We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be #1 not #13”
Review of Trekkers' Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trekkers' Home
Ranked #15 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Such a good hotel with amazing location. Such friendly staff who always help you out. I am going back to Kathmandu 3 times this year and will be staying at Trekkers Home every time. Any traveller looking to discover the best bits of Kathmandu would find it tough to find a better place than this. #jcon

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelBicepsConstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Hotel is perfect for tourists looking for a great deal. The staff were outstandingly helpful and friendly. The rooms whilst not amazing were clean and spacious. Great location, great people, great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoreyLr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with 17 other travellers in my group before and after going around Nepal and trekking to Annapurna Base Camp. The rooms were very spacious with nice views and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Trekkers' Home is also in the perfect location in Thamel as it is next to some great shops and restaurants, everywhere you may need to go is easily accessible. Thankyou for the lovely time, will definitely be visiting again next time I'm in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Deep (The manager) was extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We organised our trekking to Chisopani and Nagarkot also with him and had a really enjoyable time. After spending time away we again returned to stay here as we were very very pleased with the service. We were filthy after a day's sightseeing and had checked out but they allowed us to have a shower and get washed before our flight. In the centre of things in Thamel and near a really good restaurant "Roadhouse" - we were repeat customers due to the high quality food.

Room Tip: Recommend standard room with balcony- basic rooms are dark
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a month during our medical elective.
It is easy to find. The location is quite convenient for people who will be staying for a short period of time as it is close to shops and restaurant. It also has a restaurant inside the same building.
Cosy bedroom although sometimes it could be quite warm inside the room especially when the electricity was off. Sometimes the water in the shower was a bit rusty. Otherwise, no major problem. The staffs were very warm and friendly. They are so helpful and helped us a lot during our stay. Kind of missing them welcoming us home after we got back from hospital everyday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zayana_Mahmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at trekkers home on and off throughout our travels in Nepal and cannot recommend this place enough. The rooms are clean and the location could not be better, but the real appealing quality of trekkers home comes from the warmth and helpfulness of every staff member. From our greeting at the airport we were made to feel welcome in Kathmandu, and an outstanding level of service continued throughout our stay. Dip, the manager, will help you organise any treks / further travels and you will leave as friends ! Our home from home on our travels, will not forget or stay here. All the best, Lisa and Becky x

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodenra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Nice cheap hotel in the centre of Thamel with friendly staff. The room wasn't perfect - sheets could have been cleaner and water in the shower smelt a bit 'rusty' but no major problems and would consider going back if I just needed somewhere cheap for a night or 2.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#28 of 210 in Kathmandu
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trekkers' Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers' Home

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £7 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu’s historic landing pad for travelers,Trekkers’ Home offers comfortable accommodation for backpackers,trekkers and tourists from across the globe.We have a total of 40 guest rooms, among them single, double, triple and family suites, all of which are complete with en-suite bathrooms. Our guest rooms feature fair-trade, traditional Nepali decor, while ceilings and windows exhibit Tibetan carvings and color schemes. Twelve of our guest rooms have open-air balconies, and all guests are invited to enjoy our rooftop terrace, which offers fantastic views of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath and the LhakpaDorjee and Ganesh Himalayan ranges. We Provide Free High Speed Broad Band WiFi.Our central Thamel location makes for the perfect starting point to get acquainted with Thamel’s wide variety. Guests can easily explore Durbar Square (15-minute walk), the Narayanhity Royal Palace (10-minute walk), Swayambhunath, or the “Monkey Temple,” (25-minute walk), and many more of the city’s most famous attractions. Trekkers home is half a mile from the Garden of Dreams and one mile from the British Embassy.Our hotel is 20 minutes (7Km) car drive from Kathmandu International Airport. Similarly the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Tourist bus station and it is located central part of Thamel at J.P. road in front of Nepal Investment Bank Thamel. Taxi is the easiest way to get to our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trekkers' Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing