We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kathmandu Home Hotel
Ranked #83 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

At only $20 a night for a double ensuite room, this place is a bargain. Free wifi, breakfast included, smart rooms with comfortable bed, tv and good shower. The hotel is located just off a main street in thamel so it's a bit quieter than some of the other budget options. It's conveniently located for buses to pokhara and chitwan too. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Guest (owl_428)
Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
It is our pleasure to have you as our guest to experience and discover what we can offer to our guest without paying steep rates which do not commensurate with the facilities available.
True, our location is also one reason why our valued guests choose to stay with us, as we are within walking distance to shops, restaurants, the local markets, bus stations and sightseeing etc….
We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a budget hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest with our warm Nepalese hospitality as our guest's satisfaction is our main concern.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and re-discover…..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just expirienced the superb hospitality and Support from all the Hotel Team from Kathmandu home Hotel . Especially the owner / Manager Sujan is a real specialist in organising and providing the daily needs for travel , Transport , trekking etc . I really feel welcome and it was not my first expirience with Sujan and staff - I always feel like at home and defenately plan already for another trip next year . A place I always would reccommend to my best friends . Elke from Austria

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elkeFGraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest (elkeFGraz)
Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

Our team at Kathmandu Home are delighted that they have made a difference to your stay with our warm Nepalese hospitality. Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to meet our objectives.
We also thank you for having place your trust in us to arrange your travelling needs/ itinerary within Nepal, and with every satisfied customer, we are confident that we are delivering the right product and service that all travelers to my beautiful country expects.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we look forward to welcome you back soon.


Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and experience……

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

It was amazing experience to stay in this hotel.rooms are nice & clean,Staffs are well trained. Definitely I will come back to stay again & recomand to my friends Thanks Mr. Sanam for making our holiday memorable.excellent Hotel.......:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest (Dev M )

Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!!


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and it is our pleasure to have you as our guest.

We recognize that our staff is our greatest asset and the management had put in great effort to develop them as customer’s satisfaction is our main concern.

We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced. Though a budget hotel, our team at Kathmandu Home Hotel take pride in delivering great value to our guest and would be delighted to go the extra mile to create a memorable experience for our guest.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and re-discover….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

i feel this hotel like a my second home. staffs are friendly and helpful, nice. hotel provides complimentry breakfast and mineral water. hotel manager manish,he help me to organize my trip in kathmandu with good price of package. 24 hour hot water is avaible and free wifi in rooms also. i enjoyed this hotel very much. i will recommend this hotel to everyone. i love this place and miss this place. i will like to stay here again in my future visit and suggest my friend to go to this hotel who are planning to go to nepal. thank you very much hotel kathmandu home hotel and staff for making my stay beautiful.

Room Tip: front room with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank li j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest (li J)
Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

Our team at Kathmandu Home are delighted that they have made a difference to your stay with our warm Nepalese hospitality.
We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest. Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to meet our objectives.
We also thank you for having place your trust in us to arrange your travel itinerary within Nepal, and with every satisfied customer, we are confident that we are delivering the right product and service that all travelers to my beautiful country expects.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.


Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and experience……

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Hmm its amazing. In the middle of the tourist place which provide everthng for fun. It provides facilities for trekking with approchable price. From housekeeping to guest recive its great. Recieves guest from airport.as well as can be done booking online also. It also provides tranaport facilities as well as visit to pokhara, nagarkot, lumbini, janakpur and many more places which are more influenced by tourist. There is package facilities for visit. As well as u can njy free wifi facilities

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loven182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest (Loven182)
Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
It is our pleasure to have you as our guest to experience and to discover what we can offer to our guest as, our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.

We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a budget hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest with our warm Nepalese hospitality.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and re-discover…..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

i like this hotel very much and my stay was beautiful. room was very clean nice bed was very comfortable.very peace hotel no distrub. i would like to recommend this hotel to everyone. i will like to stay this hotel again in my next visit to nepal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yuanyuan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest (yuanyuan s)
Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
It is our pleasure to have you as our guest to experience and discover what we can offer to our guest without paying steep rates which do not commensurate with the facilities available.
We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a budget hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest with our warm Nepalese hospitality.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and re-discover…..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Absolutely fantastic stay. Initially arrived in Kathmandu at the end of July and had stayed in a nearby hotel that was $45 a night. This place is less that half of that and was so much better!!

Upon returning to Kathmandu after a month of trekking and 'roughing it', my girlfriend and I wanted to stay in a place that was clean and comfortable and within our budget. Less than $20/night and we ended up staying here for 6 nights before our onward travel. Can honestly say for the price it will be difficult to stay somewhere this good!

We had a double room - think it was a standard room. It was fairly small, but fine for us. Mattress was very comfortable as opposed to some other stays. Powerful A.C which kept the room cool. TV with english channels, wifi, bottled water. Bathroom was small again, but fine for our needs. There are powercuts from time to time which can make the room a bit hot, but this is no fault of the hotel. Anyway I'm pretty sure all the rooms have windows.

The location is ideal, and easy walking distance to nearby restaurants and shops. Could also walk to the Garden of Dreams which i highly recommend. Breakfast was good and on a rooftop terrace, although we didn't make it every day! (Check out Gaia for breakfast if you don't make it in time at the hotel!) Also try roadhouse, Phat Kath, Or2K.

Staff were very friendly, and room was cleaned every day. Valuables were left in the room, but everything was tidied and kept in its place by the cleaners. Possibly one improvement could be adding a safe to each room. Guys at reception helped organise taxi's to the airport and the monkey temple.

Lastly i was generally impressed with the finish and decor of the rooms. Nice wooden floors, and furniture - helped add to its class.

HIGHLY recommend. For the price, location and comfort - you can't go wrong.

NB- turn left out of the hotel and there is a shop on the left where a lady does laundry for 50rs/kilo (has a blue sign, can't remember the name) . She sells lots of cool winter hats, gloves, scarves which she makes herself and is great to chat to - worth checking out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suraj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest (Suraj P)
Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest with our warm Nepalese hospitality.

Though a budget hotel, we take pride in listening and understanding our guest’s needs and to ensure that our guest's needs are met wherever possible. We will continue to be responsive to our guest's evolving needs as well as up our service standards by going the extra mile to create a great experience for our guests as their satisfaction is our main concern.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and re-discover…..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#86 of 209 in Kathmandu
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#13 of 209 in Kathmandu
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#39 of 209 in Kathmandu
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Horizon
Hotel Blue Horizon
#87 of 209 in Kathmandu
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#20 of 209 in Kathmandu
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 209 in Kathmandu
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Home Hotel

Address: Jyatha, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £16 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Home Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kathmandu Home Nepal is nestled in a peaceful and leafy setting of the ‘Tourist Hub’ of Nepal, Thamel. Hotel Kathmandu Home Nepal is an art-deco budget hotel offering rooms of spectacular opulence and 5 star rated services. It is a 3 minute walk to the strategic shopping zone that offers multi cuisine restaurants, trekking gears, souvenirs, discotheques, bookshops, ATMs, money exchange etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Kathmandu Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing