We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trekkers' Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trekkers' Home
Ranked #13 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
West Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Trekkers Home is in a great location and easily found in Thamel. There are many great restaurants around the hotel and the restaurant at the hotel was pretty good as well. Staff at this hotel are very friendly. We stored our bag at the hotel for free while leaving for a trek to Lukla and came back to find it safe and sound. Room and bathroom were pretty clean and we had hot water during our stay. As you may know electricity will go out at certain times but if you plan right you’ll be fine. We stayed two nights and it was great. You really can’t beat the location. I didn’t try out the spa but there is one right inside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTravelerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    89
    26
    12
    13
See reviews for
26
102
154
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Trekker`s home is settled in the heart of Thamel, place where you want to be in Kathmandu. Rooms are great. For money we paid it was a really good deal. You`ll have hot water, clean bathroom, good bed, only thing you need to know is- if you prefer clean water and full time electricity you`ll need to book a really expensive hotel. That`s just situation in Kathmandu.
It is also posible to organise a trekking in entrance hall. The menager of hotel used to be a trekker`s guide so you can rely on his advice. We reccomend Ray- he was our guide, and I have only nice words to say.

Room Tip: ask for the room 206 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sara j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We arrived in Kathmandu exhausted and with a 2 day booking with Trekkers home. Staff were very friendly and helpful, we ended up staying a further 3 nights and booking our trek through the manager - who has made our stay great. They provided great advice on where to visit eat and general information of Kathmandu, to say we were 3 fresh off the boat travellers.

If I come back in the future I would be using Trekkers home again.

Room Tip: We made our booking and requested a balcony. Great if you want a drink or watch the world go by when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peapeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I arrived in Kathmandu and checked in at about 11pm however the main gate to the guesthouse were locked and I spent a good 20 mins trying to contact the staff. No doubt that the staff are a bunch of friendly young guys who went out of their way to get me bottled water the morning after. However upon check in, I was given a really run-down room upon check in. Room was not very tidy and the toilet was extremely dirty. Water running out of both the shower and the taps were a milky brown and there was no hot water. Thankfully I found another accommodation in Thamel for the same price but with much better facilities. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buttheadgurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The place has quite a few positive elements to it. The rooms are reasonable for the price, it has a good indian restaurant, helpful staff and it's also a good place to book tours if that's what your after. Would stay again I think.

Room Tip: Just check to see if any construction work is going on outside. Get a room with a balcony...good luc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakskov, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel for 11 days in our room with balcony.
The hotel driver picked us up at the airport without problems.
The staff was very helpful all the time.
The manager arranged a wonderful trip for us to Nagarkot with a private driver.
We enjoyed drinking coffe and tea on the hotel's roof terrace in the sun.
We have no complaints.
Most joyful greetings to them all from the grey haired couple from Denmark :o)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solagna, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

the place is a very good deal for Thamel and Kathmandu, in a good location with lovely staff. It's a budget guest house with the basic services. When I was there they where doing a lot of renovations so soon it will get even better. just one tip: If you don't want a noisy room (very difficult to find in Thamel) just ask to have one in the upper floors.

Room Tip: just ask for the upper floors rooms less noisy and more cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dario f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#43 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#15 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#11 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trekkers' Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers' Home

Property: Trekkers' Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu’s historic landing pad for travelers,Trekkers’ Home offers comfortable accommodation for backpackers,trekkers and tourists from across the globe.We have a total of 40 guest rooms, among them single, double, triple and family suites, all of which are complete with en-suite bathrooms. Our guest rooms feature fair-trade, traditional Nepali decor, while ceilings and windows exhibit Tibetan carvings and color schemes. Twelve of our guest rooms have open-air balconies, and all guests are invited to enjoy our rooftop terrace, which offers fantastic views of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath and the LhakpaDorjee and Ganesh Himalayan ranges. We Provide Free High Speed Broad Band WiFi.Our central Thamel location makes for the perfect starting point to get acquainted with Thamel’s wide variety. Guests can easily explore Durbar Square (15-minute walk), the Narayanhity Royal Palace (10-minute walk), Swayambhunath, or the “Monkey Temple,” (25-minute walk), and many more of the city’s most famous attractions. Trekkers home is half a mile from the Garden of Dreams and one mile from the British Embassy.Our hotel is 20 minutes (7Km) car drive from Kathmandu International Airport. Similarly the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Tourist bus station and it is located central part of Thamel at J.P. road in front of Nepal Investment Bank Thamel. Taxi is the easiest way to get to our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Trekkers' Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing