We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kathmandu Home Hotel
Ranked #81 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel staffs are very attentive and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

One of the staff Dinesh managed to give me the tour info and advised me not to over pay if i would o take a cab back to Thamel from Boudhanath.

I missed their masala coffee tea as well. Great job Sanam.

Room Tip: Quite room and comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!
We thank you for sharing about your stay with us and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

Our location is also one reason why our valued guests choose to stay with us, as we are within walking distance to shops, restaurants and sightseeing etc….
Though a budget hotel, we, our team at Kathmandu Home Hotel, take pride in delivering great value to our guest and would be delighted to go the extra mile to create a great experience for our guest.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and re-Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Biggest room is 1 queen bed and a single only ... Not as posted in the expedia booking website ... They do provide airport shuttle ... The police training early in the morning ... Bit noisy if you intend to sleep in late

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank TerenceOpulence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
It is our pleasure to have you as our guest to experience and discover what we can offer to our guest without paying steep rates which might not even commensurate with the facilities available.
Our location is also one reason why our valued guests choose to stay with us, as we are within walking distance to shops, restaurants, the local markets and sightseeing etc….
We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a budget hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest with our warm Nepalese hospitality.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and re-discover…..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel stuff picked me from Airport in time and took me to the hotel. I got warm reception with welcome drinks and they took care of my all the needs when I settle down to hotel room. I must suggest people who will trip to Kathmandu for a try to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahasannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Namaste and greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.
We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Our team at Kathmandu Home wishes you all the best.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and re-discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I arrived in Kathmandu around 10:30pm and was supposed to be picked up by the hotel with my name on a board. They did not show up. I phoned the hotel which without a Nepal SIM card is going to be ridiculously expensive. They told me to take a cab and they would reimburse me for it, which they did.

My room was on the 1st floor and had a double bed and a single bed. I was surprised how comfy the beds were as I was expecting the typical hard Asian bed. Had good pillows too. Other than some patches of the walls, the room was clean. Good lighting in the rooms as well.

Wifi was very good. Breakfast consisted of juice, tea or coffee, eggs, veggies and hash browns, and toast and was very tasty!

Sujan who ran this hotel and the sister hotel, hotel peak point, was a great help, lots of patience with my multiple questions for the tour for Annapurna sanctuary we booked through them. He also even went so far as to take me on his bike to the china embassy to apply for my china visa the one day.

On our last night after the trek, this hotel was full so they put us in the sister hotel across the road which was fine, and then treated us to supper that night which was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel.
We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay in our Home which you had also considered as your home in Nepal.

We recognize that our staff is our greatest asset and the management had put in much effort to develop them. Our team will continue to strive to deliver great service to our guest and would go the extra mile for guest to discover and experience.

Our location is also one reason why our valued guests choose to stay with us, as we are within walking distance to shops, restaurants and sightseeing etc….
We thank you for making Kathmandu Home Hotel your choice of accommodation while in my beautiful country, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and re-discover ………

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff was most helpful upon our arrival during the election day of Nepal, in which the taxi community of Kathmandu went for a strike. Nice breakfast served on the rooftop with great scenery, hot shower and a quiet environment made a great and pleasant stay for us. Great hotel staff and good value for money.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home
We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Though a budget hotel, we take pride in listening and understanding our guest’s needs and to ensure that our guest's needs are met wherever possible. We will continue to be responsive to our guest's evolving needs as well as up our service standards by going the extra mile to create a great experience for our guests.
We regret that we are unable to provide more than 1 big bottle of free drinking water per day per room as we have budgets for what we can provide free taking into consideration that our other facilities have more than surpass what other hotels can offer. I believe, this is also the practice of all other hotels, whether in Nepal or in other countries if they do provide (2 small bottles). For the convenience of guest, guest can approach our reception to request for extra bottles of drinking water which comes with a charge.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our arrival coincide with the election day, which the taxi community of Kathmandu went on a strike. Fortunately, the hotel send a staff to look for us when we were lost in Thamel. Manish, the manager was most helpful in arranging a great trekking trip for us, even accompanied us to shop for relevant equipment. The staff are attentive, always smiling and greeting us all the time. Great value for money. I had a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GunawanChee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
It is our pleasure to have you as our guest to experience and discover what we can offer to our guest without paying steep rates which might not even commensurate with the facilities available.
Our location is also one reason why our valued guests choose to stay with us, as we are within walking distance to shops, restaurants, the local markets and sightseeing etc….
We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced as we strive to be a budget hotel that delivers great value and service to our guest with our warm Nepalese hospitality.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and re-discover…..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We made last minute arrangements to stay here and although we only booked a standard room, they upgraded us to a deluxe for no extra charge. They originally thought we may have to move over the road to their sister hotel for our second night but went out of their way to allow us to stay there instead. The room was lovely with a comfortable bed and a really thick good quality duvet instead of the usual blankets. The wifi worked well and the staff were really helpful and efficient. Although the deal is a free airport pickup not drop off, they even gave us a free taxi to the airport on leaving. The hotel is conveniently located in the Thamel area. Breakfast was adequate although if a good selection is important to you it may not be for you. The standard breakfast was omelette fried potato and toast, fruit juice, tea or coffee. I did have the rice porridge the first day as an alternative and they were always concerned that we were happy. Overall it's a good value clean place to stay and highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in November and you wouldn't need to pay extra for air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jilly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBornInNepal, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!
We thank you for sharing about your stay with us and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

Our location is also one reason why our valued guests choose to stay with us, as we are within walking distance to shops, restaurants and sightseeing etc….
Though a budget hotel, we, our team at Kathmandu Home Hotel, take pride in delivering great value to our guest and would be delighted to go the extra mile to create a great experience for our guest.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and re-Discover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#13 of 207 in Kathmandu
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#94 of 207 in Kathmandu
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#7 of 207 in Kathmandu
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Horizon
Hotel Blue Horizon
#83 of 207 in Kathmandu
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#39 of 207 in Kathmandu
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Home Hotel

Address: Jyatha, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £17 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Home Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kathmandu Home Nepal is nestled in a peaceful and leafy setting of the ‘Tourist Hub’ of Nepal, Thamel. Hotel Kathmandu Home Nepal is an art-deco budget hotel offering rooms of spectacular opulence and 5 star rated services. It is a 3 minute walk to the strategic shopping zone that offers multi cuisine restaurants, trekking gears, souvenirs, discotheques, bookshops, ATMs, money exchange etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Kathmandu Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing