We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“presidential suite rooms are good and located in a touristic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
International Guest House
Ranked #65 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days before we went to Pokhara and after. We stayed at the presidential suite and it was a really nice room and very spacious. The bathroom was also very nice and the room was located in the main building. We got a good rate from the hotel. It was less than 50$ for a presidential suite..We also saw all the other rooms we had in offer and they were all horrible apart from the presidential suite. They were very basic and extremely small and I would not recommend anyone staying in these rooms. However, the presidential suite is another category and it is really nice, if you can get one in the main building and not in the adjacent one. The manager was quite nice and he provided good service. The hotel also arranges some tours – but we found out that these were quite expensive. Although the room was really nice, there was no electricity due to the long power cuts in Kathmandu and though it was still spring, the room was getting a bit warmer. The hotel used the generator only for a few hours and afterwards we were given candles to take to our room!! The staff sometimes forgot to give us the candles. But it was in a way quite romantic as well  however, there was a big wedding party right outside our room and it was extremely noisy for a couple of hours. The food is ok and nothing exceptional. It is better to try the restaurants in Thamel area and there are plenty of them. On our return back, we booked the presidential suite again. But the room was not as nice as the earlier one. It had less space. However, we were planning to stay only for one night and it was not too bad. Although the hotel is located in Thamel area, it is a bit secluded – which is a good thing as it is in a quieter area. Apart from the manager, who was friendly to us on the first day, none of the other staff were that great. We believe the manager was friendly towards us as he wanted us to book the hotel he selected for us in Pokhara and we were gullible enough to fall for it. Overall, it is not too bad a place to stay, esp. if you get a good rate to stay at a presidential suite. It has no frills and quite basic.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nomad007700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed around 1 week with a friend at the International Guesthouse, we had a very comfortable stay with extra friendly staff. The garden is so nice on a morning whilst the sun is rising, I was happy to be able to logon to the free wifi with my laptop and do my work.

The food is also great, I tried some other restaurants close by but I ended up back in the garden almost every day for lunch and dinner..

I will certainly be back there next time and would recommended it to either backpackers who like that extra comfort, to families on holiday or to business travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan_Hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

we spend such a great time in this quite place with the lovely staff to serve us.
such a great and peacfull garden et nice decorated rooms.
thank a lot alls. Recomend it for your friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leyetimoderne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Our "superior deluxe" room (701) shared a wall with a metal fabrication shop next door and the racket made the room uninhabitable during the day for anything resembling rest. We canceled the rest of our stay and expressed our disappointment. "Sorry", they said , and immediately re-booked it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepforestMtRainier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

I've stayed on/off at this place for years now and i must say i think its time to do the place up a bit, its stating to look old and tired. The staff are nice (isnt everyone in Nepal?) but for the price you pay its starting to become poor value.We had one room that had no light bulbs in the lamps no shower curtain and dodgy electric sockets everywhere, a bit of upkeep is needed if they want to keep their reputation.

The garden is beautiful and to sit on the roof and watch the world go by is a great way to spend the day, the restaurant serves really good quality food and this does take time but i'd rather wait for good food than to be served poor food quickly.

One major down side which i guess isn't the hotels fault is the clientele it attracts these days.On my last 2 visits it seemed to be 90% senior citizens (i'm getting on a bit my self) but i've never come across so many grumpy people whilst traveling, i lost count of how many complaints i heard about "Talking in the corridor" at 5pm because it was disturbing their afternoon nap or they didnt like to see other guests hanging their washing out to dry! this place isnt the Hilton and travelers will do their own washing(the hotel has no problem with this).
Next time i stay in Kathmandu i will unfortunately look to stay elsewhere (sorry guys).

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank TravellerDaveLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Planned to stay 3 nigths, left after the 1st one, liked the website and the garden, we paid 37$/nigth including all taxes for a 3 bed deluxe room + extra bed (came with wife and 3 kids). when you pay that price you expect to have decent heat in the room and a powerfull generator to ligth the place up when the power is down ( lots of power outage nowadays in Nepal...). Restaurant was very cold, no place to hide from the cold...
Breakfast were included: those were great if you are at the Everest base camp but very desapointing for Kathmandu... the restaurant and hotel is completly overpriced.

on the positiv side:

-staff very friendly (well, that is easy to get in Nepal!)
-beautifull garden
-quiet location

We moved to the Yanki lodge just accros the tibet lodge in Thamel, for Half the price we got a better room whit decent heating!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airtractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

If the rooms wouldn't have been a bit dusty (we had to sneeze all the time) I would have rated this hotel excellent. The staff is very friendly and everything is possible here, we could leave our bags here during trekking and could even keep our locker. The garden is very relaxed and it's very nice to have breakfast here. There are two free computers with internet (although not too fast), the shower is nice and hot and the location is perfect. It is 5 minutes walking distance from the heart of Thamel and therefore it is not too noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#49 of 209 in Kathmandu
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#16 of 209 in Kathmandu
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#32 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thamel
Hotel Thamel
#53 of 209 in Kathmandu
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 209 in Kathmandu
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 209 in Kathmandu
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Guest House

Address: Ward No 29 Block 16-57, Kaldhara, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £23 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — International Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE breakfast,wifi,airportpick up,parking,locker services,,, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
International Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing