nice, great place to have a drink in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLP93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This place provide good trekking. We took trekking for five days to Poon Hill with guide. It was really nice! We were very happy to see wonderful Nepal nature with help of this company and also we were lucky with nature.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#47 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trekkers' Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers' Home

Property: Trekkers' Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu’s historic landing pad for travelers,Trekkers’ Home offers comfortable accommodation for backpackers,trekkers and tourists from across the globe.We have a total of 40 guest rooms, among them single, double, triple and family suites, all of which are complete with en-suite bathrooms. Our guest rooms feature fair-trade, traditional Nepali decor, while ceilings and windows exhibit Tibetan carvings and color schemes. Twelve of our guest rooms have open-air balconies, and all guests are invited to enjoy our rooftop terrace, which offers fantastic views of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath and the LhakpaDorjee and Ganesh Himalayan ranges. We Provide Free High Speed Broad Band WiFi.Our central Thamel location makes for the perfect starting point to get acquainted with Thamel’s wide variety. Guests can easily explore Durbar Square (15-minute walk), the Narayanhity Royal Palace (10-minute walk), Swayambhunath, or the “Monkey Temple,” (25-minute walk), and many more of the city’s most famous attractions. Trekkers home is half a mile from the Garden of Dreams and one mile from the British Embassy.Our hotel is 20 minutes (7Km) car drive from Kathmandu International Airport. Similarly the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Tourist bus station and it is located central part of Thamel at J.P. road in front of Nepal Investment Bank Thamel. Taxi is the easiest way to get to our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Trekkers' Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing