We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Thamel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thamel
Ranked #50 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Even the hotel is located in the busist area of Thamel, but it stands in a quiet lane, so around hotel is very quiet. Near hotel, you can find restraunts, shops, & about 10-15 minutes walking to Green Line bus parking to go Pokhara or Chitwan.The room is equipped with air conditioner, bath room has tube & enough hot water. The king size twin bed is comfortable. All the staffs are very friendly to the guests. Hotel provides different style delicious breakfast. We stayed at this hotel total four nights when we arrived in Kathmandu & after we back from Pokhara. The hotel is highly recommended one.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLM5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    118
    57
    15
    7
See reviews for
46
55
87
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

A perfect place to stay in Kathmandu, Hotel Thamel is fabulously located in the center of the busy and colorful Thamel district. The travelers area, just a stone throne from the hotel, is full of shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and small travel agencies. Yet, the hotel is surprisingly quiet. It's clean and comfortable, but, most of all, it is run by wonderful people. Thanks guys for the warm welcome and all your help with visiting, traveling outside of Kathmandu, city tips etc. The reception desk is super friendly and able to assist with booking, tours, travel and any problem you may have. It is a really cool place, with good vibes, ideal for trekkers and backpackers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agatheblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The hotel staffs were very friendly and the amenities provided were good enough. Suggest to get a tour arranged by the hotel itself as the tour provided is safe and convenient. Bravo to Thamel Hotel. Location of the hotel is good; around Thamel area where lots of bazaars available.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTARSHENEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2012

a while ago we stayed 10 days in this clean and confortable hotel. We have enjoyed it a lot! It has a perfect location, the room are good and the service is the best. The staff was just great. They were helpfull and super friendly. The hotelmanager arranged some trips for us and showed us around thamel. nice nepali tea.
if we would hopefully visit kathmandu again, I know were we would stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingeborg v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2012

If you are going to Nepal and staying in Thamel, go to Hotel Thamel. I have stayed at other places and there isn't a better place for the people, price and location. The hotel is in Thamel but off the main road which means it is quiet in the daytime. There are shops around the corner for SIM cards or recharging your phone. If you go the opposite direction, there is shopping galore (if you are into that) and a good general grocery store about five or ten minutes walk from the hotel. Getting a taxi or rickshaw is convenient. I check with the desk for a estimate of the right price to pay for either mode of transport. Haggling the price is a ritual. Knowing what is the right price makes the process less stressful and maybe a little fun.

And the hotel itself has a nice home feel, not all like the plastic stuff that is typical in the US. They have a hotel-generator for the times the power-shedding kicks in. The rooms I have stayed in are always clean with fresh linen daily. The rates are good and most important, the people are very, very nice. I have stayed here for three times now, and each time has been excellent. I travel alone but have local friends to help me while traveling in the country. The first time in Nepal, I wanted to plan everything out in advance. Now, I go with a general plan and rely on the expertise of the manager, Anish, to sort out places to stay and how to get there. Sometimes it is better to get a driver, other times its better to fly. If I find out something noteworthy for Anish, I pass it on too. He can arrange anything. I definitely take advantage of the included breakfast with the room. The guys in the restaurant work hard to get folks in and out for their trips or just keep the coffee or tea going if the morning is made for leisure.

Everyone, from the guy at the door, the drivers, the housekeeping staff and, of course, the front desk folks are cordial, and go out of their way to help us travelers. For the times I have planned to be gone from the hotel for a while and save some money, I was able to keep my luggage securely stored there at the hotel until I returned. I have also kept the room while gone and have no concerns about the safety of my belongings in the room while gone. I am more comfortable in this hotel than I am at any local (US) hotels. The people working at Hotel Thamel care about the people visiting Nepal and staying at their hotel. Their smiles are really from their heart. It shows. I will always stay at Hotel Thamel when I am in Nepal.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I have been to Nepal Twice this year and have on both occasions stayed at Hotel Thamel. 1st was with a group. We had booked the hotel at late notice and was informed that the management will be able to organise our 5 day trip once there. The 5 days was packed with everything we could have done in 5 days, bungy jump, canyon swing, monkey temple and Everest flight..Transit to and from all the major tourist attractions within a moments notice. The Hotel is situated just off the main street of Thamel, away from the hustle n bustle but Literally 2-3 mins walk you are in the heart of it all. The rooms are very clean comfortable and spacious. Staff are awesome. Made me feel like i have been going for years, prematurely as we/i will only stay at Thamel Hotel in future:-) Great Hotel, Awesome staff, convenient location and will be going again Jan 2013.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both single and double on both sides of Hotel and have no issue to mentioned regard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Refit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I really liked this Hotel, it is located in the very center of the Thamel area, everything is really close by. The service and staff is great, they treat you very nicely and are eager to help. I would undoubtably return to this hotel. They even helped me plan all of my everest trek.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alonso R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 202 in Kathmandu
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#6 of 202 in Kathmandu
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 202 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#19 of 202 in Kathmandu
588 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#31 of 202 in Kathmandu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thamel

Property: Hotel Thamel
Address: Thamel Marg 723/28, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Thamel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally in the popular tourist area ,Hotel Thamel offers homely and friendly environment to make anyone feel like their own home.The name of the hotel is itself taken from the place this hotel is located. Hotel Thamel is 15 mins drive from airport and is in a walking distance from most of the attractions like monkey temple, Garden of Dreams, King Palace and Durbar square. Hotel Thamel is one of the hotel in Thamel area with private sunny balcony in guest rooms. All the rooms are well furnished with modern amenities . To make your stay comfortable , our staff are always ready to help you with a smile on their face.Our well decorated cozy restaurant situated on the ground floor caters a wide selection of cuisines and our roof top garden situated on the sixth floor offers a peaceful relaxing spot to relax and drink a beer, sip tea or coffee We welcome you at Hotel Thamel where you are not just a guest ,but a sister, a brother and a friend whose necessity and requirements are our most priority. Facilities 1. Wi-Fi: High speed WI_FI is available in every corner of the hotel 2. 24 hr room service: 3. Baby sitter and doctor on call 4. Safe Deposit Facility: You can store your valuables in the safe deposit available at the reception areaFree luggage storage: You can leave your luggage at the hotel when you are on a trek 5. Foreign exchange Facility: You can exchange your currency at the reception. 6. Laundry service available 7. Travel Desk: Travel desk assit you in all kinds of tours arrangement, sight seeing , ticketing, vehicle rental and trekking 8. Credit card accepted 9. Hair Dryer: Hair dryer is available on request 10. Newspaper: english news paper are available at the reception 11. Wake up call 12. Restaurant serving continental, mexican, indian, chinese and nepali cuisines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thamel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing