We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a smart place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Ranked #23 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“a smart place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

this is the only hotel we stayed in with a booking during our holiday in Nepal, mainly because it comes out first on tripadvisor's rating search results, and also because of its complementary pickup, variety of tour related services, reasonable rates, and most of all, its smart staff. They are all ready to help when I want to buy a unique local kitchen utensil from their kitchen.

Room Tip: beside the hotel is a small monastery, choose a room not facing it if you don't want to be waken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qing0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    234
    68
    28
    27
See reviews for
98
210
221
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chongqing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Kathmandu is the Ok Hotel, here we are meticulous care, feel at home here. Good traveling experience! Recommend, bosses and employees will give you good service, make your travel more comfortable. If you have any questions, their staff will give you a very good solution.

Room Tip: We live in the room with a small balcony, can see the scenery of Kathmandu, great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmiel, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Just returned from 16 days trek in Himalaya, and this hotel is an excellent place to relax, rest and enjoy the civilization after high attitude trip in Himalayan mountains. Good clean big rooms, my friends got one with the bath in the bathroom! Very nice restaurant in the small garden, authentic environment and rich but not expensive menu. The price is not high for such comfort, which we missed in the mountains. It was a right choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sergey_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed from 29th september until 2nd October. The Hotel was very clean, good value, close to Thamel but not to close. Staff were friendly and helpful. There Was a minor mix up with our booking but the hotel really went out of their way to accommodate us and put everything right. The staff were family friendly and able to organise activities, including a mountain flight, at short notice even for our group of 4 adults and 4 children.
Rooms were a little basic but there was plenty of hot water for showers and a generator for backup power. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for AC if its hot. Ask not to be in the rooms right next to the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sedwards38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

If you have never been to Nepal then this is the hotel to stay in. Nepal is a BEAUTIFUL country to visit, but unfortunately the simple comforts we enjoy in the U.S. are not available here. This hotel is the best at satisfying those simple comforts we forget about. A couple examples are electricity and wifi; in Nepal, the electricity randomly goes out through out the day and along with it the internet. This hotel has a commercial size generator to combat this issue. This is just a small part of how this hotel helps you enjoy the country in comfort. They also have very Informative staff, Clean facilities, Fast services, Multi language staff, Located in a great location next to local markets(walking distance), American toilets (big deal if you're not used to the squat toilets), Great selection of alcoholic beverages & food, they also have Laundry services,
Travel agent onsite office with connections/acquaintances through out Nepal's most visited destinations. Our travel agent, named Pramod, has an arsenal of services from mt Everest guides to acquiring difficult visa in timely manner. I really recommend his services. Apart from all of that they also have multiple computers accessible to customers, A Shuttle service to airports, Large spacey rooms with safe in each room, and Great Nepalese decor including furniture and amazing traditional carved window frames. Oh, and the garden is a great place to enjoy a drink with other travelers.

I really really enjoyed my stay there so we went back there before we then of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert_sarmiento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daejon,south korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

My family along with my mother stayed at the HOTEL ENCOUNTER NEPAL for 6 wonderful nights. The staff is excellent, just the right amount of everything. Hotel common areas are lovely, and roof top garden enhances your stay. Service from staff is beyond compare! Hard to explain, but everything was just right. Not too pushy, it's like they knew when to leave you alone or when the kids needed a smoothie.The service is so great, you're happy to tip those service staffs. The Lastly, it is the most family and kid friendly place we've ever stayed. That's saying a lot considering we were at other hotels during our last trip to Kathmandu.It's expensive?no way,you will love to stay in such place and its really worth it.If you are there at peak season do not forget to make reservation prior to get there.Rooms are large and comfortable, but on the cusp it need to be redesign. I must not forget to thank Mr. PRAMOD GAJUREL, the owner of ENCOUNTER NEPAL,without his great attention for providing the best attention and service to their guest we would never able to had such a organized tour and such a relaxed trip .Once again Mr. PRAMOD ,thanks a lot and i will wish to see you soon.I would like to highly recommend this place for all travelers around the world.

Room Tip: Room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBAI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Like usual my probly 5th stay, with these guyz...awesome people, super service, brilliant stuff altogether...The reception, the staff, bell boys, cleaners, bartender...out of all top management...PROMOD the HERO! i just love staying with you guyz and would definitely recommend all the visitors to expereince the type of quality i always experience...hats off, to the whole team of Enconter Hotel, great job guys...KEEP IT UP! I'll be seeing u guyz soon again, till then love & care the way u guyz do *big hug*

Room Tip: Should experince the stay once atleast and meet the most chilled out staff, esp. the man who runs th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAMIR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#7 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#26 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Property: Hotel Encounter Nepal
Address: Samakhusi Marg | Thamel, Galkopakha, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information? Our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception. No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Major restaurants, bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms with balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hour security, free high-speed internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing