We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional new hotel”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My parents and I had planned a spur of the moment trip to Nepal as we were already in Bangladesh. Given the short notice there wasn't a huge choice of good hotels for a good price and we had settled on the fact we would have to stay somewhere sub-standard. NOT THE CASE! Having called their sister hotel next door friends home they recommended mums home which had just opened. This was a truly stand out stay. The staff were extremely friendly and constantly eager to help. Everything was new and the rooms themselves were fantastic. We stayed in a triple room - a double bed room adjoining a single room - which was perfect. It was perfectly located in the heart of thamel and had every amenity you need. They also offered a airport pick up service which was extremely handy. In short for the price your paying you won't find a better hotel!

Room Tip: There is no lift unfortunately and quite a few floors, I would recommend staying closer to the botto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Rana & Family
Thanks for your review on our property Hotel Mums Home. We are very glad that you enjoy your stay with us. Our motto is guest satisfaction & we promise to deliver homely,warm, safe, clean & comfortable accommodation to our valued clients like you. Thanks once again for great review & hope to see you again.

Sudarshan Neupane & Mums Home Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    98
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
106
174
152
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

What a wonderful little hotel! Its location on the center of hot tourist spot 'Thamel'. We stayed at the Hotel Mum's home Kathmandu in this November 2013 and are heading back to stay again.We loved it and found lots of great cafe's right at your doorstep. It is very clean, have a lovely view and reception is extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cool2nakul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Valued Clients
Thanks for your review on our property Hotel Mums Home(P) Ltd. We are proud to have you as our respective guest. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Mums Home. We are still trying to make our service quality better so that you may feel even difference in quality in your another visit.

Sudarshan Neupane

Hotel Mums Home(P) Ltd
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

After some disappointing encounters with hotels in Nepal the best was definitely my last hotel. I booked the Friends home hotel, but that was booked out so the owner had reserved a room at this hotel run by the same group. The room was fantastic with a super comfortable bed and proper pillows.. what luxury after 2+ weeks of trekking and travelling in Tibet.
This hotel a little bit further from the centre of Thamal giving you peace and quiet and a good night sleep, but less than 5 min walk to the centre of Thamal shopping.

Nice breakfast and a lovely young gentleman who attands to your breakfast needs with a big smile.

highly recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poorany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Valued Clients
Thanks for your review on our property Hotel Mums Home(P) Ltd. We are proud to have you as our respective guest. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Mums Home. We are still trying to make our service quality better so that you may feel even difference in quality in your another visit.

Sudarshan Neupane

Hotel Mums Home(P) Ltd
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

stay 2 nights here, next to KTM hotel, good location, good price, good service.
before I stay in MUMS hotel, I also stay 1 night in KTH, compare with 2 hotels, I prefer MUMS hotel, it is new, with TV aircondition..........
and the boss very friendly.

stay 2 nights here, next to KTM hotel, good location, good price, good service.
before I stay in MUMS hotel, I also stay 1 night in KTH, compare with 2 hotels, I prefer MUMS hotel, it is new, with TV aircondition..........
and the boss very friendly.

Room Tip: ask for room with sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaochunNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Valued Clients
Thanks for your review on our property Hotel Mums Home(P) Ltd. We are proud to have you as our respective guest. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Mums Home. We are still trying to make our service quality better so that you may feel even difference in quality in your another visit.

Sudarshan Neupane

Hotel Mums Home(P) Ltd
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

From 1st to 5th December was our stay at my moms home... the moment we came out of Kathmandu airport, we were so welcome and treated as family at home.Super service, friendly staff, clean! Extremely good value for the money. I like to thanks all the staffs for providing us such a great service throughout our stay with excellent room in reasonable price Its a great hotel to stay and to book your tours. From the owners, to the manager, and all the staffs were very polite and helpful. We booked our Pokhara tour,The owner mr Sudarshan himself took extra initiative to make our trip a memorable and pleasant one. he is an absolutely fantastic person,so charming and friendly. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation,he did for booking our Kathmandu city tour and also surprised us with an additional wonderful river rafting tour which was very adventurous. Overall we would recommend this hotel to all who want to come to Kathmandu with their family and friends.
THE BEST HOTEL IN KATHMANDU.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glamourmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thanks for your wonderful review on our property Hotel Mums Home. We are very glad to have you as our guest. Wish you happy new year 2014

Sincerely yours
Sudarshan Neupane
Hotel Mums Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

When we reached in Nepal we search lots of hotels and by seeings the hospitality and the way they welcome their customers really impressive. The rooms and their services are excellent even we cant say by words how wonderfully they give services to their customers. As Nepal is a tourist place and I came to know from many of my friends that many people try to cheat and misguide tourists. But Thanks to Mums Home staff they guide us and advise us so beautifully that my Nepal trip becomes memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mak131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Valued Clients
Thanks for your review on our property Hotel Mums Home(P) Ltd. We are proud to have you as our respective guest. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Mums Home. We are still trying to make our service quality better so that you may feel even difference in quality in your another visit.

Sudarshan Neupane

Hotel Mums Home(P) Ltd
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We (two females) stayed here for two nights and if it had not been pre organised by our tour we would have left. Would advise any traveler to stay clear, especially females.

To start on the positives:

1. very friendly young guy at reception, lovely to deal with and very pleasant.

2. Modern room and decent sized bathroom (great when they actually fixed the water).

3. Central enough location in Thamel and close to tourist buses (if that's what you are looking for)

And now for the negatives:

1. Situated down a back alley, we did not feel very safe.

2. The water did not work and it took the management 5 hours to send someone to fix even though we asked 3 times.

3. Food - very basic, not worth the money you pay. Only good thing was the pleasant young man who served it.

4. Wifi - not highspeed, continually cut off so don't even bother turning your device on.

5. Several Nepali men who spend all day and evening around the lounge area watching your every move (to the point of creeping and making you feel like an object). This is where we got very annoyed...

We had an incident with our laundry - they decided to define their own items on the list, they charge per item (in a similar manner to a hotel but this is definitely NOT a hotel!) we expressed our frustration at how extortionate the price for laundry was and how we disagreed with their "new items" on the list. The manager tried to offer a discount but wouldn't address our question.

While we were conversing, 5 of the usual men who sit about listened in. He shouted over us to explain what we were saying and then called one man over and he came behind the reception desk.

I asked who he was and the manager said he worked there. I didn't understand why the manager could not deal with this himself. This is where I became infuriated - this man who "worked here" was the same man I caught repeatedly perving on my sister our first day. Not staring in a curious way, but in an uncomfortable sexual way where he would then laugh to his friends. I said nothing at the time at the time as I thought he was just a guest. But when I was told he worked there I voiced my anger and explained this was unacceptable behaviour by staff.

The manager then backtracked and said he was a guest!!! I asked him is it normal then to get your guests to help you deal with challenging conversations and he didn't even reply. Complete incompetence.

Yes there was a flat screen tv, fancy decor and clean bathroom but they did not make up for all the negatives.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank LouiseMDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumshome, Owner at Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Reviewer
We have checked all our clients registration form and we did not find your details, we really think this review is not for Mums home, the point you mention on the review which does not match to us because we have lady receptionist, we do have other 4 women at the house keeping as well, we do have one waiter and one receptionist male staffs. All people sitting in the lobby are not our employees they might be visitors or clients, Our hotel is not in main road so that it is peaceful, being in peaceful location does not means un safe. Anyway our main goal is clients satisfaction, safety and comfortable stay with us, we will be doing our best for all our clients good stay at Mums home.
Jeevan and team of Mums home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,213 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#7 of 203 in Kathmandu
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 203 in Kathmandu
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 203 in Kathmandu
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 203 in Kathmandu
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd

Property: Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Address: Chhusya Galli, Jyatha, Thamel | next to Kantipur Temple house, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mums Home, a comfortable, safe & peaceful hotel situated in the heart of Kathmandu, Thamel. Located in prime tourist location in the capital of Nepal, Hotel Mums Home runs with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. Just drop into our reception—we take it into our own hands to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing