We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #27 of 206 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This was the first time to visit Kathmandu for us, and we stayed at Hotel Encounter Nepal. The first surprise was that the manager called me by phone a few hours after booking on the net, telling me friendly that they're waiting for us, and they'll do the most to make our stay there pleasent. Free airport pick-up service by them was very useful.
We wanted to see the Mount Everest from the air, and to have some easy trekking in the countryside. The hotel manager (Sujan) made a detailed plan for our stay, and arranged everything (air ticket to the mountains, lift to the airport and pick up, guide for the trekking, one night stay in another hotel after the trekking, etc...) So his personal care was more than impressive. We did not have to care about anything, he organised all the things.
Restaurant: for breakfast, I suggest the 'Nepali way', which is a kind of local food, delicious and good start of a day.
The hotel is in downtown of Kathmandu, but it's inner garden and the rooms are really quiet.

Room Tip: Room on the top with nice balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sipi0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Encounter Nepal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2011

A nice, little palace in a peaceful area near the heart of Thamel. I stayed there 2 weeks and did enjoy. Clean and safe. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karikosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The hotel is in a nice quietish spot away from the main Thamel action, with a pleasant garden area and friendly staff in the restaurant. But the hotel was noisy from its own construction work. Rooms were basic and hot water was good. But things were NOT AT ALL CLEAN - really need to bring your own bedsheets. For a short stay in Kathmandu this hotel is fine - but much better is on offer for not much more money

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ACSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I've spend two nights in this hotel and enjoyed my stay. The staff is very friendly; always serving you with a smile and helping out in any way they can.
My advise for visitors to this hotel would be to not go for the cheapest room available, but spend just a little more and go for the rooms on the third or fourth floor. The view from your (private) balcony on colorful Kathmandu and the surrounding mountains is breathtaking!

Room Tip: get a room on the top floor(s) for an amazing view
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ikkuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Definitely coming back. Hotel Encounter is your answer if you are on a shoe string budget but want the comforts of home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MythicalBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I booked hotel encounter due to the positive reviews in tripadvisor. The staff were really helpful from the first moment. The room was good but basic. The restaurant was lovely and the food was very good. Pros- wifi everywhere, friendly staff, can book tours with raj (but do a bit of shopping around and haggle!) Cons- my room
Didn't get cleaned AT ALL during my four night stay, I'm not expecting much but they could have at least emptied ashtrays and put new toilet roll in.

This hotel is nice, and is less that a 2 minute walk to thamel, but you still get the noise. You can get a decent room In thamel for a third of the price, as a lone female I didn't really like the walk back at night, especially when there's a power cut (of which there are A LOT!)

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeni_mclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncounterNepal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2011

Dear Jeni
Namaste from Kathmandu!

First of all thank you so much for your stay with us. I really appriciate your time and suggestion for putting feedback for us. I am really sorry for the inconvienent as your room not been cleaned for 4 nights, I will investigate why that was happen and will put forward not to happen this again.

Regarding the noise, what sort of noice was that DOG"S or people or neighbours or even guest from your next room? Please help us to investigate and we will do our best as you have seen that all Kathmandu city is built with compact houses and attached one another. We promise it will not happen this again, furthermore if you have informed us on time we could correct from the very first night. Thank you again and lookforward your stay again.

HOTEL TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We were staying at encounter a few days before and after we went for the annapurna curcuit. We ve been spoilt not only with organisational talent (mr raj booking our tour with the best value) but also with warm, caring athmospere from all of the staff and the management.
Whenevet we needed anything they wouldnt hesitate to move mountains! So thank you one more time for doing your best!

Julia and Elif

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vmcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 206 in Kathmandu
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#20 of 206 in Kathmandu
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 206 in Kathmandu
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 206 in Kathmandu
1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#6 of 206 in Kathmandu
459 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 206 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £19 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing