We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic facilities, but clean and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trekkers' Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trekkers' Home
Ranked #14 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic facilities, but clean and great service”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for a total of 3 nights before and after doing the Everest Base Camp trek. The hotel facilities are simple, but it's clean and I found the service to be great. Clean sheets, clean bathroom, TV. Wifi worked ok for me, hot water took a little while to come out, but I think that's normal here.

Dip, the manager, is friendly, sharp, and took great care of us and did beyond what was expected to make us feel comfortable. I got sick during the trip, and without his help, attention, and efficiency, it could have turned out a total nightmare. The guys at the front desk are friendly also, and quite professional (from my observation of how they handled a group of difficult customers).

Cheers Dip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    92
    26
    13
    14
See reviews for
27
103
158
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Our trip in Kathmandu was very nice to take this hoer is very good location in tamel very comfortable and easy to relaxing time for eat ,shopping...,,Thank you for very good take care of us..see you again trekker home !!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natcha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Located right in the center of Thamel everything is close and easy to reach within minutes.
Rajendra, the hotel manager and his staff were more than helpful and always very friendly.
We stayed there in September and catching a flight to Lukla was more than just luck, with the help of Rajendra we got on a plane the third day...without him we would have waited even longer.
Also, they gave us good advise on how to get around in KTM, etc.
When we were there, there was a construction site right next door, which was a bit noisy, but construction should be finished by now.
The rooms were clean and tidy and for the money a real bargain.

All in all we enjoyed our stay there and when we return to KTM we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeNamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

In the summer of 2013 we, two Dutch girls, stayed in Trekkers' Home the first few days in Nepal. Rajendra, the hotel manager, has been wonderful, very helpful and sincere. The room was smaller than expected. Even though it wasn't a problem for us, Rajendra insisted us to move to an other (bigger room) with balcony. He arranged the best guide we could wish for our trekking in the Annapurna region. Sujan, you are the best! :)

Trekkers' Home is nice place to stay. It doesn't have the luxury europeans are used to, but it does have what you need. Trekkers' Home is a place where you'll feel welcome and secure. It's located in the heart of Thamel, which is the best place to stay in KTM. Rajendra and colleagues, thank you so much for your help and hospitality.

When we go back to Nepal, we'll go back to Trekkers' Home too.

Marjolein & Valerie from The Netherlands.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie_oOo_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
310 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I really can't understand the 4 and 5 ratings accorded by some reviewers. This place is in the heart of Thamel but there is little else in its favour. It is a grungy dingy place with service staff sleeping in the lobby and the breakfast room ( when we walked in for breakfast at 7.15 am), The owners are exploiting their staff as well as guests by such unethical practices. Wi-fi did not wok, lighting was poor and there was neither air-conditioning nor a fan in our room. We left after one night, I must admit the breakfast ( not buffet) was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jaytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to departing to go to the Annapurna Circuit. The room was very basic but was adequate for our needs. I can't say how it compares to other accommodation in Thamel/Kathmandu but it was more expensive than some nicer places that we stayed in in Pokhara. It is, however, right in the centre of Thamel and is well placed for getting your bearings. Due to it's location, some rooms can be a little noisy so if you're after a quiet, early night, ear plugs maybe useful.

The staff and the manager here were all very helpful and typified the warm, hospitable and friendly nature of most Nepalis we met during our time in the country. They were kind enough to store some of our things for us whilst we were away trekking and they were safely returned to us at the end of our holiday. They made no charge for this, despite the fact the we had changed our travel plans to leave early and so didn't stay another night at the hotel. We were offered the use of the showers and were very kindly offered tea also as we popped on in and out on the final day of our trip before departing to the airport. Without exception, the staff were all very nice and friendly.

For basic rooms and a warm Nepalese reception in the heart of Thamel I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisF1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was in Nepal for almost two months this Summer with a friend and we stayed at Trekkers' Home over four times during our trip. We managed to book the perfect trek through Trekkers' Home after the manager sat with us and planned out a trip that was perfectly designed for our needs and included an excellent guide to accompany us on our trek. The staff are very honest and friendly and the atmosphere is very comforting. The perfect place to stay for Trekkers that are looking for a comfortable base in Kathmandu for their trip around Nepal. The staff's generosity and the comfortable accommodation paired with the reasonable price kept us coming back to Trekkers' Home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ehab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#1 of 193 in Kathmandu
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 193 in Kathmandu
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trekkers' Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers' Home

Property: Trekkers' Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu’s historic landing pad for travelers,Trekkers’ Home offers comfortable accommodation for backpackers,trekkers and tourists from across the globe.We have a total of 40 guest rooms, among them single, double, triple and family suites, all of which are complete with en-suite bathrooms. Our guest rooms feature fair-trade, traditional Nepali decor, while ceilings and windows exhibit Tibetan carvings and color schemes. Twelve of our guest rooms have open-air balconies, and all guests are invited to enjoy our rooftop terrace, which offers fantastic views of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath and the LhakpaDorjee and Ganesh Himalayan ranges. We Provide Free High Speed Broad Band WiFi.Our central Thamel location makes for the perfect starting point to get acquainted with Thamel’s wide variety. Guests can easily explore Durbar Square (15-minute walk), the Narayanhity Royal Palace (10-minute walk), Swayambhunath, or the “Monkey Temple,” (25-minute walk), and many more of the city’s most famous attractions. Trekkers home is half a mile from the Garden of Dreams and one mile from the British Embassy.Our hotel is 20 minutes (7Km) car drive from Kathmandu International Airport. Similarly the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Tourist bus station and it is located central part of Thamel at J.P. road in front of Nepal Investment Bank Thamel. Taxi is the easiest way to get to our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trekkers' Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing