We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis in Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
International Guest House
Ranked #60 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little oasis in Kathmandu”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days in April 2014 and were picked up from the airport free of charge. The type of room we had booked was not available when we arrived so we had to stay in a “deluxe” room for the first night which was far below our expectations and extremely basic. The staff did their best however to find us a better room and were very apologetic. However we were given a “super deluxe” room the next morning which was much more acceptable (although still fairly basic by Western standards). But apart from that initial problem we were extremely happy with our stay there. The restaurant staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate at the hotel restaurant every evening and were very happy with the food (Western style although there was a wide choice of cuisines available). The free breakfast was also very nice with a good choice. We enjoyed sitting in the garden which is very pretty and we had our meals there too – choice of shade or sun. The hotel is very close to the streets of Thamel where you can find everything imaginable to buy, and about a 20 minute walk from Durbar Square. There are plenty of taxis and rikshaws available close by. Although Thamel is very busy and noisy, we found the hotel nice and quiet even outside in the garden. We also enjoyed the free wifi which was very good.
We would definitely recommend the International Guesthouse.

Room Tip: No lift so ask for lower floor if you are less able to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    153
    49
    27
    7
See reviews for
47
95
60
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I came to Nepal more than 20 times in the last 18 years and it is here that I like to stay morst - and I have tried at least 9 other different hotels in the Thamel area. This one is the best if you are searching for a hotel in that pricerange.
Often I am coming alone, but also bringing groups - always I like the atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff and the helpfullness (Ganesh!).
Being 300 meters away from the heart of Thamel it is much quieter and more relaxed and walking 200 to 300 meters is really not to mention.

Room Tip: I feel that the best rooms are in 4th and 5th floor - the 400 and 500 numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balu9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Value for money Hotel in Kathmandu, the food was really nice and we enjoyed relaxing in the Guest House gardens. Its the first time i've been to Nepal and I'm sure we will be back next year. Thanks to all the lovely staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

When we came to Nepal as volunteers with our three kids, we always stayed here on weekends. We always stay here now on return trips. The staff are very helpful, especially Ganesh. He will organise anything you need and check in with you every step of the way to make sure everything is ok. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but not always quiet, but I'm not sure where you'd find a quiet room in Kathmandu. Our room always had hot water, but the kids' triple room didn't. Breakfast, whilst included is basic and not that great. Eggs were either rubber or raw. It's a very beautiful and relaxing hotel, especially the courtyard and rooftop, from which you can see the Monkey temple and lie in the sun. Extremely good value for money. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here in Feb 2014 for the first and last nights of our trip to Nepal. Staff were friendly and accommodation comfortable if basic. The breakfast is nothing to write home about but there is plenty of it. The location is great as it is on the edge of Thamel so great to walk to Thamel and Durbar Square and yet it is quiet as off the main streets of Thamel.

Perfect as a budget option.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleminFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in International Guesthouse for about a week, February 2014. The manager and staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. We were blown away by the quality of the hotel considering the low price. Breakfast was included and was always hot and delicious. The rooms were clean and comfortable, above average bathroom. Also, with the location a bit outside of Thamel it was much quieter at night than other places, which was nice. It's still basically in Thamel though, about a 2 minute walk max. We had laundry done same day. They store luggage for free. Free wifi, but no TV. Overall, we were very pleased with our experience and will most likely return.

Room Tip: See the room before agreeing, always. Avoid rooms facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IH8Jobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here back in late September 2013 for 3 nights. It's a very nice looking property with plenty of charm inside and out with plenty of Nepali touches in architecture (I am guessing) and décor. The staff were all very nice. Breakfast in the mornings were included and substantial and Westernized. I liked that they had a friendly little dog on the property and security. We were able to have the hotel staff recommend and arrange drivers for us for site seeing in nearby areas. It is located in a fairly quite area, which I liked, but still walkable to Thamel, etc.

The price was very good and the only concerns I had was that there is no elevator so you carry your own luggage up and down and the power would often go out without explanation from time to time even though I often noticed lights on in building across the street. It was also quite humid so fortunately the front desk staff loaned us an electric fan. Also the internet connection was a little iffy too, but all in all, I would definitely recommend and wouldn't mind staying there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking upstairs, ask for a room on a lower level. However there are nice lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 198 in Kathmandu
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#34 of 198 in Kathmandu
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
#113 of 198 in Kathmandu
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#72 of 198 in Kathmandu
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Guest House

Property: International Guest House
Address: Ward No 29 Block 16-57, Kaldhara, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — International Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE breakfast,wifi,airportpick up,parking,locker services,,, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
International Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing