We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel the Glance, the environment and the experience of Kathmandu Madhuban Guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

If you want to feel special and experience the true nepali hospitality. This is the place where you have to be. During my 15 days of stay in this hotel, i was given exclusive care in all of my expectations. and was really satisfied. Specially Mr. Laxman, made my trip successful and was well planned to visit places in nepal.

Room Tip: Room # 403. There is a roof top garden and a good ambiance in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reynold D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very friendly staff and very accomidating. This was one of the cheaper hotels that we stayed at in Kathmandu and for its price, was better than expected. The rooms were nice and thou we didnt eat the breakfast was told by other travellers that the food was good.
On a side note, I would like to commend the staff, after a late night out we -somehow- misplaced my friends travel pouch, with her Id/passport/cash/etc. the guys at the desk went out of their way to look around for us and found all our belongings. Crisis adverted. They also helped us move our stuff for shipping and organised taxis for us. These guys were great.
Again, cheers

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed a couple of days here. It was brilliant. The cheapest rooms but great value . clean and comfortable, Staff was very friendly and helpful, nice Roof top terrace, beakfast is included and one can choose what to eat. Included in the price is also wifi (on the all area of Guest House ) Owner Laxman is helpful. Thanks for a great stay .We were very happy with our stay sure Would recommend .

Stayed Jan 2014, traveled a couple

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend. Arrived in Kathmandu almost 12 might night but hey, the hotel driver is still waiting for us.

As a fist time traveller in Nepal, I was somehow astonished that I can't see any woman working in this guesthouse. Though I trusted my bf as he is a frequent client of this hotel. And it turn out that they were the nices guy, very helpful in all ways. We left them 1 one of our big bag before setting out for a 2 weeks trek and when we came back. the bag was still the same, nothing was stollen.

We stayed with them 2 nights during x'mas and 1 night before flying out. The last night was a treat, that they gave us their rooftop room within the garden.

I would highly recommend this place to stay when visiting Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raquel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Ideally located near the roundabout of Chetrapati. Good price/quality. Good service and quiet room. And certainly also a wonderful shower.I could go on internet, even late in the evening. Excellent breakfast also. the boss give me interesting information for visiting Kathmandu. I will definitely stay there again when ik come back. Alain from Belgium.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived carelessly without arranging our trip plan and thanks a tone to these guys.They arranged everything for us from sightseeing to pokhra visit,our flight ticket to everything.Location is awesome because it is situated in middle of thamel. Staff is very helpful and extremely courteous.Tourist attractions & Shopping places are on walking distance.Will come back soon and refer to other peoples definitely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitsingh302013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I did not book anything prior to coming back to KTM from Pokhara. So I was lucky to land in this place, and I would like to share it.

This guesthouse is just 2 mn away from Thamel, as it is located in Chhetrapati.
That is actually the best compromise you could get to enjoy going shopping in Thamel, while staying in quiet, affordable place at the same time.

You can find different kinds of room standards, that will suit your budget and demands.
As I lost my credit card, passport, mobile, I eventually had to downgrade to a cheaper room.
They were very helpful to me to get things sorted out.

Showers are really hot (not just lukewarm), there is a free wifi access, and PCs are even provided to connect on the internet (all included). This came quite handy for me, in my situation...

I will definitely come back to this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlivierCotass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#7 of 207 in Kathmandu
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 207 in Kathmandu
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Famous House Kathmandu Youth Hostel
1.5 mi away
The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House

Address: Pakanajol Road | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range: £8 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House is located in Chhetrapati on the outskirts of Thamel. Our location is ideal to experience the convienence of Thamel while you can still avoid the high traffic, touts and noisy streets of Kathmandu. Our rooms are spacious and tidy. Each room provides an attached bathroom, supplied with 24 hour hot water, wireless internet and cable television. On our rooftop balcony, one can enjoy a drink or a meal with a view of Kathmandu or simply take it inside with our complimentary room service. Our well informed and experienced staff can provide any information to help you navigate in Nepal. Whether you ask for a restaurant suggestion or help in planning your dream trek through the Himalayas, our experienced employees will find the solution for you. Within ten minutes of walk from our guesthouse, you can reach many of the famous attractions of Kathmandu including; Swayambhunath (the monkey temple), the Royal Palace Museum, and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Also, within Thamel/ Chhetrapati one can easily find a generous selection of restaurants, travel information offices and a plethora of shopping options. Be assured that your comfort and satisfaction is of the greatest importance to us. You will always find a safe, clean and peaceful night's sleep at Kathmandu Madhuban Guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing