We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel, Great staff, inexpensive”
Review of Hotel Norbu Linka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Norbu Linka
Ranked #96 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Hotel Norbu Linka is clean, has great staff, a good breakfast buffet, and is inexpensive. This was my 3rd visit to Kathmandu, and I once again stayed at the Norbu Linka for more than half of my nights in Kathmandu. My friends and I went to Nepal to trek to Everest Base Camp, and our trekking company arranged for us to stay in a different hotel just before and just after our trek, so we had a chance to compare. The other hotel was newer, glitzier/more modern, and not bad at all. It also cost 75% more per night, the breakfast wasn't as good, and - worst of all - it had a night club that played very loud music that could be heard in our rooms late at night. I was glad to get back to the clean, quiet, friendly Norbu Linka !

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so best to ask for a room on one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parabopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Staff were lovely and attentive- nothing was too much trouble. Very friendly. Stayed before and after Everest trek- they stored all our luggage and provided us with a pack breakfast for our 5am flight to take with. If it was in our price bracket, we would have definitely stated longer.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank josiemallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Thank god for this hotel that they were able to accommodate us last minute when our earlier hotel last minute cancel our reservation
Nice cosy hotel. Sleep quality is great. Room are cosy. Bathroom can be improved but most importantly clean. This hotel caters mostly for trackers of Mt. Everest. Staff are nice and humble. Food is great at the hotel be it Western or Nepalis. This is not a luxury hotel so don't have high expectations. This hotel doesn't have a lift therefore if you think you cant walk up then please feel free to request a room at 1st floor. If you are not satisfied with something, please speak to the staff. This hotel is also walking distance to Tamil market where you can get t-shirts and other soveniours to take home. Rooms are priced reasonably following market rate. Please bare in mind that accommodation in Nepal is usually much higher. Overall this is a great hotel to stay at if you are most of time moving about. Thank Mr. Sukman Tamang the GM and the rest of the team making our stay comfortable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Reka08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Reka,

Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team.Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned specially to Mr. Sukman Tamang (GM) & all other team member and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have just came back from a week in Nepal, I stayed at Norbu Linka Hotel for 2 nights and I would like to thank all the hotel staff involved from the Manager to the driver who picked me up. Concerning the location, It is very well located closed to heart of Thamel. However, the location is excellent if you rather a quieter ambient. The staff is very helpful, they can provide you whatever you need during your stay. and always disposal to help you. Rooms are clean. AC & TV. Beds extremely comfortable, important after some days weeks trekking. Excellent breakfast. Fast Wifi connection, and really good value quality & price. Definetely. I will come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viti81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Viti,

Thank you so much for your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team and we are glad to know you like our overall service and hospitality. Customer service is our 1st priority and we always work very hard to deliver out of the box service to you.As most of our Staff members have been working with us for over 15 years, that's where the sense of ownership arises and you get that extra mile of service.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and encouraging us with your sincere appreciation. We do hope your memorable experience will bring you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I think this hotel has a friendly and helpful staff. I really enjoyed my stay here! I liked the fact that this hotel was not on the main road so I didn't hear the sound of the busy street. They provided a nice warm western breakfast as well nice locally brewed Himalayan coffee. My only complaint is that the internet speed in Nepal is a little slow and that the tv channels were not very clear.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi Andrew !

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that you like our hotel location, room and breakfast specially locally brewed Himalayan coffee. Thank you for your kind feedback and yes as you said internet speed in Nepal is little slow and tv channel was not clear .

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Norbu Linka so that we can provide you more better service on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed at norbulinka when I was on Everest expedition, I was amazed by the friendly welcoming staff, convenient and quite location, comfy mattress, clean rooms, 24 hours service and most importantly 24 hour wifi and hot shower, I enjoyed my stay and I look forward for my next visit soon .... Thank you Norbu Linka for the pleasant stay and your hospitality

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherpaspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi Sherpaspeed !

We are pleased to receive your nice review and your satisfaction with our services. Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they all are proud to hear about your review.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here several nights, before and after our mountain trek. We had several meals including breakfast and dinner. Everyone in the hotel was very service friendly. It is located just a two minute walk from the center of the Thamel area. The showers were hot, the rooms had air condition, the beer was cold and the wifi worked. What more can I say.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello Sam,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. We really feel validated when customers return to our Hotel and it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue with efforts to make us a leader in excellence.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope that you will stay with us again!

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#18 of 209 in Kathmandu
509 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 209 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#34 of 209 in Kathmandu
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Hotel Encounter Nepal
#27 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#38 of 209 in Kathmandu
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
#1 of 209 in Kathmandu
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Norbu Linka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Norbu Linka

Address: GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £36 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Norbu Linka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Thamel, Hotel Norbulinka features a mix of modern décor and traditional carvings and artworks. It offers rooms with a private bathroom an on-site restaurant and a free airport pick-up service.Room are air-conditioned and feature a wardrobe and cable TV. A private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.Hotel Norbulinka is 3 km from both Central Bus Park Gongabu and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu is 6 km from the hotel.Guests have access to free Wi-Fi in the hotel’s common areas. A safety deposit box is available at the 24-hour reception. A currency exchange and tour desk is conveniently located at the hotel, which also provides laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra cost.Restaurant serves a variety of cuisines including Nepalese, Tibetan and Indian. Jasmine Bar offers a wide selection of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Norbu Linka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing