We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Comfortable Hotel”
Review of Hotel Norbu Linka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Norbu Linka
Ranked #95 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location and Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Buffet breakfast was great! Food in restaurant very good. Ate many meals there. Rooms were clean and comfortable.Always hot water. Staff was extremely helpful. Best location in Thamel. Located in the heart of Thamel in a quiet area which is unusual in Kathmandu. Our group used their services for local tours and then a trek out of Pokhara and they handled everything perfectly. We stayed again upon our return. Would recommend this hotel highly. Staying here was the best decision we made on our trip. We were treated like royalty. Rooftop was a great place to relax
in evenings. All in all a really convenient and great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 117billb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello Bill,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.

Thanks for choosing Hotel Norbu Linka and hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    63
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
35
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Izegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in Norbu Linka for 4 nights in total The hotel is very clean and based within 2 minutes of central Thamel. We The beds are incredibly comfortable (not hard like many of the places we stayed in) and really nice showers too (always important). There is
The hotel staff were very friendly and help full. The food was Great we ate every evening in it hotel, There is lots of choices. The sizzler steak was great.
The buffet breakfast was very good.
You could get Cool water from the big bottles that where in it hotel (really very nice)
Everyone was so friendly .
What also makes it hotel a great place is that the people that were in it hotel were from around the world and if you were sitting in the lounge or outside on the bar people would always come and talk to you and tell you from the great adventure they had that day.
I can only say this is the place to be to enjoy the Kathmandu area.
Thank you everyone from the staff for our enjoyable time with you!!!!
Roeland & Vera Belgium

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikerIzegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi Roeland & Vera !

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team and we are glad to know you like our overall service and hospitality. Customer service is our 1st priority and we always work very hard to deliver out of the box service to you.As most of our Staff members have been working with us for over 15 years, that's where the sense of ownership arises and you get that extra mile of service.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and encouraging us with your sincere appreciation. We do hope your memorable experience will bring you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great hotel! Rooms are clean and comfortable. Always hot water in shower. Great accomodation. There is not much noise in the morning outside but at the same time it is situated right in the centre of Thamel.

Room Tip: Dont hesitate - choose this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Liza,

We are pleased to receive your nice review and your satisfaction with our services. Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they all are proud to hear about your review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, photo and recommending our hotel. We do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed in Norbu Linka for 5 nights in total (sandwiching a visit and trek from Pokhara). The hotel is very clean and based within 2 minutes of central Thamel. We treated ourselves to a suite room on our first stay and a standard double on our return. It was a luxury to have the extra space in the former and worth paying the extra if you can afford it. The beds are incredibly comfortable (not hard like many of the places we stayed in) and really nice showers too (always important). There is a small roof patio which we missed on our first stay, which is a nice place to relax in the evening. The hotel staff were very friendly and helped us to arrange taxi's and buses out of town (though if you want the latter, and have a tight budget, its worth going straight to the bus companies to save the paying the commission). Some of the food was a bit hit and miss, but there are lots of options in the local area if it doesn't take your fancy. We would highly recommend the Thamel Restaurant just round the corner which was superb.

Overall; clean, helpful staff and great location. Definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are well worth the extra, especially if 3 people are sharing a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_and_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Rick_and_Amy !

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. As customer service is our 1st priority and we always work very hard to deliver out of the box service to you.As most of our Staff members have been working with us for over 15 years, that's where the sense of ownership arises and you get that extra mile of service. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue with efforts to make us a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and encouraging us with your sincere appreciation. We do hope your memorable experience will bring you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esfahan, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I had a joyful trip staying in hotel Norbulinka, Kathmandu, the price was reasonable in comparison with services; very kind and warm hospitality, clean rooms, central warming(we were there in winter), sense of security(because I was solo), and in center of thamel, near many shopping centers and some places like dream garden. I advice people who prefer a comfortable place to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reihane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear reihane,

We are pleased to receive your nice review and your satisfaction with our services. Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they all are proud to hear about your review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and recommending our hotel. We do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

For the independent traveller, the Hotel Norbu Linka is an ideal place to stay in this magical city. It's location is perfect with all the sites of special interest in the centre within easy walking distance eg. the Garden of Dreams, the Royal Palace Museum, Durbar Square, and of course, Thamel. However what really makes this hotel stand out is the incredible standard of service. Nothing is too much trouble for the ever smiling and helpful staff. We had a particular reason to see this in action when we arrived because our cases had not been put on our plane so didn't arrive with us.The hotel manager himself, Mr Sukman Tamang, made numerous phone calls on our behalf, and then, next morning, came with us to the airport to help us reclaim them.

This was just one example of the kindness and support we experienced during our week at this hotel. From the airport pickup on arrival, through checking-in with the amazing Reception team, and the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, you just feel safe and relaxed here. This means you can fully enjoy your stay in Kathmandu. To help you do this, Mr Bijay Prakash Adhikari, the Tour Manager, is always available to offer suggestions for any itinerary you want to arrange. We found the guide he book for us for two days (Tek) was simply extraordinarily good - we learnt so much more from him in Patan, Pashaputinath, and Bhaktapur, than if we had gone on our own. For advice on shopping, the Reception staff, and particularly Tenzin, will give you advice, a map, and directions. In Reception too we found the best exchange rates for money than anywhere else in Thamel.

This hotel, in a quiet road, has no lift but if possible do try and get a room on the 5th floor. We had room 501 and, like all the other three rooms up there, this has the advantage of opening onto the stunning roof terrace with all its lovely flowers. The view over the rooftops is facinating and there is no better place to have a pot of tea after a day exploring this unique city.

One final point, this hotel has an extraordinarily good laundry service. We used it for two loads of clothes, and both times, for a very reasonable price, the clothes came back immaculately clean, completely dry, and beautifully folded. This meant we had clean clothes to bring home instead of the usual load of dirty washing.

We loved this hotel and will definitely use it next time we vist Nepal.

Room Tip: Fifth floor for the roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear lizrowley !

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. As customer service is our 1st priority and we always work very hard to deliver out of the box service to you.As most of our Staff members have been working with us for over 15 years, that's where the sense of ownership arises and you get that extra mile of service.

We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue with efforts to make us a leader in excellence. Also, I have forwarded your review to all the hotel team member specially to Mr. Sukman, Mr. Bijay, Miss Tenzin and they all are so so proud to see your review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and encouraging us with your sincere appreciation. We do hope your memorable experience will bring you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Norbulinka for five nights. It's a very good hotel for Kathmandu standards (mind that these are notably below western). The location is great, staff super-helpful and rooms above KTM standard, meaning decent. A big plus was that the hotel is located in a quite silent spot yet in Thamel, so you won't be kept awake by nightclub noises until 5 am which is otherwise the norm.

Would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JonasKBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear JonasKBK,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you like our hotel, location, room and helpful staffs.

Thanks for choosing Hotel Norbu Linka and hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
1.1 mi away
Summerhill House
Summerhill House
#5 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
35 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
417 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 198 in Kathmandu
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Platinum Hotel & Spa
Platinum Hotel & Spa
#87 of 198 in Kathmandu
45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
80 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Norbu Linka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Norbu Linka

Property: Hotel Norbu Linka
Address: GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Norbu Linka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Thamel, Hotel Norbulinka features a mix of modern décor and traditional carvings and artworks. It offers rooms with a private bathroom an on-site restaurant and a free airport pick-up service.Room are air-conditioned and feature a wardrobe and cable TV. A private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.Hotel Norbulinka is 3 km from both Central Bus Park Gongabu and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu is 6 km from the hotel.Guests have access to free Wi-Fi in the hotel’s common areas. A safety deposit box is available at the 24-hour reception. A currency exchange and tour desk is conveniently located at the hotel, which also provides laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra cost.Restaurant serves a variety of cuisines including Nepalese, Tibetan and Indian. Jasmine Bar offers a wide selection of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Norbu Linka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing