We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for exploring Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
International Guest House
Ranked #65 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location for exploring Kathmandu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here in Feb 2014 for the first and last nights of our trip to Nepal. Staff were friendly and accommodation comfortable if basic. The breakfast is nothing to write home about but there is plenty of it. The location is great as it is on the edge of Thamel so great to walk to Thamel and Durbar Square and yet it is quiet as off the main streets of Thamel.

Perfect as a budget option.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleminFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    148
    49
    27
    7
See reviews for
43
94
57
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in International Guesthouse for about a week, February 2014. The manager and staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. We were blown away by the quality of the hotel considering the low price. Breakfast was included and was always hot and delicious. The rooms were clean and comfortable, above average bathroom. Also, with the location a bit outside of Thamel it was much quieter at night than other places, which was nice. It's still basically in Thamel though, about a 2 minute walk max. We had laundry done same day. They store luggage for free. Free wifi, but no TV. Overall, we were very pleased with our experience and will most likely return.

Room Tip: See the room before agreeing, always. Avoid rooms facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IH8Jobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here back in late September 2013 for 3 nights. It's a very nice looking property with plenty of charm inside and out with plenty of Nepali touches in architecture (I am guessing) and décor. The staff were all very nice. Breakfast in the mornings were included and substantial and Westernized. I liked that they had a friendly little dog on the property and security. We were able to have the hotel staff recommend and arrange drivers for us for site seeing in nearby areas. It is located in a fairly quite area, which I liked, but still walkable to Thamel, etc.

The price was very good and the only concerns I had was that there is no elevator so you carry your own luggage up and down and the power would often go out without explanation from time to time even though I often noticed lights on in building across the street. It was also quite humid so fortunately the front desk staff loaned us an electric fan. Also the internet connection was a little iffy too, but all in all, I would definitely recommend and wouldn't mind staying there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking upstairs, ask for a room on a lower level. However there are nice lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have spent in total 7 nights at International Guest House and we have no complains about it.
The hotel is well located 5 minutes away from center Thamel (Kathmandu busiest tourist area) and the accommodations are great for the price that we paid (USD 28.34 per night). Sttaffs are very helpful, friendly and had provided us with some tips on what to do during our free time in KTM since we were in transit to Tibet. Good hot water shower and heater was also available.
The only issue is the water which isn't transparent (has a brown color) but I believe this is related to the city's water infrastructure problem and not to the hotel itself.

Room Tip: No lift available, so first floor is the best if you are travelling with lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose Renato P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the International guest house 2 times of our visit in Kathmandu, its was good and happy to be back here agian. Good location, room are clean, nere Thamal steerts and you can buy lots of thing for your friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Overall our stay at International Guest House was very good. The room was very comfortable and equipped with water heater and heater during winter. The receptionists were helpful and friendly. We love the morning breakfast. The hotel is located nearby Thamel town, and it is just a walk away to restaurants and shopping district.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KuanHoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at the International Guest House for a week while visiting my daughter in Kathmandu. The hotel is on the outskirts of Thamel - easy to walk to all the touristy spots, but a little (just a little) quieter than the busy streets of Thamel. The rooms are clean and have all the necessary elements. The beds are hard, but so are all the beds in Nepal. If possible, get a room that's not on the top floor. Our first room was very noisy (although the view was great). The staff moved us down a floor, which was much better. The room includes a lovely breakfast, which you can eat outside in the beautiful courtyard. They provided an airport transfer and their staff carried our bags up the many flights of stairs to our room without complaint. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethhfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#63 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#88 of 193 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Guest House

Property: International Guest House
Address: Ward No 29 Block 16-57, Kaldhara, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — International Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE breakfast,wifi,airportpick up,parking,locker services,,, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
International Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing