We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stupa Guest House and Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 443 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Cheap, but comfortable.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very nice guesthouse. Rooms not luxery, but very cheap and clean. Wi-fi available in every room.
Staff was so friendly and nice.
Guesthouse is located in Thamel, but place is very calm.there is a fruit market very close to the hotel also.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bokova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    26
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
57
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The (Nepali) title explains my stay in Stupa Guest House.
First of all the familie is very kind and can arrange everything what you want.
The rooms are good, the wifi is most of the time very strong, in the restaurant you can order nice food, the location is in a (not so buzy) nice part of Kathmandu and you can come home whenever you want, the prices are very good and there is a nice rooftop!

I want to thank the family for the nice two weeks!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaLamers-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at stupa house for a total of 3 nights whilst exploring the area over a week period. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the food was very good. They were more than happy to look after our large bags whilst visiting other areas and even taught us how to make mo mo's (kind of like local dumpling) nice chane from the stress and let down of other hotels. Highly recommend...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stupa House is a nice place with spacious rooms, hot water, good restuarant, helpful and nice staff and rooftop. It is located near the tourist hub Thamel in a reasonable quite (in Kathmandu no place is totally quiet) area near a charming sqaure with a local feeling. We had a wonderful stay, felt very much at home and will definitely stay at Stupa House the next time we visit Kathmandu. It is the best place, I have stayed in Kathmandu - and I have stayed quite a few places. It is very good quality for the modest amount of money. And they are ready to help with everything one might need, we stored luggage while trekking and came back one day earlier without any trouble. Highly recommendable!

Room Tip: On as high a floor as possible ;-) Less noise, more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StinneOtte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Two days before we were scheduled to arrive in Nepal, I had a serious accident in Thailand and had to return home for immediate surgery. I contacted Ram from the hospital by email to apologize for my late cancellation. Not only was he very kind and understanding, he arranged to get a partial refund on flights we had booked through him. I have never met Ram in person but I have to say that my experience dealing with him was outstanding.
Honest as they come.
Thank you again Ram!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garlo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Thank heavens for Kaji, my Sherpa guide who recommended this place. I had just had a bad deal at another dodgy place in Thamel. Mr Ram S. Tamang, the owner of Stupa, was extremely helpful, letting me check in and rest, before signing in. The room was large and confortable after my arduous trek. He let me store luggage and take a quick shower after check-out time, just before my flight. Worth spending a little more to have a safe and honest service from MR Ram. Thank you again !

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main street for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soma Bay, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our favourite place we stayed in Nepal! Ram and his family are so friendly and welcoming - they treat you as family. The rooms are comfortable and clean, even have hot showers. Everything is extremely reasonably priced, especially for the quality you receive. Be sure to try the food in the restaurant too - BEST food we had! Good sized portions too. Oh and checkout the beautiful patio up top. Nice place for a book and bottle of wine. Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#55 of 204 in Kathmandu
130 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#59 of 204 in Kathmandu
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#2 of 443 in Kathmandu
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zen Bed and Breakfast
Zen Bed and Breakfast
#39 of 443 in Kathmandu
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Great Wall
Hotel The Great Wall
#10 of 443 in Kathmandu
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Family Peace House
Family Peace House
#76 of 443 in Kathmandu
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stupa Guest House and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stupa Guest House and Restaurant

Property: Stupa Guest House and Restaurant
Address: Thahity, Thamel, Kathmandu 19880, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 443 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stupa Guest House and Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stupa Guest House is located in a quite area in the heart of Kathmandu on Thahity/Thamel Street. The guest house has 17 spacial rooms with comfortable beds allowing you to get a restful sleep and thereby, the most out of your stay. The restaurant offers a broad range of western and local dishes at affordable prices. Eat a delicious warm meal in the dining room and then head to the roof top for a tea and an incredible view of the city; including the surrounding lush mountains and Monkey Temple. The guest house is managed by a close knit Nepali family and all guests get welcomed as another member. You will feel right at home when you are staying at the Stupa Guest House. We look forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Stupa Guest House and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing