We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trekkers home is a budget friendly”
Review of Trekkers' Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trekkers' Home
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“trekkers home is a budget friendly”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

First of all..thank you very much to Mr Raj.He is very helpful and made our stay and travel soo wonderful.What i can say is he provided everything perfect..Staff also very friendly and helpful.Again to Mr Rajendra...thank you very much and hope to see u again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottoe_juliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    96
    26
    13
    14
See reviews for
32
106
169
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Trekkers Home is in a great location and easily found in Thamel. There are many great restaurants around the hotel and the restaurant at the hotel was pretty good as well. Staff at this hotel are very friendly. We stored our bag at the hotel for free while leaving for a trek to Lukla and came back to find it safe and sound. Room and bathroom were pretty clean and we had hot water during our stay. As you may know electricity will go out at certain times but if you plan right you’ll be fine. We stayed two nights and it was great. You really can’t beat the location. I didn’t try out the spa but there is one right inside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTravelerL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Trekker`s home is settled in the heart of Thamel, place where you want to be in Kathmandu. Rooms are great. For money we paid it was a really good deal. You`ll have hot water, clean bathroom, good bed, only thing you need to know is- if you prefer clean water and full time electricity you`ll need to book a really expensive hotel. That`s just situation in Kathmandu.
It is also posible to organise a trekking in entrance hall. The menager of hotel used to be a trekker`s guide so you can rely on his advice. We reccomend Ray- he was our guide, and I have only nice words to say.

Room Tip: ask for the room 206 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sara j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We arrived in Kathmandu exhausted and with a 2 day booking with Trekkers home. Staff were very friendly and helpful, we ended up staying a further 3 nights and booking our trek through the manager - who has made our stay great. They provided great advice on where to visit eat and general information of Kathmandu, to say we were 3 fresh off the boat travellers.

If I come back in the future I would be using Trekkers home again.

Room Tip: We made our booking and requested a balcony. Great if you want a drink or watch the world go by when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peapeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I arrived in Kathmandu and checked in at about 11pm however the main gate to the guesthouse were locked and I spent a good 20 mins trying to contact the staff. No doubt that the staff are a bunch of friendly young guys who went out of their way to get me bottled water the morning after. However upon check in, I was given a really run-down room upon check in. Room was not very tidy and the toilet was extremely dirty. Water running out of both the shower and the taps were a milky brown and there was no hot water. Thankfully I found another accommodation in Thamel for the same price but with much better facilities. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buttheadgurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The place has quite a few positive elements to it. The rooms are reasonable for the price, it has a good indian restaurant, helpful staff and it's also a good place to book tours if that's what your after. Would stay again I think.

Room Tip: Just check to see if any construction work is going on outside. Get a room with a balcony...good luc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakskov, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel for 11 days in our room with balcony.
The hotel driver picked us up at the airport without problems.
The staff was very helpful all the time.
The manager arranged a wonderful trip for us to Nagarkot with a private driver.
We enjoyed drinking coffe and tea on the hotel's roof terrace in the sun.
We have no complaints.
Most joyful greetings to them all from the grey haired couple from Denmark :o)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 203 in Kathmandu
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 203 in Kathmandu
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 203 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trekkers' Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers' Home

Property: Trekkers' Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu’s historic landing pad for travelers,Trekkers’ Home offers comfortable accommodation for backpackers,trekkers and tourists from across the globe.We have a total of 40 guest rooms, among them single, double, triple and family suites, all of which are complete with en-suite bathrooms. Our guest rooms feature fair-trade, traditional Nepali decor, while ceilings and windows exhibit Tibetan carvings and color schemes. Twelve of our guest rooms have open-air balconies, and all guests are invited to enjoy our rooftop terrace, which offers fantastic views of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath and the LhakpaDorjee and Ganesh Himalayan ranges. We Provide Free High Speed Broad Band WiFi.Our central Thamel location makes for the perfect starting point to get acquainted with Thamel’s wide variety. Guests can easily explore Durbar Square (15-minute walk), the Narayanhity Royal Palace (10-minute walk), Swayambhunath, or the “Monkey Temple,” (25-minute walk), and many more of the city’s most famous attractions. Trekkers home is half a mile from the Garden of Dreams and one mile from the British Embassy.Our hotel is 20 minutes (7Km) car drive from Kathmandu International Airport. Similarly the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Tourist bus station and it is located central part of Thamel at J.P. road in front of Nepal Investment Bank Thamel. Taxi is the easiest way to get to our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Trekkers' Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing